We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain with friendly hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TimberLodge Inn

Save Saved
You added TimberLodge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TimberLodge Inn
1078 E. White Mountain Blvd., Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great bargain with friendly hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a real bargain place to stay in the area. We were there off season, and paid $10 extra for having a small dog, so the total rate was $69 plus tax. The sheets are thin enough to almost see through, the towels are small, the decor is--well its a stretch to call it decor--but it is spotless and the room was spacious, and surrounded by tall pine trees and buildings space apart across a large area only broken by the tall pines. There's a kids playground and, as I mentioned, rooms where dogs are allowed. There was a fridge in the room and a coffeemaker but no microwave. We did not hear people through the walls in the rooms beside us although they may have heard our dog barking briefly to tell us someone had walked by outside.
The nice proprietor pointed us to a Woodland Lake park across the street on a road that goes past the Chevron station, and it was a delight. A lake with a one-mile walk around the perimeter, picnic tables, etc.
No breakfast is served at Timberlodge, but you're walking distance--and very short driving distance to dozens of restaurants.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has no elevator. A couple of room face the road, which would not be optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at TimberLodge inn in Pinetop. We strive to provide all our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here to celebrate his 30th birthday. We used it as "home base" for two days of ATVing in the area. We loved leaving the front door open and enjoying the cooler weather and fresh air (we're from Phoenix).

The husband and wife who run this hotel are EXTREMELY friendly and helpful.

The beds, linens, towels and the room in general were pretty out-dated, but CLEAN.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again if we were looking for a cheap, clean place. If you are looking for something "fancy" or "romantic" I think you would be disappointed. But if you want cheap, clean, convenient and a friendly staff this hotel is perfect!!

Room Tip: Our room was in front along the main street so we heard cars driving by. Not a huge deal since Pinet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I would like to thank you for your recent stay iat TimberLodge Inn in Pinetop. We strive to provide all our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed four nights at the TimberLodge Inn when I participated in a golf tournament. My stay was very pleasant for several reasons: (1) The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. (2) The room was very spacious and clean. (3) The cleaning service was done promptly and thoroughly. (4) We could sit outside and enjoy the cool mountain breeze without any noise from the street traffic. Overall, I give TimberLodge Inn an excellent rating, and would highly recommend it to anyone. I plan on bringing my family next time.

Coach Harris

Room Tip: The rooms toward the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to the TimberLodge Inn in Pinetop. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. I am glad to know that our service and accommodations were to your liking. We hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Pleasantly surprised at the spacious size of the rooms. Well maintained property and the price was low. Great location and the staff made us feel welcome. Second time we have stayed here and it won't be the last. We are retired and swimming pools, spas etc we have at home so we want a clean, quiet, well located facility. This facility has it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay at the TimberLodge Inn in Pinetop. I am excited to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you get to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed for three nights and loved it. Its nestled between Pine trees, quiet, very clean and nice rooms, decorated with a love to detail. Very friendly service and rooms are priced very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at TimberLodge with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Nice clean rooms and very friendly service. The prices for rooms are very low and I will surely come back. It is also great place to relax outside under the pines.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We appreciate our repeat guests. We work hard to show them that we appreciate them and we are waiting for their return visit. It is so great to know that they will come back. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista AZ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

As some others have stated, we were tired of patronizing the cookie cutter chain hotels with the same looks and smells. We checked out the reviews and decided to book our 4 night stay at Timberlodge. We were in Pinetop for a car show and drove our 1946 Ford the 6 hours from our home.

Pros:
1) wonderful folks who run the place - Dorothy & Tad are friendly, accommodating, helpful, responsive!
2) nice setting in the pines, close to the highway, and our location was very very quiet!
3) large clean room
4) nice big TV
5) we were able to check in an hour early
6) easy to use FREE wifi

Not-so-pros:
1) uncomfortably firm beds and hard pillows (we realize this is subjective)
2) shortage of electrical outlets in room (we realize the motel is older)
3) too-cozy parking when there is a full house
4) very early checkout time - 10 AM
5) NO A/C! Didn't even think to check this out when making reservations. Luckily the nights cooled down and there was a portable fan provided in the room.

We had car trouble and had to take our car to a nearby shop for some work early Monday morning (the day we were to check out). The owners were very accommodating in letting us stay past the checkout time. We were actually out by 10:30, but I'm sure they would have let us push the time forward a little more if we had needed to do so.

Overall, our stay was nice enough. We might come back just because the folks who own the place are so nice. We talked with some other guests who have stayed here a number of times in the past, and they commented that the place was getting "rustic-er" each time they visited. We guess the bad economy is taking a toll on lots of businesses in the area. Many restaurants were closed up and out of business as well. We wish Dorothy and Tad the best.

Room Tip: Bring some extension cords if you have things to plug in like computers, chargers, fans, etc. The l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your stay at TimberLodge Inn in Pinetop. We strive to provide all our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TimberLodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TimberLodge Inn

Address: 1078 E. White Mountain Blvd., Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TimberLodge's 31 comfortable and spacious units are nestled on an acre of matured pines. This mountain retreat, located in the heart of Pinetop in the White Mountains of Arizona, offers you: A piece of forest quiet for a relaxed getaway, A short walk to numerous antique shops and restaurants, The Apache National Forest and Woodland Lake Park within walking distance, A casino experience at popular Hon-Dah Casino, only three miles away, And a variety of outdoor activities in the White Mountain area: Hunting, Fishing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Camping, Golf, Skiing, Hiking ...spend the afternoon at nearby Woodland Lake or just relax and enjoy the spectacular mountain pines scenery from your room or from our 2 (two) pine shaded picnic areas. The lodge courtyard is spacious, quiet and nestled on a large pine covered area. In summertime use this space to relax and enjoy the cool breezes that whistle through our pine shaded picnic areas. In winter enjoy the snow away from the slopes. The White Mountains offer an incredible variety of summer and winter sports and activities. The TimberLodge is centrally located for quick and easy access to all. Only 1 hour from of Arizona's most famous attractions, including the Painted Desert and Petrified Forest, and minutes from Sunrise Ski Resort, Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, Camping and Horseback Riding. TimberLodge can be your home base for day trips during the summer and winter months. Check out the activities page to learn about White Mountain activities, which includes links to other important web sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your TimberLodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TimberLodge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.