We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Resort
Save
You added Whispering Pines Resort to your Saves list
237 E White Mountain Blvd. Beyond Milepost Marker 352, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Great Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We reserved a cabin at Whispering Pines, sight unseen, and were not disappointed with the results! We had a one bedroom unit with a small kitchen, stove, refrigerator and dining area. The kitchen was stocked with many appliances, glasses and dishes. Our cabin was dated, but it was immaculate (and I am very fussy). Knotty pine walls and very nice natural fireplace, stocked with wood. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed sitting outside on the deck having our cocktails in the evening. We had initially booked for one night, but ended up staying for 2 nights. A nice plus was that pets are accepted. Our bichon frise had a ball! Darby's restaurant adjacent to the property was great for breakfast. When we come back, it will definitely be at this resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam_CSR, Public Relations Manager at Whispering Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2015
All of us are very pleased to hear that you found the cabin to be up to your standards, and we thank you for sharing this with everyone else.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the White Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our third stay at this property, and will not be our last. This trip we spent two glorious weeks in cabin 24. We can't say enough good things about Whispering Pines. Be sure to book a cabin away from the road noise of busy White Mountain Blvd. The cabins are well equipped, well maintained, and nicely furnished. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The location is ideal, located within walking distance of a supermarket. If you like to hike, there are numerous trails in the surrounding area, one even adjacent to the resort property.

Room Tip: Book a cabin away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam_CSR, Guest Relations Manager at Whispering Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2015
So happy that you enjoyed your stay in the cabin, and took advantage of all the hiking trails adjacent to the property. :)

All of use here want to thank you for your kind words, and while we would like to believe we are "The best in Pinetop", it is much more important that our guests feel this way!

Hope to see you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have a total of 8 adults and booked cabin 34. It is cozy with three bed rooms and two bathrooms. Kitchen is just the right size but dinning area is a wee bit small for 8 adults, however utensils, pots and pans are provided. Outdoor charcoal BBQ pit is enjoyable during this time as weather is cooling but with more outdoor lightings would be perfect. (You will need to buy your own charcoal)
Carpet looks new, clean rooms and fresh liners are provided.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam_CSR, Guest Relations Manager at Whispering Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2015
Thank you for staying with us, and for the great review.

We apologize that you found the dining area to be a bit small, however, if you choose to stay with us again in the future, please remind us of your experience and we may be able to accommodate you and your family in something that has a bit more space than cabin 34. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Show Low/Pinetop/Lakeside area in the White Mountains of Arizona allows folks the choice of staying at lovely hotels, motels, or cabins in the woods. Not wanting to be couped up in an air-conditioned hotel on Labor Day, my sister and I chose a Spa Cabin at Whispering Pines Resort, and we were not dissappointed. Each of the thirty-eight cabins at Whispering Pines Resort are varied in size, location, and degree of comfort and range from a studio cabin to a deluxe cabin with spa tub. You can even bring pets in some cabins. We stayed in Cabin 37 and enjoyed the fresh, cool mountain air in the quiet pine woods while simultaneously enjoying the comfort of a cabin with ceiling fans, a lovely, clean kitchen with an electric range oven, refrigerator and microwaive, a living room with controlled fire place, a sparkling clean shower and spa tub, and large bedroom with fire place. It even had a television with cable and a DVD player. This Spa Cabin was better than many nice hotel rooms we have stayed in. We sat on the front porch each evening and watched the sun set through the pines - Heavenly!

Room Tip: Cabins 38, 37, and 24 are super, but more expensive than other cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great place to stay to get out of the Phoenix heat and enjoy northern Az. The cabins are extremely well maintained and cleaned. Not sure if the owners are the ones on site bit the staff is very friendly and accomodating. My choice for next visit for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed at the cabins for the past few years and some of the cabins we stayed in was nice and clean. The furniture is very old and sunken cushions and bed was okay. My husband and I visited about a month ago and had cabin 3 or 1 I don't recall. It smelled horrible of wet dog. We left all ceiling fans on and kept windows open but it stunk bad. The refrigerator had a regular metal door handle nailed to open the door. The toilet did not flush correctly. We won't be going again. Seems as if the furniture in all the cabins are old and stinks inside of old furniture.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying here unless it is one of the newer cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have stayed at this property on probably 18 occasions over the past 25 years in multiple cabins usually with two dogs in tow. The details of this review pertain to cabin #17 which we have used at least a dozen times and is our favorite due to direct access to the White Mountain Trail System which is connected to the property down a short path. We have also stayed at Lazy Oaks and Lake of the Woods which both have water adjacent but this remains our cabin of choice to due the generous separation between cabins and the heavily treed layout.

The cabins themselves are each unique in age, amenities and layout. All have fireplaces, some have spas or bathtubs marketed as spas. This particular cabin has seen few changes in all the years we have used it. The mattress's and bedspread are at least 15 years old and should have been replaced long ago. The pillows were newer but uncomfortable and fairly low quality. The kitchen has no counter space due to a microwave and coffee maker occupying all the space. The utensil drawer is pretty barren. If you are going to be cooking most meals in you may request something more user friendly. The light bulb in the refrigerator was burnt out last time we used this cabin in 2012 and is still out as of June 2013. The hide-a-bed sofa is too short to stretch out on for reading and reasonably uncomfortable to sit so I can't imagine sleeping on it. There is no daily housekeeping service. Towels are fairly thin. None of the cabins have air conditioning but a ceiling fan helps distribute air and even on the hottest days the afternoon breeze is usually enough to keep you comfortable. The grounds themselves are always clean as are the rooms upon arrival.

My chief complaint remains with the reservation system. You cannot select and reserve a room online which is pretty antiquated. There is no computer record keeping so you're never getting an upgrade based on past bookings. The owners have no marketing skills whatsoever. At least they now take a credit card reservation. Up until last year you were required to mail a single night deposit and could only cancel with 3 weeks notice. Regardless, we still enjoy the solitude and quiet of this property compared to a typical area motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinetop-Lakeside
2.2 mi away
Pinetop Resort
Pinetop Resort
#7 of 16 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.0 mi away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#9 of 16 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Pinetop
BEST WESTERN Inn of Pinetop
#1 of 16 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
#4 of 16 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 16 in Pinetop-Lakeside
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Show Low-Pinetop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Resort

Address: 237 E White Mountain Blvd. Beyond Milepost Marker 352, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#3 Family Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinetop Arizona is the setting for Whispering Pines Resort featuring studio, 1, 2, or 3 bedroom cabins. All cabins are furnished, carpeted, and stocked with firewood - some units even have spa tubs! Whispering Pines Resort cabins are located on 13 acres, heavily treed with Pines and Oaks. The cabins are nestled amongst the Pines with the resort adjoining National Forest Service Land and the Woodland Lake Trail System. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Pinetop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.