We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTED BIG TIME” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake of the Woods Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake of the Woods Resort
2244 W. White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DISAPPOINTED BIG TIME”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Lake of the Woods (for the first time) Feb 16 - 18, 2013. We found it old and in need of many upgrades; i.e., carpent, decor, window and door locks, etc. While we go to Pinetop/Lakeside several times a year and enjoy a 'rustic' atmosphere, we still know we live in a time where thieves and robbers do exist, so door/window locks are a must. We booked a studio cabin for $99/night, but upgraded to the Cedars (one bdrm condo) upon arrival. While the staff are friendly and polite, the condo was dirty with saggy mattresses and uncomfortable couches and we couldn't leave anything in the condo while we were gone during the days due to no way of securing the condo. The neighbors on 2 sides were very loud, with teenagers throwing things against the walls, loud music/television and doors slamming shut multiple times late at night and into the early morning hours. We chose to buy breakfast/lunch groceries since there was a full kitchen, but the frying pans were so awful the eggs stuck like cement to them and the bbq grill was filthy and had to be vigorously cleaned and wrapped in foil before being used. The queen size mattresses (2 in one bedroom) were so old they visibly sagged in the middle and hung over the end of the bed frame, as it appeared to be for a full/double size mattress. When I sat on the end of the bed, I slid off due to nothing underneath supporting me. The floors were covered with dog hair and obviously not vacuumed after several guests w/ pets that shed. I have 2 large dogs that shed, so I understand some hair, but the carpets were covered and it was obvious the beds (even though on rollers) hadn't been moved in years. The gas fireplace was nice, but a potential fire (real) hazzard with all the dust and dirt accumulated in the vent and near the wires under the unit. We opened the vent to turn on the 'heater' in the fireplace, so as not to have to use the main heater, but after seeing the mounds of dust/dirt opted not to use it in case it shorted out or the 'dust bunnies' caught fire.
The small lake was very pretty with the snow still on the ground but I had thought you could walk around the lake and I found you can't. You can only go to the 'pier' near your cabin/room.
We will probably not stay here again, unless the owners did a complete overhaul. We paid almost $140 a night for sagging beds and filthy floors I wouldnt walk barefoot on. Definitely not worth the price they charge. :-(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have visited the Lake of the Woods for over 35 years. The current owners and management have continued the great family tradition established by the Hogans.They go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable. The newest cabins have amenities comparable to those you have at home. Kitchens come completely equiped with all necessary pots, pans and utensils. Many have dishwashers, large refrigerator/ freezers and microwave ovens. All but one cabin have wood burning fireplaces. A pair of recreation rooms are available with a hot tub.
The outstanding 16 acre lake is stocked numerous times during the year with rainbow trout. No Arizona State fishing license is required. This is a great property for couples or larger families with children.
Do yourself a favor and book your next mountain stay at the Lake of The Woods in Lakeside/Pinetop, Arizona.

Room Tip: Consider booking one of the newer cabins. Just ask managenet what cabins are amongst the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

You can't beat this place if you want to get away from it all and enjoy fishing and relaxing. The lake is stocked and we caught fish everyday. We stayed in cabin # 6 which was a great location - set back from the lake just a little with a great view of the lake. As the website states, make sure to check out your cabin location as you do not want a cabin close to the main road due to the traffic noise. The wrap around patio was perfect to sit outside and have meals, drinks, b-bque and roast marshmellows at night. The cabin itself is very basic but the beds were comfortable and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. We stayed eight nights and enjoyed every one of them. We would definitely come back and stay here.

Room Tip: Cabins away from the main highway are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My Husband and I with our three dogs stayed in cabin 25 over the Father's day weekend. My dad had passed recently so we decided to have the memorial at Lake of the Woods. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very accomadating! And the cabin was just perfect for our needs. The unfortunant drawbacks were, the cabin cost us almost a 1,000.00 for four nights. The beds were completly out dated and a little scary. And the cabin was not only very dusty, things could have been a little cleaner. The grill should have been cleaned as well as the deck. As far as the other cabins that our family member rented... They were outdated and under par. With all of that aside. We had a fantasic time. The staff was very friendly and again, accomadating. We would go back and stay in cabin 25 again. Plenty of antique shopping!

Room Tip: Cabin 25 is great!! The perfect view of the lake and a private deck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Can't go wrong with these housekeeping cabins. Clean, great view, well-appointed kitchen, friendly welcome, no disturbances, boats to rent, easy to get to restaurants and stores. Loved our three night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our family planned a father's day fishing trip. This trip turned out perfect. The Lake of the Woods Resort met all our expectations and even more. The grounds are beautiful and clean and cared for. We stayed in Cabin 7 had a good view of the lake and just a quick walk to get there. Very roomy. Had everything we needed. The staff was very nice and helpful. We will deffinitly make another family trip there. Thanks a bunch

Room Tip: Cabin 7 is perfect! sleeps 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My family and I rented a large cabin for a weekend vacation. When talking to the service desk over the phone and while planning and looking at the pictures of the cabin online, we expected a bit of a different site when we got there. We where not told that the cabin was connected to many others and that it was directly off of the highway. The lady told us it was rated top resort for the last 13 years so we expected that for a 1000.00 dollars it would be a very nice place. Unfortunately, it was filthy. The toilet didn't work properly. One even leans to one side. The place was falling apart. The beds were not comfortable at all. Most where sunk in. The kitchen was disgusting. The dishes and pots and pans were not cleaned properly. The floor was a wreck. The furniture was very old and dusty. Bugs were all over the window sills. The vacuum we were given was broken and when we asked for another one she gave us another broken one. I called down to complain and she did attempt to be accommodating. But after going over my complaint to her she told me I was "lucky" she accommodated at all and that no other resort would have. I explained that I was let down by how the cabin was not in the condition she painted the picture of and she said because of the economy they have not been able to keep it up but that they have never had a complaint and that we were lucky to have been accommodated. I thought that was totally out of line and very rude. The property close to the office was beautiful though and had we stayed there it might have been better. My advice, only rent the cabins close to the office. The others are run down and not worth the price. Over all the kids had fun and fished a lot and enjoyed the time we had there. But if I had to do it again I would find a better location. Good Luck.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake of the Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Woods Resort

Address: 2244 W. White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Cabins on 25 acres and a 12 acre private lake which is stocked 4 times a year. A great resort for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Woods Hotel Lakeside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake of the Woods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake of the Woods Resort to your Saves list