We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Cabin....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Resort
Save
You added Whispering Pines Resort to your Saves list
Box 307, Az 260, Just Beyond Milepost Marker 352, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
San Tan, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing Cabin....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed from Dec 24-27 2008 in cabin #24 this will be the second year we came year around Christmas. This year we reserved a cabin with a jetted tub and a gas fireplace vs. the wood burning in cabin #18 we stayed at the previous year. This cabin was really nice... much nicer then #18. I loved the double sided firplace that can be enjoyed in both the living room and bedroom. I also loved the front deck/porch. This cabin was nice and private... nothing in front of us but woods and although there were cabins around us the one beside us on one side and behind us were a nice distance away. The one next door closest to us shared the driveway with us but no one was staying there so it was just us. Very peaceful cabin and very relaxing. The cabin had a full kitchen with everything you need (utensils, dishes, pots, pans, etc). There was also a TV/DVD combo in the room. Overall our stay was really nice and relaxing, my only complaint was the jetted tub. Before the 1st use I cleaned it and a bunch of bath oil, hair, skin, and black stuff came out of the jets ICKY! Then when we used it I figured it was clean... WRONG Tons more Hair, Bath Oil, Skin and black stuff came out and this time we were in the tub... NASTY! :( While staying there I must have cleaned that jetted tub 6 times or more and even the last time black still came out :( I took a pic and posted it on here of the black stuff on the last clean.... I should have taken a pic of the first load of nasty stuff that came out.... it was MUCH worse! If it weren't for that I would have rated my stay as excellent. I am not sure if this is the resorts fault or not.... maybe jets are hard to clean. Maybe jetted tubs just aren't the greatest thing to rent. I would still rent this cabin.... besides the tub it was a wonderful stay! :)

  • Liked — The woods around the cabin and the comfort in the cabin
  • Disliked — The Icky stuff in the jetted tub
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Generally, our stay was fine, but the problem came after we left. We stayed in Cabin 34, and though it was a little bit shabby, we liked it and were just glad it was very clean. When we left we cleaned the kitchen and the dishes immaculately, took out the trash, and left the cabin generally in order. We took very good care of the cabin while we were there. However, upon returning home I noticed a $195 charge on my credit card. When I called, no one could tell me what it was for or help me, I was just told to call back the next day to speak to the manager. Finally, another member of our party got a hold of the manager the next day after calling four times, and found out that we'd been charged for a burn on the couch that had been covered up by sewing the cushion on! We did not do this. No member of our small party (mostly family) would have or could have done this - there were no smokers, no candles, no way to even burn a couch. It must have been done by a previous occupant. Finally, they agreed to refund the charge to my credit card, but continued to insist we were "lying." This was extremely hurtful, especially since if we had done the damage, we would have been upfront about it and more than happy to pay. While the mistake is excusable, the manner in which it was handled was both unprofessional and offensive. They both made an unauthorized and unwarranted charge on my credit card, and then were combative and rude when we brought it to their attention. We don't plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed at this place on the weekend after labor day weekend. There were total 8 people in our party (4 adults, 4 kids 5yr, 4yr, 4yr and 6 mo). We booked our stay via their own website. We reached there at 4 PM Saturday evening and the checkin was a breeze.

Location:
This place is right on the highway but the Victorian house that we rented is at the far end of the resort and it has a separate entrance. No traffic, no noise. It is right on the edge of forest. Only thing that stands between this house and woodland lake park (part of national forest) is a small private lot and the trails in the park were practically starting at our doorstep.

Interior:
Lower floor of the house has reasonably large dining and living area (with a powder room), a big kitchen with all necessary stuff (refrigerator, oven, microwave, dishwasher, pots and pans) and laundry area (large washer dryer). Upper floor has two master bedrooms (king beds) with bathrooms and a third bedroom with two double beds. It had a large garage with an extra refrigerator.
House was well stocked with towels, extra blankets and pillows, soaps, dishwashing and laundry detergents etc. It was very clean (clean carpet, clean linens, very clean bathrooms). Only thing that was not good was the couch in living room (very old and dirty). We gave this feedback to the owner, hope he will listen.

Exterior.
House looked good from front . Some landscaping in the open area in front will make it stand out even more. There was a deck in the back with 4-6 person jacuzzi and gas grill. Jacuzzi was hot and ready to use when we arrived. Grill was ok, worked fine for one time we used it (It needs cleaning, owner should think of upgrading it)

Grounds:
Did not explore the grounds of the resort much as we had pretty much all we needed in the house itself but whatever little we saw of the resort at checking-checkout, that looked good.

Overall very good stay. Will definitely stay there again..

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Dirty couch (only sore spot in otherwise immaculate house)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

We just returned from our mountain getaway and I had to write this review... We have stayed many places in Pinetop but these cabins were the cleanest and most comfortable we've seen. We stayed in Cabin 32 which had 1 bedroom & spa w/ 1 king bed & a twin + a pull out couch bed... We loved the deck which is covered and raised.. They provided our firewood and even had our fireplace prepared to go when we arrived (wood, papers to light, and supplied extra paper for later). There was a larger TV than your average 20".. which was nice. The kitchen was spotless and all the pots/pans etc.. were good quality and very clean. The heater was older but worked great... There was no heater in the bedroom but plenty of blankets and pillows. We were lucky to have snow while we were there so it was beautiful ! There is a small playground (wood swingset/slide), and the location connects to Woodland Lake Park which has fishing, hiking, etc..Also it is right off the main road (but tucked back so no road noise) there is access to grocery stores, restaurants, etc.. within a few miles. The staff was very nice and helpful, we ended up staying an extra day because we were enjoying ourselves so much. We have a 3.5 yr old and he loved it too !! They do allow pets in some cabins... We really liked that the staff/owners did not bother us (by that I mean that places we have stayed before we always felt like the staff was watching us and keeping tabs on all the guests)... These cabins have nice privacy ! There were some smaller ones that connected with less privacy but still nice ! Can you tell we were pleased with Whispering Pines and will return very soon !!

  • Liked — Clean cabins
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso, tx
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2006

We've actually stayed in cabin #2 three times..Its a nice one bedroom cabin, small and comfortable and great on a budget. All of the amenities of home in a charming wooded area. Fireplace, backyard grill, and a full kitchen.
The Chalet resturant down the street was a great place to enjoy the perfect New Year's meal and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The cabin is a short drive to Big Lake and the Casino down the street. You can find outfitters with no problem or make a day trip to the Painted Desert or the DInosaur Park in Hollbrook. We are a 20 something couple with a sense of adventure and romance and this location was great for both.

  • Liked — ambiance
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — book early!
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

Absolutely loved it. My husband & I went there for our Birthday weekend and have already booked it to go back again. It is very peaceful & relaxing. We stayed in the deluxe spa cabin & we didn't have one complaint (the bed is even very comfortable). It's great because you feel like you are away from it all, yet you are only minutes from restaurants, bars, shopping, etc.

You can either stay in, go hiking, shopping, you name it & is is there. We plan on making this an annual trip!!!

  • Liked — It's too hard to pick. Everything was great!
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

We booked in for only one night to begin with. Our 1 bedroom cabin was the closest to the highway and we were not sure how the noise level would be. No problem at all. Felt as though we were all alone in the pine forest. Super clean. The Darbi's restaurant located next door is great, too. Wish we could have stayed more than 2 nights. The grounds are great for strolling and the management was very helpful with ideas of places to hike and birdwatch.

  • Liked — wooded setting
  • Disliked — height of the toilet
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Resort

Address: Box 307, Az 260, Just Beyond Milepost Marker 352, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Pinetop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.