We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski conditions terrible, not as advertised” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Park Resort

Sunrise Park Resort
PO Box 117, Greer, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85927
800 772-7669
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski resort in the White Mountains of northern Arizona.
Phoenix
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ski conditions terrible, not as advertised”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Sunrise opened for an "extra weekend" April 4-6. I reserved a room for three nights and drove up from Phoenix on Thursday night (4 hour drive) all excited about about a weekend of skiing for my girlfriend, myself and her two boys. The proprietors advertised that 75% of Sunrise Peak was open. It may have been open but it was barely, and I mean barely, skiable. The only place for the two novices in our group to ski was the tiny bunny slope and it was slush by 11 AM. There is no way they could have skiied any of the green runs off the two other operating chairs. I am an advanced skier and the older boy is an intermediate skier and we gave up after three runs. Many bare spots, thin snow and terrible spring conditions. There were only two intermediate/novice runs off the main chairs that had reasonable snow cover and even that snow was marginal. I've skied in the late spring all over the US and this is by far the worst open mountain I've ever seen. Sunrise should not have opened for this "extra weekend". It was obviously a money grab and nothing else.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Superb Skiing @ Sunny Sunrise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Skiing here was a blast! Sunrise has many runs for beginners and intermediate skiers, so it was perfect for us. It looks to have plenty of challenging & difficult trails for advanced skiers and snowboarders, but we were not ready for any of those.

Regular lift tickets are $63 per day for adults or $40 for a half-day (info about other options can be found at: http://sunriseskiparkaz.com/winter/lift-tickets and also at: http://sunriseskiparkaz.com/winter/discounts ). We decided to each purchase a Sunrise Card, which costs $103 per person. This card is good for 2 days of skiing, and gives you 10% off food, beverage & retail (but not off rental equipment), with the option to receive 15% off the price of a Full Day lift ticket if you wish to ski additional days.

Rental of ski equipment is also available at this resort at a reasonable cost ( http://sunriseskiparkaz.com/winter/rental-shop ).

There is a nearby lodge for those wishing to spend the night near the slopes, but we had a place to stay in Pinetop, which is just over 30 miles away.

Looking forward to coming here again next winter!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Much More than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our Texas family decided to ski a couple days while on our way to the Grand Canyon. We have a national timeshare and the choice of Sunrise was because it was the closest ski resort to an available condo. We have some skiing experience, and did not have high expectations. We were totally surprised and impressed. No, this is not Vail. However, it is a great ski area with a good variety of slopes. The staff have been wonderful. The resort is an easy drive from several small towns nearby. We stayed in Pinetop. Due to late season and warm weather, the snow conditions were not great, but that is on the resort's fault. The only suggestion is better signage on the slopes.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ski Resort Better Than Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We live in Pinetop and have been skiing Sunrise for years. This year the resort is under new management and new ski school staff and it really shows. The hills are groomed and every night they make new snow on a couple fo the runs. Courteous staff, the food is better and the facilities cleaner. Thanks to the White Mt Apache Tribe for these improvements. If this can keep up for a few more years it will be a premiere destination ski resort.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Skiing Arizona Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We enjoyed three skiing days on the MLK weekend. Of course there was low snow but the nightly grooming kept the major runs skiable and all three mountains of the resort were open for skiing. A few very steep and advanced runs lacked enough snow, but that isn't a fault of the resort. I was impressed that the resort kept both lodges open, and we enjoyed zero lines for lifts, food or tickets at the Cyclone lodge(Big Hint)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Park Resort also viewed

 

Been to Sunrise Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.