We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful July 4th weekend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TimberLodge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added TimberLodge Inn to your Saves list
TimberLodge Inn
1078 E. White Mountain Blvd., Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful July 4th weekend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband & I have traveled Pinetop Az several times over the past few years. During these times we have mostly stayed in one of the name brand hotels however this time we decided we would try something different. So after calling around to the various lodges and reading their reviews I decided I would reserve a room at the Timberlodge. I have to say it ended up being one of the best decisions I have ever made. The lodge was surrounded by pine trees. The room was clean and spacious. The surroundings were quiet and provided us the opportunity to just sit out in the open fresh air and relax. If, these are things that are important to you then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your stay at TimberLodge Inn in Pinetop. We strive to provide all our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
16
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

When traveling to the White Mountains area I usually stay at a brand hotel but this "last minute" trip left me without a room, so after reading reviews on Tripadvisor I decided to stay at this motel. I have to be honest this has got to be the "gem" on Pinetop. Rooms are nice, clean and the location is what I needed - walking distance from Woodland Lake! I will definatly be staying at this hotel from now on!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so very much for the fantastic review and rating! I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We have used the TimberLodge for many years for our friends and family that come to visit us in Pinetop. Not only are the rooms spacious and clean but when you spend time outside under the pines, you feel like you are in the middle of the forest. It is a great year-round place to stay in the heart of Pinetop, with restaurants and stores nearby, plus just blocks from the National Forest where there are hiking trails. For our friends who have wanted to cook their own meals, the suites where the perfect setup. The owners/managers are friendly and helpful. The TimberLodge makes for a great stay at an affordable price.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for your stay at TimberLodge Inn in Pinetop. We strive to provide all our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We usually go up to Pinetop for the skiing, but last weekend we decided to take a trip up there to get away from the heat.

Every time we visit Pinetop, we stay at the Timberlodge because the rooms are always clean and comfortable and we've never had problems with noisy neighbors. The couple that runs the place are just all around good people and I never feel uncomfortable approaching them with questions about my room or any suggestions for restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for sharing such kind words about your time at TimberLodge Inn in Pinetop. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Some motels change over time but I can honestly say that this place is consistent. I recently stayed at the Timberlodge again and I`m happy to say that this property is still a clean,comfortable place to spend a relaxing vacation. The rates are very reasonable and the rooms are spacious and always well kept. The owners/managers are friendly,efficient,and always willing to go that extra mile to make sure that you feel like a valued guest. From the time that I called to make my reservations, to the time that I checked out, my stay was perfect.
I would definately recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing/affordable getaway to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for the brilliant review! Our priority here is to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests, and I am glad you noticed just that. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

My family and I planned a weekend get away to get out of the city and enjoy some snow. My mother in law had stayed here in the past and recommended. We set up the arrangements through the internet on a suite for a price that was on the website. When we got here, this completely changed and different, price jumped and it was out of budget. The owners decided it would be sufficient enough to put us in separate rooms away from each other and to cover up and take $10.00 off a night. This trip was to keep our family together. This place is a dump, feels like you’re in a motel 6 in the worst part of town. I tried to reason with an owner on a refund, we were not here for even 2 hours not touching anything in the rooms. The owner completely refused and argued the fact of business and economy is reason for not giving us our funds back even though we are completely unhappy. I also brought up given them money for the 2 hours that I was there and this was shut down immediately. After going back and forth with 1 owner in reference, she proceeded to get her husband to come out. Without giving a second or chance to speak he is throwing his hands all over the place and yelling that we are not going to do anything for you , and quote “ you do what you have to do and we will do what we have to do, but you are not getting a dime back from us.” At this point, we just packed our things back up and left, I was not about to put my family in a place like this with people like this.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberLodgeInn, Manager at TimberLodge Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
We are in the business for last 5 years. We have approximately 90% return customers. We consistently strive to exceed in customer service. Our guest’s reviews prove our great service and good reputation. We are very surprised and concern about the untrue and full of lies negative complaint, which we hope will not tarnish our good name after examining the true facts below.
.
First of all, we do not know, for sure, who the complainer is?
We have assumed that he was a guest or companion of the daughter, who registered and paid for the rooms and/or our long time guest, who made the reservations.

On Thursday, January 28, 2010, our guest, called to reserve 2 rooms suite with full kitchen and dining area and 1 room with 2 beds for Friday, February 19, 2010 and Saturday, February 20, 2010, check out on Sunday, February 21, 2010. After agreeing on the prices, $179.00 plus tax per night for the 2 rooms suite and a discounted price of $69.00 plus tax per night for the 1 room with 2 beds, which are posted on our website, she has requested reservation for the above dates. Upon receiving the necessary information to complete the reservation I have given our long time guest a confirmation number 0128132 and I have informed her that our cancellation policy is 48 hours before the day of the arrival.

On Thursday, February 11, 2010 Ms. our guest called our Manager, to make a change in the reservation. She has requested the cancellation of the 1 room with 2 beds for both Friday and Saturday and she has requested to retain and hold the 2 rooms suite for the same dates. The reservation change has been completed under the same confirmation number.

We have held the reservation for our guest and their party for a little more than 3 weeks.

On Friday, February 19, 2010 our guest and her daughter arrived at TimberLodge Motel around 3:45 p.m. our guest has informed our Manager that her daughter will complete the registration card and she will pay for the 2 rooms suite for both nights. After completing and signing the registration card our Manager presented and told them the total amount, which came out to be $413.50 including taxes. That amount must be paid at the check in per hotel policy. At that time the daughter has replayed that this is too expensive for her to pay. She has asked if we do not have anything cheaper to rent. After short conversation and considering different options, we came to an agreement with the daughter and our guest that they are going to take 1 kitchenette with 2 beds and 1 room with 2 beds, 20 feet apart from each other, because of the discounted prices $79.00 plus tax per night for the kitchenette ($20.00 savings for both nights of the regular price) and $69.00 plus tax per night for the 1 room with 2 beds (additional $20.00 savings for both nights of the regular prices).
The transaction has been completed at 4:01 p.m. per the visa receipt. Upon receiving the keys they went to the rooms.

Around 6:30 p.m. the same day a young man came in to the lobby and he asked if they could vacate the rooms now and if they get their money back. In confusion our Manager has asked him, which rooms he wants to vacate, since she has not seen the man before. He said that he is with the daughter’s party. Our Manager has asked him what is the reason of his request. He told her that, there is nothing wrong with the rooms, but they would like to be closer together. That surprised her, since their rooms were only 20 feet apart. She told him that our cancellation policy is 48 hours before arrival date and that there are no cancellations or no refunds after check in, which the daughter has agreed to by signing the registration card. The man became upset. His main complaint was that they are not together as a family.
Our Manager was trying to resolve the situation, by proposing to him another discount, by moving them to the kitchenette next door, which has a connecting door to the kitchenette where they were already staying / renting for the same price as the room with 2 beds. She was sure that this would resolve the situation of the family not being together. At that time the man told her again, there is nothing wrong with the rooms, but he needs to leave with his family and get his money back. He was very persistent and argumentative.

Our Manager has asked him what is the real reason why he wants to leave. At that time he told her that he found a cabin for FREE from his friend and he does not want to pay for hotel rooms if he has a 3 bedroom cabin for free a mile away. Our Manager asked him why did he make the reservations if you had the cabin? He told her he did not know.

Our Manager told him that we have tried to accommodate their party since the beginning and at this time we are not able to refund his money per the hotel policy. The man became very upset and threatening. He told her that if we do not refund their money he would damage our reputation by writing bad reviews, writing complaint, and spreading bad words around the town and to his friends and family.

Since the man was becoming very upset and confrontational and the situation lasted for more that half an hour, our Manager decided to call her husband (co-manager), who knew the situation from their conversations over the phone, to prevent the escalation of the situation. Her husband came in and told the man that at this time we are not able to refund his money and he suggested that he should do what he feel he has to do, since he was still throwing threats, and we will do what we have to do. This situation was very stressful to everyone and it was time for everyone to get back to their responsibilities. After that they left the office and went back to their rooms.

We were not sure what they are going to do. They have not checked out or return the keys to the front desk. For next 2 days we did not know if they left, if they stayed or if they left are they going to return. On Sunday, February 21, 2010 (check out date) our cleaning crew found the keys in the rooms and the rooms were used. We have assumed that they stayed for both days. We could not rent out the rooms, since we did not have the rooms and the keys back.

In closing we believe that we did everything possible to make their stay at TimberLodge Motel pleasant and comfortable. Our hotel has approximately 90% of returned guests, because we strived to provide the best possible customer service and create very quiet, peaceful, clean and comfortable environment. We are very sad that this kind of the situation has aroused. We believe that we have provided very professional and helpful customer service to the group and we have followed our hotel policies, which are posted and presented clearly for our guests on our website and on the registration card. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We have been staying at the Timberlodge for several years. We are there for a week every year. It is a very clean, homey place.
There is a mini fridge in each room and a microwave is available if you want the use of one.
We have never had any complaints about anything in all the years we have stayed at this Motel.
Every one is very helpful and friendly.
We will continue to stay at the Timber Lodge Inn in the future,

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TimberLodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TimberLodge Inn

Address: 1078 E. White Mountain Blvd., Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TimberLodge's 31 comfortable and spacious units are nestled on an acre of matured pines. This mountain retreat, located in the heart of Pinetop in the White Mountains of Arizona, offers you: A piece of forest quiet for a relaxed getaway, A short walk to numerous antique shops and restaurants, The Apache National Forest and Woodland Lake Park within walking distance, A casino experience at popular Hon-Dah Casino, only three miles away, And a variety of outdoor activities in the White Mountain area: Hunting, Fishing, Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Camping, Golf, Skiing, Hiking ...spend the afternoon at nearby Woodland Lake or just relax and enjoy the spectacular mountain pines scenery from your room or from our 2 (two) pine shaded picnic areas. The lodge courtyard is spacious, quiet and nestled on a large pine covered area. In summertime use this space to relax and enjoy the cool breezes that whistle through our pine shaded picnic areas. In winter enjoy the snow away from the slopes. The White Mountains offer an incredible variety of summer and winter sports and activities. The TimberLodge is centrally located for quick and easy access to all. Only 1 hour from of Arizona's most famous attractions, including the Painted Desert and Petrified Forest, and minutes from Sunrise Ski Resort, Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, Camping and Horseback Riding. TimberLodge can be your home base for day trips during the summer and winter months. Check out the activities page to learn about White Mountain activities, which includes links to other important web sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your TimberLodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TimberLodge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.