We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must go on this trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Desert

Sahara Desert
Egypt
Improve this listing
Type: Deserts
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“must go on this trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

absolutely amazing scenery and having bbq in the Sahara with Bedouin is experience we will never forget

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    49
    16
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurghada, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“soooo hot weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

despite i found alot of this trips on Sunbed Holiday the company i booked my previous trip, but really weather is so hot that i guess it would be more nicer if do it during winter time...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Desert Safari - Total Ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Thomson organised desert experience, with Travco. Guide was a total creep, didn't know what he was talking about, and when confused just went into awkward silence. Promised driving "spider cars", "quad bikes" and "tanks". The "tanks" were actually 6 wheeled golf carts with lawnmower engines, had a top speed of under 20mph, and all were totally broken. The engines shut off if you werent on full throttle, the throttle cables were broken, and the gearboxes were all totally shot. The spider cars consisted of a roughly welded-together steel frame, with a rear mounted engine and transmission from an automatic hyundai taxi, no functioning brakes and no power or speed either. The quads were actually in a relatively good condition, but (despite being in the desert with miles of open land in all directions) we had to play follow the (very slow) leader, like a line of ducklings. Not only that, but the leader was rude, frightening and at times almost violent with anyone whose quad stepped out of the line by more than 6".

The camel ride, horse ride or donkey and trap experience lasted a sum total of 3 minutes, and that was to ride all of them. The "Bedouins" who could literally have been homeless people scraped off the streets of hurghada, then proceed to beg for money. After that, a rather tasty bedouin meal was had, which later destroyed the digestive tracts of all who ate it, and we're still suffering 5 days later. Getting back to the hotel was the best part of the day, Travco need to cut this from their activities or invest in a proper facility with properly maintained machines.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The 'Desert Safari' is well worth the money. It's an all day trip where you ride camels & horses then driver Spider Cars & Quad Bikes followed by a 4x4 jeep trip into the desert to a Bedouin camp. It rounds of with a show back at the base camp.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“what a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

we travelled through the sahara on our trip to luxor what an amazing sight.there is plenty to see goats sat on donkeys loads of things to buy when you stop off for your breakfast but beware of the children wanting you to take pictures of the goat sat on the donkey as they are only out for your money

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahara Desert also viewed

Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Sahara Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.