We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time, however.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake of the Woods Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake of the Woods Resort
2244 W. White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful time, however.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My Husband and I with our three dogs stayed in cabin 25 over the Father's day weekend. My dad had passed recently so we decided to have the memorial at Lake of the Woods. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very accomadating! And the cabin was just perfect for our needs. The unfortunant drawbacks were, the cabin cost us almost a 1,000.00 for four nights. The beds were completly out dated and a little scary. And the cabin was not only very dusty, things could have been a little cleaner. The grill should have been cleaned as well as the deck. As far as the other cabins that our family member rented... They were outdated and under par. With all of that aside. We had a fantasic time. The staff was very friendly and again, accomadating. We would go back and stay in cabin 25 again. Plenty of antique shopping!

Room Tip: Cabin 25 is great!! The perfect view of the lake and a private deck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
43
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Can't go wrong with these housekeeping cabins. Clean, great view, well-appointed kitchen, friendly welcome, no disturbances, boats to rent, easy to get to restaurants and stores. Loved our three night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our family planned a father's day fishing trip. This trip turned out perfect. The Lake of the Woods Resort met all our expectations and even more. The grounds are beautiful and clean and cared for. We stayed in Cabin 7 had a good view of the lake and just a quick walk to get there. Very roomy. Had everything we needed. The staff was very nice and helpful. We will deffinitly make another family trip there. Thanks a bunch

Room Tip: Cabin 7 is perfect! sleeps 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My family and I rented a large cabin for a weekend vacation. When talking to the service desk over the phone and while planning and looking at the pictures of the cabin online, we expected a bit of a different site when we got there. We where not told that the cabin was connected to many others and that it was directly off of the highway. The lady told us it was rated top resort for the last 13 years so we expected that for a 1000.00 dollars it would be a very nice place. Unfortunately, it was filthy. The toilet didn't work properly. One even leans to one side. The place was falling apart. The beds were not comfortable at all. Most where sunk in. The kitchen was disgusting. The dishes and pots and pans were not cleaned properly. The floor was a wreck. The furniture was very old and dusty. Bugs were all over the window sills. The vacuum we were given was broken and when we asked for another one she gave us another broken one. I called down to complain and she did attempt to be accommodating. But after going over my complaint to her she told me I was "lucky" she accommodated at all and that no other resort would have. I explained that I was let down by how the cabin was not in the condition she painted the picture of and she said because of the economy they have not been able to keep it up but that they have never had a complaint and that we were lucky to have been accommodated. I thought that was totally out of line and very rude. The property close to the office was beautiful though and had we stayed there it might have been better. My advice, only rent the cabins close to the office. The others are run down and not worth the price. Over all the kids had fun and fished a lot and enjoyed the time we had there. But if I had to do it again I would find a better location. Good Luck.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at #22 recently with our 2 kids (along with 2 other families) and had really nice time. These are CABINS, not hotels, so we had our expectations set accordingly and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

The kids (7-10) all fished and everyone one of them caught at least 1 fish and my daughter hooked a nice 20" rainbow that was a real beauty. Lots and lots of fish, right from the dock, so even the kids didn't get bored.

This place is near 260, so some of the cabins will get road noise, but ours was dead quiet at night. During the week, there wasn't even much traffic on 260 at night, so it was really peaceful.

The cabins are small, but we didn't need giant bedrooms, and the living room / kitchen was big enough for all three families to hang out and have fun.

After reading the reviews I was expecting gruff sevice, but the lady at the front desk was super nice and helpful.

All in all, a nice place to stay if you have kids.

Room Tip: Get a place away from the highway and close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We shared the Aspens cabin with one other family. Total people in the Aspens cabin was 4 adults and 3 kids (all kids under 7). We were joined by two families whio stayed next door in the Oaks cabin (4 adults and 4 kids - all kids under 5). The small lake is beautiful. The dock and boats were good and the lake offered easy fishing. We caught several small catfish that we relased. We cooked meals out on the deck and in the kitchen then scattered about the two cabins to eat. Very social and very fun.

The personnel running the resort were all very nice and helpful.

On the downside:
The cabin itself is showing some wear. The deck and the dock both are in need of treatment as the wood is splintered badly and some boards were weak or broken. The decor is also a bit thin. The cabin is located right on Highway 260 so road noise is always prevalent. The policies for cleaning (all dishes cleaned and put away before departure) and for trash bag availability (we were only issued two at a time) were a bit frustrating.

On the upside:
Lake is very pretty. Summer weather was a very nice break from the Phoenix heat. We enjoyed watching the birds and even saw a predatory bird (maybe a hawk) snag a few fish....awesome sight The fishing was easy. The common area is nice with a good playground, horseshoe pit, and shuffleboard area.

Overall, we had plenty of room for our two families in the Aspens cabin. It was a good value, fun, weekend break from the heat. The view out the back window and off the deck were straight out of a Bob Ross painting.

Room Tip: Call the resort before you book and explain your situation. We found they were very helpful in pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My family and I stayed here October of 2011. We loved this place. I wanted a trip that we could enjoy some great trout fishing and relaxation. This place gave us both. The cabins are nice. They provide you will all the amenities that you would need: fireplace, kitchenette, nice bathrooms, comfy beds. The resort is in a good central spot. You can get to many close by stores, but still feel like you are staying out in the woods. Some things could be updated such as the televisions and rec room. We didn't go there necessarily for those things but rain can change your plans. We highly enjoyed our trip and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake of the Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Woods Resort

Address: 2244 W. White Mountain Blvd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85929
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Cabins on 25 acres and a 12 acre private lake which is stocked 4 times a year. A great resort for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Woods Hotel Lakeside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake of the Woods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake of the Woods Resort to your Saves list