We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roundhouse Resort

Save Saved
You added Roundhouse Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundhouse Resort
5829 Buck Springs Rd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935   |  
Hotel amenities
Willcox, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“So nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at this resort and it was very nice. The suite was very clean. The only issue we had was that the ice maker in our building went out and we reported it on July 30. I reported it again on July 31 and it was as though no one had ever done a ticket on it for repair. When we checked out August 3, it was still plugged in to power and flooding water out the door.There was STILL no "out of order" sign on it and what a waste on electricity and water!!
We went on our time share points and will hopefully get to go back next summer, however we will ask for a downstairs room.
We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub as well. The living room furniture was very uncomfortable and that is where we had to sit to watch television. If we watched in the bedroom, it was off to the side of the bed. Be mindful that they only furnish bath soap so take your own shampoo etc. Also take your own coffee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Roundhouse and must say I was very pleased with the whole experience. We stayed in #101 just off the office so cannot speak for other units but this one was very comfortable, well supplied and is only a few steps away from the front desk and large open atrium great for reading and relaxing. On the plus side, I was blown away by the great variety of the resort's recreational facilities-- large indoor pool, racquetball, basketball court, upstairs table tennis, pool tables, and workout room. Miniature golf course is nice added touch and fun to play. Of course, the greatest attraction for us was the availability of miles and miles of well-marked walking trails. We visited Pinetop once before and had made numerous side trips to the historic spots and natural wonders, so stayed closer to home this visit. Curtis and front desk were very sociable and provided assistance whenever
needed. Two other comments: tip to Roundhouse--The ring of keys I was handed at check-in (various keys for room, rec. center, etc.) give an impression of an out-of-date facility when one plastic card would have been more convenient. The other tip is for the visitor-- Our a/c unit was
very powerful and efficient. Unfortunately it was also very noisy. As a result, the first night we
were awakened every 45 minutes when it came on for 5 minutes to cool the room down. With
the outside air reasonably cool at night, we turned the a/c off and opened the outside window
and were very comfortable for the rest of the week. Weather was terrific in July.

Room Tip: Be creative with balancing a/c and outside air. Pool area was always quiet during morning hours...n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I own a 2 bedroom timeshare at the Roundhouse & have experienced with others pointed out: musty smells, leaks, old furnishings, etc. But things are a changin'. We used some bonus time (an owner perk--discounted rates) to get away from the heat and celebrate our anniversary & were impressed with what's happening here. I asked for a large one bedroom during booking and received unit #141 on the Boardwalk side of the property.

We weren't allowed to check in until 4:00, the actual check in time as staff & crew were finishing up remodeling work. Chuck, the front office manager was very apologetic for the wait and told us he hoped we thought the unit was "worth the wait." Intrigued, hubby and I sat at a picnic table in the BBQ area and watched the progress. There was all sorts of activity not only in our unit but in several units in the Boardwalk area.

We finally checked in & yes, it was worth the wait. No more old carpeting---except for the bedroom which had new carpeting with a contemporary design--the entire unit was newly tiled. Fresh paint, new draperies, new furniture, even a leather couch, new TV in the living room & bedroom, tile in the shower/bath, new appliances, along with that lovely "new" smell throughout. We were thrilled. The kitchen was well stocked with all the pots & pans we needed to cook most of our meals. We appreciated the new coffee maker & dishwasher.

The best amenity at the Roundhouse is the location. Tucked away, surrounded by pines, with a sitting area outside the front door complete with a table & chairs made for a relaxing getaway. All units are non-smoking but smoking is allowed on the porch. Our neighbors were heavy smokers, first cigarettes, then cigars, and it wasn't possible to share our porch when they smoked as I have asthma. We coordinated our porch time with theirs and it worked out. A small children's play area is directly across from our front porch & we enjoyed watching the little ones playing with their parents & grandparents.

There are some minor improvements in the Rec center and I hope the resort allocates more remodeling dollars in that direction. On this visit, we noticed the well worn felt on both pool tables were replaced along with new plastic ping pong paddles. The fitness room carries Nautilus type equipment & could use some freshening up in our opinion. The indoor pool was well used by families & the jacuzzi is always a good place to soothe aching muscles.

At check in, guests receive a pass to play a game of miniature golf at the other resort (PVC I believe it's called) that's on the Roundhouse property. It's a fun activity but you're limited to one game during your stay even though guests who stay at this other resort have unlimited use of the Roundhouse Rec center. It may be a small point but I believe Roundhouse guests should have unlimited access to the miniature golf course.

You won't go wrong with staying at the Roundhouse. The staff is friendly, eager to please, and improvements are continuing. Chuck told us all the units in the Boardwalk section are slated for remodeling. The whispering pines mesmerize. It's an easy drive to Greer and other points of interest. If you want to get away & relax, I recommend trying out the Roundhouse Resort. They're on the right track.

Room Tip: Room 141 is newly remodeled, is on the corner, & was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent a week at Roundhouse immediately after an excellent week at a very nice resort in Sedona; all in all, we had an even better experience in Pinetop than in Sedona, and are more eager to return to Pinetop. We came to hike on the extensive trail system maintained by a local volunteer group. The weather was perfect, the trails were amazing, and everyone was friendly. Our accommodations were neat, comfortable, and included everything we could need or want. Although we did not use the onsite recreation facilities a whole lot, we saw they were all in good condition. The maintenance staff were friendly and helpful - we had one maintenance issue and it was addressed immediately and perfectly. We received a delightful welcome from front desk person Chuck, and, when we asked him about hiking, he provided a wealth of great information, advice, and enthusiasm. chuck also provided superb service throughout the week, and would go out of his way to help us, as well as others guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This review is for the Roundhouse Lodge, which shares a property with PVC Roundhouse Resort (I didn't see a tripadvisor entry for Roundhouse Lodge). We stayed in the main lodge, which has air conditioned rooms, unlike what some of the entries for the PVC property indicate for that property. Both share a large recreation area. Although the building looks older, the large pool and hot tub look newly replastered. Kids under 14 can't use the hot tub, which we appreciate. There is also a half basketball court, racquetball court, two pool tables, ping pong and a gym. The gym equipment is a little older, but still decent. We played racquet ball for the first time in over 20 years and had a blast.

We typically stay at Wyndham timeshare resorts, which I consider a little above this property in general, but we still had a nice stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Some strong pluses - no timeshare sales people wanting to make an appointment to sell you more timeshares, except for two flyers we received at check in. The lodge is at the back of the property and is very quiet outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was my third visit to the Roundhouse Resort where I came to detox my life, relax, read, and enjoy the beautiful forest. I love the Apache building because it's a one story behind the office and always quiet. Although my one bdrm hadn't been renovated yet it was immaculate and had a small deck outside the bdrm with a table and chairs. There was a mini kitchen with a microwave, fridge and stove which was perfect since I was on a budget and didn't plan on eating out much. Curtis and the other employees at the front desk are the nicest, most down to earth people and they will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy yourself.

Two great places to check out...Liberty Marketplace and Coldwater Farms Candle Factory both located on White Mtn Blvd. They sell gift items and Coldwater Farms makes their candles on the premises. Liberty Marketplace sells handbags and t-shirts with lots of bling, candles, garden stuff and much, much more! Bring lots of money because you'll want to buy everything!

If you just want to come up and enjoy nature there's hiking, fishing, horseback riding, lots of trees and fresh air. This is the place to spend more time with your family and do the simple things in life.

Room Tip: Walls are thin so don't stay on a lower level of the two story units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, AL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We went to AZ. on this trip with no plans, just kick back and let each day make its own plans.
Couldn't have asked for nicer weather. The big kick off was Curtis and the warm welcome. Don't think we could have asked for a nicer bunch. Stephanie Curtis and Chuck all made us feel right at home. Stephanie had a little geathering with all the guest gave us a warm welcome and info about the area. We ended up doing a lot more than we had planed partly because of the woynderfull crew at the Roundhouse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roundhouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Resort

Address: 5829 Buck Springs Rd, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roundhouse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roundhouse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.