We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

During our vacation in Wales with our good friends, we celebrated our 20th anniversary with dinner at this restaurant. We received a warm welcome from everyone and the service was very good. The meal was fantastic and probably the best meal we had on our trip. The scallop starters were exceptional, as were the main courses. Everything was perfect and nicely presented. We had marvelous desserts, but even better was the homemade fudge they served with the coffee. Resistance is futile - you must get the take-away pack of these.

The décor was fresh and modern in a comfortable way and it looks like a lovely place to stay. We considered giving up our B&B to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
The fudge is from our "Gourmet to go" range - we are creating a range of take away food for people who want to eat our food at home. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    82
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
126
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Whilst in Pembrokeshire for a few days' holiday, we decided to splash out on a meal for my birthday. The atmosphere was great and the food was excellent. Initially, given that most of the staff were young, we wondered what sort of service we would get. We needn't have worried the staff couldn't have been more helpful and extremely pleasant. What's more, the meal didn't cost much more than the previous night's pub meal down the road, BUT SO, SO MUCH BETTER.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
When I eat out at local pubs I am surprised at how expensive they are & yet the quality is lacking.
I agree wholeheartedly with this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a relaxing 1 night stay here, our 3rd in as many years. We return time and time again, as the Wolfscastle is a perfect base when visiting our family in Haverfordwest. After a very good night's sleep we were treated to a full English breakfast served in the new Brasserie area, a valuable modern addition to this lovely hotel. We will certainly be returning next year and look forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Many thanks for commenting on our breakfast, we use free range local foods, cooked to order which I think are very good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you want a great welcome, great food and great accommodation with great walks this is the place !!! Came for one night break to unwind and this was exactly what we were looking for. If you have a dog they are welcomed

Room Tip: Executive double very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
During the winter months we offer (subject to availability) a two day break for only £195 - 2 people dinner, bed & breakfast, a bargain!! hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stated in room number 5. Very comfy bed and great pressure in the shower. Cold tap on the sink had a life of its own though. Room was a touch warm for an October night and leaving open windows meant the A40 traffic was disturbing especially when the Fishguard ferry had emptied in the wee hours. Service and feeling was very relaxed. A different room may be a better option next time. Dinner was very good - reviewed separately.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Heating can be switched off in the room, next time please tell us if you are too warm. The mattress on the bed is, I am told, the same mattress as the Queen has on her bed. Top of the range Hypnos mattress with 2" of cashmere on the top, so,so comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We would like to thank you all for the wonderful weekend we had whilst attending our son’s wedding.

Besides being a family celebration the whole weekend was enhanced by the very high quality of the service that you all provided. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile and a clear willingness to make our stay a very memorable one.

The food, both on Friday night at “our little party”, and at the wedding was excellent and delicious. Your wine list was one the best, and most reasonably priced, that we have seen for a long time.

The waiter service at the wedding meal and in the evening the bar staff were all a credit to you.

Thank you so much for making the wedding such a wonderful and well organised event.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
The comment I have made for the review next to this I can only re-iterate. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had our wedding reception at Wolfscastle recently and couldn't recommend it enough. The service we received beforehand and on the day was excellent. We've had several people comment on the quality of the food which really couldn't be faulted. All the staff were more than willing to do everything to make sure we had a fantastic day. We had guests staying on the Friday and Saturday night and all commented on how comfortable the rooms were and how good the breakfast was! If you're looking for somewhere as a wedding venue with the personal touch we'd highly recommend Wolfscastle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlltyrAfon, Owner at Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Weddings are such special occasions, you only get one chance so it has to be outstanding. I am glad we met your expectations. Thank you for telling us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.