We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinetop-Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northwoods Resort
Save
You added Northwoods Resort to your Saves list
165 East White Mountain Boulevard, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Pinetop-Lakeside
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Went up to Pinetop on a last-minute retreat before school starts and chose Northwoods based on the positive reviews listed here. It did not disappoint! Being just 3 of us, we got cabin #1, a one bedroom with a King and a sleeper sofa in living room for our son. Everything was very clean, bed was comfortable, full kitchen, nice porch with bbq out front, etc etc. As others have said, choose a cabin towards the back for a quieter stay. Our cabin was roughly in the middle and street noise was not an issue for us. There are several walking/hiking trails out the back of the property, one leading to Woodland Lake Park, which was a good walk. Also, a short walk to an excellent breakfast at Darbi's (hint: call ahead and they will put your name on the list as they get extremely busy!). Before leaving we asked Bill about the larger cabins for future visits with another family or two and he graciously showed us #11 - wow! 2-story with two bedrooms downstairs and a huge room upstairs that has 3 full-size (queen?) beds + 2 bunk beds. Plenty of room for the kiddos! Thank you Bill, we really enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Room Tip: As others have noted, not as much street noise towards the back of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The owner is such a nice person, the cabins are cute and clean (very important) and have all the things you would need for a good night stay- kitchen has the necessary dishes, etc..

Unfortunately, we just couldn't get any sleep. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I've ever encountered, I think just very old and no cushion left, flat as a board. I would suggest that if you do decide to stay, maybe pick one of the other cabins? We had the smallest one and I probably could have slept better on the floor. And bring a fan, it was warm and without a fan, there just wasn't any good airflow or circulation in the cabin.

We left a night early, nevermind the money I lost.. :(

Room Tip: Don't pick #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Northwoods Resort. Cabin 14 had everything we needed: a fully equipped kitchen, picture window with a view of the tall pines, comfortable double bed, private hot tub, and a spacious porch with gas grill. On cool mornings, I turned on the gas fireplace in the living room. You can set it to the exact temperature that you want. The cabin was clean and in good condition.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the woods. Every day, we took a 20-minute walk to nearby Woodlands Lake, which offers picnic tables, benches, and walking paths. There are plenty of other walking trails nearby, but we didn't have time to explore them all. After spending a hot summer in Tucson, this was the perfect getaway!

On Saturday night, we went to the Lion's Den tavern in Pinetop, which featured live music and dancing. It was a great atmosphere. Of all the little towns in the White Mountains, we found that Pinetop-Lakeside was the most charming, with the most to offer. We would definitely like to return next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The natural setting of these charming and cozy cottages made the perfect mtn. getaway that I needed. The owners made us feel right at home and were so helpful and informative. It was clean and comfortable. The fully equipped kitchen had everything we needed to cook up all the fish we could catch. Eating out... there was a wide variety of places to choose from including a local brewery. Hot water in seconds and plenty of water pressure to wash off the dirt of the day and the shampoo out of my hair. The fireplace was soothing at night and took off the chill in the morning. Coffee on the patio with the birds and the squirrels started another beautiful day. Don't know why we waited so long. Already panning a return back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We desperately needed a few days away from the hustle and bustle of city life, and we love the White Mountains area! We were absolutely thrilled to find Northwoods Resort with it's charming, homey cabins! They have different sizes to accomadate anyone's needs, from studio size to large family size cabins... We stayed in a one bedroom, as it was just me and the hubby, but it was awesome! Fully equipped kitchen with everything from pots 'n pans, dishes, silverware, glasses, and appliances to supplying even the dish soap! You may want to bring your own spices and such, or if you don't want to cook, there are several ample restaurants to satisfy your palet! The bed was comfy, and the cabin was clean and quiet. The setting was very cool also...nestled in amongst the pines; and yes, it is just off the road, but we did not hear the traffic from inside the cabin. The owner /manager, Bill, and his wife are awesome people and were very helpful in suggesting areas of interest and restaurants. We would not hestitate to recommend Northwoods Resort in Pinetop, AZ, to everyone. This is not a motel...so if you're looking for motel type ammenities, there are several nice motels in Pinetop. We look forward to our return trip soon!

Room Tip: There is a large community bbq centrally located, as well as playground for the children... The larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I love this place! My family only could be out of town for one evening for Valentine's day. Although most places set a minimum stay for holiday weekends, (President's day and Valentine's day) Bill, the owner and manager, didn't even think twice about accommodating our family for just one evening. The cabin was cozy and we were able to get one that was close to the playground which our daughter enjoyed. The one bedroom cabin was more than enough space for our family of 3. The couch pulled out as an extra bed and everything was neat and clean. We built a fire with the complimentary firewood which was chopped and stacked next to the front porch. I especially liked that there were NO hidden fees tacked on to the price we were quoted over the phone and we actually ended up paying a few dollars less. The owner has a good knowledge of the area and was able to point us in the right direction for a couple hours of fishing on the way out of town. It is apparent by the way the place is kept up, that the owners really care about their customer's experience.

Room Tip: If you have kids, stay toward the front. If you prefer a little more quiet, get a cabin closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I chose this for the location in the White Mountains and for the dog friendly rates- we brought our 2 goldens and it was perfect! We stayed in #14 which I would recommend as it was in the back and close to the walking trails- one went to a lake that had about a mile walk-around as well as a mile or so to get there so it was a good little morning walk and the snow was not too far away off hwy 177 about 20 minutes south off hwy 260 which is the reason for our trip. The kitchen was fully stocked (and what I did not find I received by asking- rubber spatula and paper towels) and got a DVD player also after inquiry. The bed is not as comfortable as home, and we brought our own pillows, but we slept OK, the water temp was great for the shower and bath, and the fireplace kept the place warm as long as you kept the door to the bedroom open.

This was a slow time as I think we were the only people there, but it seemed like the cottages were separated enough to be quiet even if they were occupied. We will definitely come again.

Ate most meals in but saw Red Devil Pizza on the way back from the first snow hike and could not resist- definitely recommend that as well.

Room Tip: good advice from others for a cottage in the back area- away from the road and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Northwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Resort

Address: 165 East White Mountain Boulevard, Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 85935
Location: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwoods Resort is nestled on four acres of beautifully wooded property in the heart of the White Mountains of Arizona. Located in the quaint town of Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona, Northwoods Resort offers the weary traveler a much different choice than the typical Hotel or Motel setting. The property hosts fourteen different cabins to choose from; ranging in size from studios to spacious Chalets. Whether a party of one, or a family of 10 or more Northwoods can meet all your needs with one call. Each unit is equipped with all of the modern conveniences, including fully stocked kitchens in all but one unit. The four newest cabins on the property also have hot tubs and amazing views of the surrounding Pines and Aspens. The Resort is backed by acres of Forest Service Property and connects to the Woodland Park system enabling visitors to enjoy a wide variety of outdoor activities during any season. Whether wanting to just relax and unwind in the crisp, clean mountainair; or get outside and involved in the numerous activities thesurrounding area provides, Northwoods is for you. Contact us today to reserve your cabin in the White Mountains of Arizona. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northwoods Hotel Pinetop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.