We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Save
You added Ras Kutani to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
cannes
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The ultimate retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Twelve minutes by plane from Dar to the hotel's private landing strip or a potentially very long but fascinating road trip will being you to what has to be one of the best hotels of its kind. Located on a quiet, golden beach, the place is informal but extremely well run. Welcoming, friendly staff, spacious and well-equipped rooms, most with sea views and first class food. There is not much to do, you can take a kayak on the lagoon, or do lots of walking or treat yourself to some spa sessions but that's about it! It's a place to relax and unwind and to feel a little bit pampered by the smiling staff who seem genuinely anxious to make your stay as perfect as possible. David is the new manager and he was attentive and pleasant and working so hard to ensure everyone was having a good time. Congratulations to everyone who has worked sop hard to give this place its deserved ranking.

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed, whichever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear journeymancannes

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ras Kutani - as you say Ras is all about relaxation - after a busy safari circuit, unwind and truly ease in to beach life with staff to bring you cocktails in your hammock. Its a slice of paradise and we're so pleased you enjoyed it

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    17
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
139
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayes in RasKutani for 3nights after spending 1 night in Dar Es Salam.
The hotel is about 1-1,30 hours from the capital and once you reach it its a real paradise.
Staff is very friendly and lodges are spacious and functionals. Also the restaurant was awesome. Location is in the middle of nothing but the lagoon and the beach are impressive.
Great and quiet place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Pilot-DK

Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Ras Kutani, especially for the peace and tranquility at our camp when you're do close to the bustling metropolis of Dar es Salaam

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at a lot of lodges in East Africa over the last five years. I think Ras Kutani has the best food we've eaten anywhere! The staff was incredibly friendly and kind and accommodating, and took very good care of our vegetarian diet. The massage room was really great - basic services that were very reasonably priced and well-delivered. It is a nice escape from the daily life of Dar, and we LOVE the policy of no little kids because we really appreciated the night away from ours. We enjoyed the kayak and snorkel equipment. Drinks being delivered to the beach was so lovely. We would recommend this hotel highly to honeymooners and other couples alike. They have thought of all of the small details to make your stay wonderful. We had an amazing night! Remember: the food is especially fantastic!

The only "negatives": although not really serious at all: if traveling on your own, it is hard to find! I know that is on purpose because they don't accept day visitors and don't want backpackers, but it is still a bit tricky even when you know the general area of its location. Also the rooms were much closer to each other than we expected. This made the rooms feel slightly less private. But otherwise - perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Lisa W

Thank you so much for posting a review at Ras Kutani - sounds like you escaped from the hustkle and bustle of Dar and have a night of romance! We are dleighted you enjoyed the food and the staff so very much and we look forward to looking after you again soon

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for one night but it was a very memorable one thanks to excellent facilities and staff.

Saw a turtle hatching, courtesy of Sea Sense. Walked the lagoon walk--a good one hour through very diverse woods with great descriptions of local trees provided by the camp.

Enjoyed fantastic food--great variety and wonderful preparations.

Location is fantastic although planned development may change that in the future.

David, the new manager is really great and all the staff were responsive in a good way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear s_w_on_the_road

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, albeit a short one! You must come back and see us again - and great that you experienced both the lagoon walk and the turtle hatching during your stay

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siegburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Ras Kutani for 6 nights and many will say this is too long, but we do not agree at all. It is a wonderful place where you can truly relax.... simply as there is not much to do!
Beautiful beach, nice safari lodge type of accomodation with good shower. Very open though, which might give some a bit of a shock.... but once you are used to it, perfect.
We took a Jeep transfer getting there (1.5 hours from Dar) and flew back by plane (300 dollars for 2, 10 minutes, highly recommended. David can arrange this via Vincent).
The service is friendly and professional. They help you on everything. The food is lovely. Drinks are not expensive. The massage is also great.....
So, no reason not to go. But do not tell too many!

Room Tip: we preferred the rooms at the lagune
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear pptt

Thank you for the lovely review and six nights at Ras Kutani is sure to have you incredibly relaxed by the time you have to leave! As you mention its a camp by the beach rather than a resort and because of this feel you can truly unwind.

There are a few ways to get to Ras Kutani - as you mention there's the car transfer, and the plane - we have a daily scheduled charter which Selous Safari Company organises in the morning to and from Ras or you can charter and now you can fly by helicopter - straight from the peninsula in Dar - a wonderful 18 mins journey flying low along the coast - a real experience! If you are interested in trying any of these options please talk to your tour operator or your reservations consultant and we can arrange it all for you.

Please come back and see us again soon
Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ras Kutani is situated along the Indian Ocean, not far from Dar es Salaam in a remote setting. Its on a private property with exclusive beach front. I stayed there for 3nights and had a wonderful experience! Had the private suite with a private pool!! overlooking the magnificent Indian ocean.

The food was excellent 3 course meals served with fresh fruits, salad and juices the service was a 5star, staff were very polite and courteous too ever willing to assist and point you on the right direction.

Fun activities to do include the Lagoon walk, kayaking, and snorkeling. There is an old ship relic you can take a look at during low tides. There is also a sea turtle nest and a hatchery nearby.

Ras Kutani is an excellent get away for relaxation, as there isn't any form of noise or distractions apart from those of monkeys and birds. No vehicular, plane or ship anywhere close. They don't even have TV's on the property its exclusively a relaxation spot.
I plan to go back there during my next vacation for a much longer stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Yeldu H

What a lovely review! And you muct come back out and visit us again - as you say its a blissful retreat from the modern world - as soon as you arrive the tranquility of Ras Kutani washes over you and then you are looked after for the rest of your stay by the fantastically efficient staff.

We look forward to hosting you again
Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

When coming here you really feel the luxury. Never expected to find a place like this, very nice spectacular location next to Indian Ocean. Reception was excellent, the huts contains everything you need. Service was perfect and the private beach was one you could dream about. Thanks to our friends who found this place for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear oysesp

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this gorgeous review of Ras Kutani - so pleased you enjoyed the wonderful serenity of the camp - especially the peaceful endless beaches where you can walk for hours and not get disturbed unlike some of the busier east African resorts - its a wonderful place to find calm and truly escape! We thank your friends too who recommended us to you!

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Amani Beach
24.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#9 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Courtyard
Protea Hotel Courtyard
#4 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
20.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
20.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#8 of 81 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ras Kutani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Kutani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.