We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned and great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Inn

Nick's Inn
5400 Portage Avenue, Headingley, Manitoba, Canada
204-889-4548
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Headingley
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family owned and great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had lunch at Nick's Inn and it was very crowded. The owner immediately found us a table for 5, cleaned it and handed us menus. We decided to go with hot dogs smothers in Chili or hamburgers with a scoop of chili on top. They also serve chili fries and we ordered those also.
All was good and the chili had Greek seasoning to it that made it very tasty. We all agreed we would have lunch or breakfast again at Nick's.. Something to be said about a family owned and operated business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been eating at this place since I was a child, well over 30 years now! I moved to Calgary thirteen years ago but come to Nick's every time I am back in Manitoba. I love the chilli on the burgers! The fries are delicious as well. Milkshakes are the best. Try this place if you live in Winnipeg or if you are driving through! The same family has owned the place since the beginning and I still recognize some of them from when I was young, such nice people taking great pride in what they do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Diner breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Have not been out this way for years. who knows why.We both had excellent Greek omelette and coffee is good and generously refilled. Service prompt. Mostly regulars on a Sunday it seemed.lots of happy repeat customers.

Do not be deterred by mad max feel of highway parking lot.nice friendly place

Extra bonus. We took the long way home to wpg. Headingly and area is pleasant driving. There are a couple of picnic areas near the river...well hidden and peaceful

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is GREAT!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Have eaten here twice now...hamburger the 1st time and the Clubhouse on this trip. Food tastes incredible, portions are large. Decor could use a change...but I didn't go there to stare at the walls, floors and tables. Food made up for the decor. Bring cash...no debit or credit

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I totally enjoyed our visit to this friendly cafe that serves homemade meals.The service is always prompt and friendly. Try the soup!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Inn also viewed

Headingley, Manitoba
Headingley, Manitoba
 
Headingley, Manitoba
Headingley, Manitoba
 

Been to Nick's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.