We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion/Bday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake of the Woods Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake of the Woods Resort
Save
You added Lake of the Woods Resort to your Saves list
2244 W. White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Newport Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Reunion/Bday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family had the opportunity to finally get to Lake of the Woods for a visit...a trip organized around my fathers 70th birthday. The rumors of what LotW was like and how special it was planted a good seed and after arriving in Phoenix by air and taking one of the most scenic drives we have had in years (that brought us through the Grand Canyon and over the Colorado River) we were amazed at how special this place is. The surrounding towns are beyond convenient and accommodating so you never felt far from basic needs....but when you are at the resort you literally forget you are in civilization. Beautiful lake and the main area of the resort (where the office is) is beautifully kept up and is peppered with a wooded area that makes you feel a 1,000 miles away from civilization. Our cabin was one of the big ones as we had 33 family members at LotW for 5 days. Highlights included the deck and amazingly beautiful overlook of the lake, watching a bald eagle fish (watching my family fish was entertaining as well), beautiful hiking areas adjacent to our cabin, access to great horseback riding, and accommodations that were beyond comfortable. Most importantly...if we had any issues or needed something...the owners were beyond helpful and happy to serve (which can be a rarity these days). We will be back again I'm 100% confident....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    6
    11
    5
See reviews for
47
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from 4 night stay. The grounds are well kept and nice. We were in cabin 7 with lake view. The couch and love seat were very dirty and smelled so bad from urine I had to go to the office too tell them. The lady was nice and said it was from the humidity. She had someone come and put order powder and sheets on them. They should have been cleaned and I don't think they have been in years. It was gross. The towels are very old,gray and thin. You needed three towels to get dry. The sheets were small and the corners didn't stay on and they were in need of replacement. Such a shame because the property is in a great area and it looks so nice from the outside. Won't be back here. Oh it cost us $180 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willcox, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the resort from June 4-9. It was the first time we have been away by ourselves since we got married in 1991. We had a wonderful time. We relaxed and went fishing. The cabin was on the lake with a beautiful view. It had everything you needed and if there was something you did need all you had to do was ask. The cabin was clean and it felt like home. The staff was very friendly and we would definitely make a return visit in the future.

Al & Sileigh Levine

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family just got back from a wonderful weekend at Lake of the Woods Resort! It was our first time there and we were not disappointed. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The cabin was cozy and had everything we needed. We all had a great time fishing and hiking. Waking up to the view of the beautiful lake and breakfast on the deck was such a treat. We loved everything about it! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I just got home from a three night stay at lake of the Woods Resort, we rented the Chalet...it is rustic, yes, but it is a beautiful cabin! the beds are comfortable, sheets sparkly clean, and tons of beds and bathrooms!
One thing I believe future guests should be aware of is that the resort is right along White Mountain Blvd, which is a very busy four lane road, the noise is quit loud at times. If that wouldn't bother a person then I would highly recommend.

also the weather was so nice and cool me and my entire family slept like babies!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

20 years ago we brought our growing family of 5 to Lake of the Woods. We enjoyed their private lake, rental boats and cabin-type accommodations. Fast forward 20 years to this past weekend, this time vacationing with 8 family members including grandkids, and the 3 days we spent were a huge disappointment. In short, the owners need to replace ALL the beds, which were in bad shape. The cabin needs a good cleaning/scrubbing, having super grimy cabinets and a lot of dirt around furniture. Our 2 bed/2 bath cabin had bathtub and kitchen sinks that drained SUPER slowly, were missing drain stoppers, the large stove burner was inoperable, and recreation equipment which needed replacement - oars for the rental boat that did not operate in the oar housing at all, torn "flotation" cushions (no adult size regular life preservers!) and pool cues in rec room duct taped together.
We did ask maintenance to fix the super slow draining tubs and kitchen sink. Someone came after many hours, brought in a screwdriver to fix it, and then we were told that they couldn't really do much to fix the situation! This is clearly a property that has been neglected for a long time, so we won't be returning. We will look for another vacation rental to enjoy in the cool white mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed in other cabins at this resort, but since it was my husband and I, along with the two dogs, I decided to reserve Cabin 5, a small studio. This cabin had to be built in the 40's and it shows. Could be really cute if totally renovated, New mattress, carpet, couch, kitchen area. I took the WII thinking we could use Netflix while on vacation--tv is outdated and no plug ins for video games or DVRs. Luckily, I took our Memory Foam for the bed. Mattress is worn out. The floor is slanted towards the porch, making it seem like walking into a funhouse. The bed is placed that you're sleeping downhill! If you like camping, you'll like this cabin. Fortunately, I like camping but for the money you spend on a holiday weekend, I expected better. Money better spent on Cabin 4, a one bedroom with a deck overlooking the lake. And then there's the lake--no fish in here except for six inch catfish. (We think we caught the same fish over and over again.) No A/C but a fan is furnished. We enjoyed the cool weather and the convenience of the lake to the cabin, but could have rented a vacation home for the money spent here.

Room Tip: We've stayed in Cabin 24 over the Christmas holiday and for a large group, this is an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake of the Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Woods Resort

Address: 2244 W. White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Cabins on 25 acres and a 12 acre private lake which is stocked 4 times a year. A great resort for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Woods Hotel Lakeside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake of the Woods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.