We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R&R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Kutani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kutani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ras Kutani
Save
You added Ras Kutani to your Saves list
South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“R&R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the end of our surprise honeymoon and we stayed in the Hillside Suite 4. Greeted by the manager, Lana, she was incredibly helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay.

The suite was huuuge - not only was the bed wider that 7 feet, the shower was fantastic and the plunge pool was great. Unfortunately the plunge pool did get pretty dirty most days with insects, monkey poo (!) and leaves - and to our own discredit, we didn't ask for it to be cleaned except once...as a result we didn't really use it much. We had some tiny issue pop up in the room which were very swiftly rectified when we were out of the room during the day.

The food is amazing - if anything, there is too much of it!! The cocktails went down a treat too. We were very lucky to have a suprise dinner down at the lagoon on our first evening to get us into the swing of things, with a complimentary bottle of fizz - which was very kind!

All I can say is, thank you to Lana and all the staff - you made our stay absolutely unforgetable and we left feeling very very relaxed and wishing we didn't have to come back to London!

Asante Sana!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear smr105

Thank you so much for your review and congratulations on your marriage - delighted you chose to spend your honeymoon with us at Ras Kutani. We always recommend guests speak to the manager or staff is issues come up so they can be rectified - but now we know we will clean the plunge pools more regularly so guests can have full use of them at all times.

Thank you again and come back and visit us for your anniversary!
Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
121
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

1st of all the drive wasn't as far as I had been led to believe, it is fairly easy to find, the only problem being the small ferry from Dar to Kigamboni, which gets very crowded and hectic. Ras Kutani itself was great, our welcome by Upendo was very relaxed and that set the scene for our short stay. The Bandas are all spacious and well maintained, and as long as you remember you are in Tanzania with wildlife free to roam and the Indian Ocean is right in front of you then everything is great. There was 24 hour power in all of the Bandas (you don't get that everywhere) and the bed was enormous. For us, things like hearing the monkeys on the roof; seeing trails and tracks in the sand each morning and trying to guess which aninals had visited was fun. Even though there is only the set evening meal all of the meals we had were very good, the buffet selection at lunchtime was varied and tasty and breakfast was great with the service being very good. I don't think we put our flip flops or sandals on once as we walked around the white sands of the resort or the white sands of the beach, the only (nice) problem was the sand getting too hot to walk. Even though the hotel itself was great, it was surpassed by the turtle hatching while we were there. To see the the turtles hatching and flapping down to the Ocean was magical and because it is "managed" by Sea Sense, it happens quite frequently.

Room Tip: We never looked at the suites, but they do seem to offer a very impoosing view of the resort and Oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Grabone

Thank you for taking the time to review Ras Kutani - sounds like you really slipped into barefoot luxury with ease - bar the hot sand! As you mention in your review, one of the loveliest things about Ras Kutani is the feeling you are actually staying in Africa and not a "could be anywhere" resort - monkeys on the roof, hatching turtles and the uninterrupted views of the Indian Ocean are spectacular - and the reason why guests travel to Africa and stay with us.

Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Bromley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arrived at Ras Kutani after a long flight and then battling with traffic in Dar a Salaam (an experience in itself) - was hot and tired.... After the drive down the unmade sandy road, the accommodation, welcome and views were well worth it. This is a little piece of heaven, just what you imagine a tropical island hideaway to be. The bed was enormous, the shower had good power and was very roomy. Everything was spotless and there were nice little touches like the sun hats and a beach bag to use. The beach was a few paces away and having the open air feeling in the 'banda' meant we really felt part of the environment especially when monkeys were jumping on the roof! The icing on the cake was being able to witness 99 sea turtles hatching and making their way on their journey to the sea - amazing:) Thanks to the team too, they were welcoming and friendly and supplied us with great meals etc. A memorable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Jayne BR

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - Ras Kutani is a slice of beach heaven - and living in Dar es Salaam I can understand the traffic issues - did you know you can take a 10mins scheduled flight to our private airstrip - ask your tour operator!

And SeaSense do an amazing job with protecting the turtles, in fact 2 of our staff were trained by them to help with the nesting and hatchings - it is one of the most intimate, heart-warming things to watch - so we are delighted you experienced it

Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked a week here to relax after the rigours of safari. Wonderful setting with people who really know how to make guests feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. Food and wines both excellent. Will definitely come back and would recommend it to anyone.

One improvement point - Tanzania produces some great high quality coffee !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear oharae

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate guests taking the time and effort to write comments about our camps. We appreciate your coffee comment and you'll be pleased to hear that even though the old brand was also Tanzanian coffee we have changed to another brand - so when you come back again please let us know what you think of it! All guest feedback is much appreciated so we can improve our service and we do our very best to tick every box!

We look forward to hosting you again
Karibu tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijsenhout, NL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A white beach, bamboo sun beds, barefoot walking throughout the resort, hammocks with ocean view, excellent food, more than accommodating staff, cottages furnished with the bright colours of Africa, relaxing lounge area, etc etc. A perfect quiet hideaway where only monkeys break the silence playfully and the waves breaking on the sand make you aware of the open nature that you are staying in.

Many high quality resort accommodate for chique, but at Ras Kutani the African chique accommodates you.

Room Tip: We preferred a beach cottage with open space in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Mieke Z

What a wonderful review - thank you so much! Feels like you truly captured the spirit of Ras Kutani and I really hope you return to experience it again

Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Whether you are looking for a break from the city or from the safari or from anything, Ras Kutani is the perfect break. Great food, attentive staff and ideal location on the beach. We have been several times, with family, friends and just the two of us - enjoyed each one more than the last one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suites for those seeking total total privacy... otherwise all rooms have sea and sand in abundant ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear MJB-Travel

Thank you for your review - it means so much that you have come back again and again - with your family and just as a couple - Ras Kutani is a perfect place for everyone to relax and as you say if its from a city or a safari - you couldn't find a better place to get balanced and revitalized!

Come back again and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 blissful nights at Ras Kutani having packed up our house and life in South Africa in three short but busy weeks. Ras Kutani, Lana and her staff provided the perfect antidote to the intensity of the move, thank you all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear JamesHAfrica

Thank you for reviewing Ras Kutani - especially considering how busy you must be now settling into your new home! Thank you for your feedback and we were delighted to read you had enjoyed your time with us and it was a good relaxing tonic for your hectic schedule.

Karibu tena and enjoy your new home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ras Kutani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Kutani

Address: South Coast, Kutani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kutani
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach destination in Africa offers the visitor that increasingly rare commodity - long stretches of pristine deserted beaches, warm blue seas and an opportunity to experience the peace and tranquility long since swamped by overcrowding in more publicized tropical resorts. The setting ensures that feeling of being on one's own tropical island. The lodge is flanked by a fresh water lagoon abutting onto a coastal forest, which spills to the edge of the unspoilt and undeveloped beach. Accommodation is in nine spacious, charming cottages constructed of natural, local materials that harmonise perfectly with the wonderful surroundings. On top of the hill we have also four suites and a family house all with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ras Kutani Hotel Kutani
Ras Kutani Dar Es Salaam
Ras Kutani Tanzania - Dar Es Salaam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras Kutani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.