We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Nights of pure relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Dairy B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Dairy B&B to your Saves list
The Old Dairy B&B
Ystrad Fach Farm | Carmarthen, Llandyfaelog, Carmarthen SA17 5NY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Llandyfaelog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cymru
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“2 Nights of pure relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife & I have just spent 2 nights in the Bluebell suite at the Old Dairy. It was pure luxury, two rooms (bedroom separate) of the very highest standard. Bathroom decorated to 5 star quality. Everything you need for the perfect break is here. Lounge has 2 leather sofa's, TV, underfloor heating & a newly installed fridge which was the quietest I've ever know. Plenty of tea, coffee & other drinks replenished daily. Decorated beautifully. Bedroom decoration & furniture again was superb, bed was ultra comfortable & roof window enabled a view of the stars while relaxing. Bathroom contained the largest shower I've ever seen, it was great. Hosts, Debbie & Ian are at hand to help in any way they can to make your stay perfect, both were fantastic hosts. Breakfast leaves you the most difficult choice of all, cooked or pancakes! Both are cooked to perfection & are a perfect way to start your day, fresh local produce beautifully prepared. Debbie was very helpful & knowledgable when it came to offering idea's for things to do & places to see. We will be going back!

Room Tip: Bluebell suite offered separate living / sleeping accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Wow thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the room as much as you did. It was a pleasure to make your weekend special.
Best wishes to you both
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed over the May bank holiday weekend (2014) and it was a wonderful experience. The accommodation is of a very high standard, the location is very convenient for places of interest, the breakfast is just about perfect and Debbie is a great host. It was the best B and B we have ever stayed in and we recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here and would highly recommend it, as the title of my review says we really can't find any fault with our stay, it was lovely from start to finish. The room was amazing modern clean and stylish. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice, and Debbie you are the perfect host, thankyou very much for making us so welcome .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the daisy room at The Old Dairy for a couple of nights a week ago everything was perfect from the moment we arrived until we left. Debbie and Ian made us feel very welcome, Debbie was very helpful with information regarding eating out and gave us some good recommendations , the room was a delight, spacious, clean and very comfortable very on trend with under floor heating which was well explained by Debbie , we especially liked that the accommodation was separate from the house, which made us feel we had our own space to relax in , the views of the countryside and the quietness were just what we needed after a long day walking , the breakfast was very substantial and you were also offered a lighter choice if you didn't want a full English there was also homemade marmalades and compotes which were very tasty , fresh milk and a nice selection of teas , coffees and hot chocolate along with waffles and shortbread biscuits were in our room and replenished daily , we will definitely be going back for another stay @ The Old Dairy the nicest B&B we have stayed in .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Me an my fiancé stayed at the old dairy for a night last weekend and I can't recommend it enough! The location is beautiful, and so peaceful. We stayed in the dairy room and it was such a gorgeous room. Decorated really well and very spacious. The high ceilings make it feel even bigger too. The bed was very comfortable, and the underfloor heating is great! We will definitely be returning next time we get the chance to have a night away, I left feeling refreshed and happy :) we also asked for breakfast at 9.30am as we thought we'd have a lie in, but our body clocks had other ideas so we popped to the main house at 8am and asked for it a bit earlier which was no problem. And the breakfast itself was yummy! thank you, hopefully see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for such a great review as we know you also took the time to post others. We are so glad you were able to leave feeling totally relaxed even if you didn't quite manage that lie in! Maybe next time if you get the chance for another break.
Kind Regards
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This B&B is the best place that I have every stayed in ! the rooms are so clean, comfortable and the outlook amazing and if that wasn't enough the breakfast cooked by Ian are orgasmic sorry I mean organic ! I wished we could have stayed for longer as three nights was not long enough. This place certainly deserves more than it's 5 *.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you what a great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and this very beautiful part of Wales. It's also great to hear that breakfast gave you so much pleasure especially Ian's scrambled eggs that are always very popular! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the UK.
Best Wishes
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent four nights at the Old Dairy, in the Daisy room - a very beautiful and spacious room. Everything is so nice, clean, comfortable and well decorated. The whole location is amazing and it is more than worth to give 5 stars.

Ian and Debbie are such lovely hosts, we received a very warm welcome from the first moment. It was really a pleasure to talk to them and also to the other guests.

The breakfast is delicious! Every day they have a "special", which we enjoyed during our stay. Especially the pancakes are great, but also scrambled eggs (from their own hens), fruit and all the other nice things.

We were more than happy to find such a wonderful B+B and if you go there, you won't regret.

Thank you Debbie and Ian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Old Dairy B&B, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Well what can we say except sometimes people breeze into your life like a wonderful breath of fresh air and you two ladies were so lovely that the pleasure was all ours. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you here.
Thank you both
Warmest Regards
Debbie & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandyfaelog
4.8 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
4.9 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
#2 of 6 in Carmarthen
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
4.6 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carmarthen
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West
4.9 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 6 in Carmarthen
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy B&B

Address: Ystrad Fach Farm | Carmarthen, Llandyfaelog, Carmarthen SA17 5NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Llandyfaelog
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llandyfaelog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Dairy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Dairy B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.