We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun few days!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Lake Resort
Save Saved
You added Rainbow Lake Resort to your Saves list
2677 Trout Rd., Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ (Formerly Rainbow's End Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Mesa, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun few days!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

All reviewers are right; the staff is friendly and accommodating. My husband and I stayed for two days during the week. Fishing was less than expected but the lake is low and yes, there are a lot of weeds. Room (Willow) was nice; clean and kitchen was workable and faces the lake...TV was adequate. We will return; the view and the hospitality cannot be beat...however don't expect to fish offshore or docks for best experience; bring your kayak or rent theirs. Thanks Chuck for the friendly experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing lake are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our first visit to Rainbow Lake Resort. PROS: The room was really clean, the bed was comfortable and amenities were even more than expected. We loved the fact that they supply gas grills, so we didn't have to haul ours along. We had an issue with our TV, as soon as we checked in, but it was replaced right away. The grounds are well kept and the owner, Chuck, was really nice. You can tell that he's working very hard to improve this property. Wi-Fi works well (I was worried about this, as I had to get some work done, while I was on my trip). CONS: You're not allowed to have your dog tied up in the grassy area, while you play, but the owner's dog and several stray dogs are constantly roaming around without limits and they poop everywhere. We rented a boat (4 hour minimum) and encountered a thunder storm 2 hours in. The owner would not allow us to wait for the storm to finish and extend our time, so we paid for 2 hours that we could not use. The boat was also extremely slow and spuratic (VERY old motor) and kept getting stuck because the lake is completely filled with weeds. Fishing bait is overpriced and worms are not fresh. My recommendation: Definitely stay here because the place is great and staff is friendly, but have a plan B for fishing and other water recreation.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a screen door. Otherwise, you can't keep your door open for fresh air, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck E, Owner at Rainbow Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks for staying w/ us. We are trying very hard to exceed your expectations. The stray dogs have been taken care of. I have truly only brought my dog to the resort twice since we've taken over because of the rule of no dogs on the grass for health reasons. (Point well taken though.) She was already walked prior to showing up. Future guests will now know why we are this way about dogs on the grass.
Thunder storms pass w/ in a very short period since we have not had a very good monsoon this season. Any guest can back up there reservation for looming thunderstorms. We don't have the timelines set like the previous owners. Please, if you don't like the looks of the weather, just put it off for a little bit and the weather will change. Thanks again for your stay. Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you want a quiet and clean getaway that will not beak the bank try this out. I have been here a few times and it is very comfortable and quiet. It has a nice family mood and the owners are very nice. I like the fact you can fish and BBQ right close to your room. If you want you can rent a boat and go on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I and our two dogs went to Pinetop-Lakeside for our anniversary. We loved the area didn't want to leave so we decided to spend an extra day. Our hotel we where at didn't have a room available so, a local there recommended we try here and we where very impressed. We wished we would have spent the whole vacation there! The room was cozy and clean and well stocked with anything that we needed. Our dogs really loved the front porch along with us. The management was friendly and really made you feel at home. Gotta love the lake right there and their park area with lots of things to do . I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned from the holiday July 4th weekend at Rainbows End Resort. We stayed in the Aspen, which had a great lake view. Chuck, the owner, was extremely helpful and always around to answer questions or do anything that was needed. It's very obvious that he is really working to improve this little resort and that he loves what he is doing. Thursday night there was a live band that was totally entertaining and fun to listen too. Other guests were friendly and everyone was respectful of each other.

Kitchen could have used a few more dishes, glasses, utensils, but wasn't a huge issue. Bed was comfy and there were nice linens and towels for the bath. Some rooms had a security door on the room and we wish we had one so we could have left the door open all night long for the great fresh air. All small issues that I am sure Chuck will get to eventually.

We will certainly be back in the future!

Room Tip: Don't think there would be a bad room in the bunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

For my husband's birthday I decided to take him back to this resort...we had a great visit last year but this year the property had been much improved due to new ownershp...the 2 rooms were immaculate, the bed was comfortable and offered an amazing view of the lake both from the bedroom window and the front outside sitting area which had 2 comfortable chairs...the kitchenette had a very small mini refrig which made it challenging for our one week stay.but it did have a nice microwave, coffee pot and all the convenience of home...wished we could have stayed longer...will definitely return and thank you Chuck for the helpful hints on fishing spots and local attractions..

Room Tip: I would recommend the Pinion 1 if you want a separate bedroom with a beautiful view of Rainbow Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed for two weeks at this resort and enjoyed every moment! The staff remembered my name from first introducing myself. The studio was extremely clean and I enjoyed the "fireplace". This lodge is on Rainbow Lake. My first recommendation to anyone visiting the White Mountains would be this resort!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lake Resort

Address: 2677 Trout Rd., Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ (Formerly Rainbow's End Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Lake Resort is the ideal escape for those that love the outdoors. Bring your fishing pole, rent a boat, play some sand volleyball or just relax and grill up some great food and enjoy.Rainbow Lake Resort is located in Pinetop-Lakeside in the heart of the beautiful White Mountains of Arizona. We are open for all four beautiful seasons with plenty of things to do and many town events. Some of the most popular things to do in this area are; fishing, hiking, hunting, car shows, boating,kayaking, bird-watching, motorcycle runs, gun shows, casino gaming,biking, skiing, shopping, going out to eat and of course just relaxing and taking in the great scenery and fresh air. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.