We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle SA62 5LZ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wolf's Castle
Hereford
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Food and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

We arrived at the hotel which is situated near a main road and side road, but the traffic could hardly be heard. The hotel has a smart entrance lobby area and one could see a large conference room in the distance which spills out to a lovely garden. We arrived into the smart lobby which had a sign to go to the bar if it wasn't manned. It wasn't and I searched for the manager who was helping in the bar (not sure if this is good as first impressions count). We were treated well and booked into room 10 which looked out to the nearest hill which had a dramatic castle ruin for a view. The room was adequate although a little small and was decorated with anaglypta wall paper and furnished with pine furniture. Despite this there were leather seats to sit on and the bathroom was very clean although the shower was a bath shower (didn't like the shower curtain , glass screen please). Having read the reviews about hot rooms at the top of the hotel we noticed a stand-alone fan, which kept things cool. Staff were easy going, polite and helpful. The food in the dining room was excellent and I agree is excellent value for money (we paid £140.00 for dinner, bed and breakfast for a double room). We had no problem with young staff serving us as they were good. Hot plates we liked but were usually forewarned before we touched them. Staff were keen to see we were happy in the restaurant. The hotel is a good place to discover St David's and the beaches nearby. We enjoyed the experience!

  • Liked — clean and adequate
  • Disliked — a little small and decor new but dated choice
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    58
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
36
89
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We booked two nights at the Wolfscastle Country Hotel, based on previous feedback on this web site. We were looking for good accommodation within a short drive of the St.Davids area at a reasonable price and this fitted the criteria.
Overall we found the hotel to be of good quality, clean and comfortable. The evening meals were very good - we eat in the bar as the restaurant was almost empty and seemed to have almost no atmosphere - unfortunately it doesn't have any windows so you cannot enjoy a view. The meals and staff seemed to be the same in both the bar and restaurant so we were satisfied with our choice.
The breakfasts, in the restaurant. were OK, but the staff less interested in serving than preparing for lunch. The breakfast food again was OK but nothing special. Again almost nobody else was in the restaurant for breakfast.
On our first night it was very hot and uncomfortable in our top-floor standard room, we then asked for a replacement room for the second night. Fortunately the helpful receptionists were able to find us another room on a lower floor and this was much more better for sleeping on a warm evening. Many thanks for the assistance and help.

  • Liked — Convenient for St.Davids. Clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Very warm top floor rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

This was an excellent choice to stay at! Even though it is just off the main A road you do not hear the traffic at all.

We had an Executive double room and it was huge. There were, however, stairs in the room and our room was located up a flight of steep stairs (there is no lift/elevator). There was adequate storage space with a set of drawers and a wardrobe. There was also a seating area with a couch, table and t.v. Also, there was a tea/coffee tray with biscuits (cookies).

The bathroom was a wonderful layout – it had a separate shower unit and a bath tub and it was very well lit with some room for toiletries.

Everything about the room was clean and it was certainly very comfortable.

The view from the window faced the back of the hotel with a further view of the rolling hills – very nice.

The dinner was excellent – we had the duck and it was one of the best meals we had on our trip around Wales. Breakfast was very adequate with a selection of cereals, juice and fruit with the waitress taking the order for tea or coffee and toast plus a cooked meal if you wanted it.

Without hesitation I would stay at this hotel again, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

We stayed for two nights as my husband was booked in for a Coasteering session at St Davids and the hotels and guest houses in the centre of St Davids were booked up. We were very impressed with the hotel building and also with the friendly service provided by all of the staff. We ate in the hotel bar on Friday night and it was one of the best fish and chip dinners I have tasted for a long time, if a little expensive! On the second night, we ate at the Wolfes Inn pub just done the hill from the hotel - good food and good real ale (however, beware that the pub wasn't open during the day on the Friday and neither were any others in the surrounding area!) The breakfast at the hotel is very good - you can help yourself from the fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt and then the waiting staff ask whether you would like tea or coffee and toast, and also what cooked breakfast you would like to have. You can choose from the usual items for a fried breakfast or have eggs on toast, smoked haddock or even kippers. We found it very filling and didn't need to have any lunch! Our room was in the annexe at the back of the hotel which is a town house converted into four rooms, two downstairs and two upstairs, with a large communal lounge area downstairs. Ours was a small room with en-suite shower room but was clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate. The only downside to our stay was that the rooms are not very well sound-proofed. The room next door had their tv on until after 11:30 pm and we could hear every word from Johnathan Ross and his guests!! All in all though, the hotel was very nice and was in a lovely location for exploring. St Davids is only a half-hour drive away and the drive is through open countryside which is lovely.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and proximity to St Davids
  • Disliked — Loud televisions when trying to sleep!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We chose to stay at this hotel as it is surrounded by beautiful countryside and the Pembrokeshire coast is only about a 25 minute drive away. We had a twin room which was lovely, very spacious and clean and had a lovely view of the countryside. The room was very comfortable. There is no mini-bar but tea/coffee making facilities are provided.
The breakfast was okay. Cereal and fruit is provided and you can help yourself. You can then order toast/croissants and cooked breakfasts. The staff however were not very attentive and we ended up leaving to make a cup of tea in our room!
We ate in the bar in the evening as the restaurant was full (you may want to book a table in advance if you plan on eating here) but this was certainly not a problem as you can order off the same menu and I think the staff in the bar were probably better! Most importantly, the food was delicious.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was comfortable and we were within easy reach of all the sights we wanted to visit and the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle SA62 5LZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.