We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Desert Experience by Team Xanfre - Portugal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Camping Sahara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge Camping Sahara to your Saves list
Auberge Camping Sahara
Errachidia, Hassilabied, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Desert Experience by Team Xanfre - Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed one night at the auberge and one night at the desert (bivouac) and enjoyed both places. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable, but where the place really shines is the outdoor spaces. Wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the pool. The location is supurb: one can walk into the sahara from here.
In the second day, we headed for the bivouac in the desert by camel (about 1 hour), which was magical. We watched the sunset, had tea, dinner and watch the beautiful full moom and the stars. We never forget this night. It was Amazing!!! Next day, we watch sunrise, and came back (by camel) to breakfast and shower at the auberge.
Be warned - the beds are not very comfortable at the bivouac, but there are some blankets included but if you get a sleeping bag it's better and more warm. Don't forget that is cold in the early morning.

The meals were very good, including on the overnight at the bivouac. Ali and the owners treated us like royalty. I'd recommend this hotel absolutely!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends in a Land Rover Discovery from Portugal (Team Xanfre) :)

Room Tip: The beds are not very comfortable at the bivouac, but there are some blankets included but if you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolvega Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Along the borders of yhe sahara is this auberge that offers rooms, camping and readily build tents. The location is supurb: one can walk into the sahara from here. The facilities are clean and spacious. The bed could have been more comfy (mateass on a concrete bloc). Food wss local, tasted well and the staff is very helpfull. I'd recommend this hotel absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a long ride we arrived in the dark at the 'Auberge Sahara' friendly welcomed with tea and
good food. Than a good sleep in the very nice suite. The next morning view, just a few steps
away from our breakfast table- a see of golden dunes. Erg Chebbi. Later in the morning a visit
to the hartwarming 'Groupe des Bambaras' who played their very special traditional 'Gnaoua'
music. Back to the Auberge where we left later in the afternoon with our guide and camels for our 1 hour ride to the camp.The ride and staying the night over feels like if you are in a movie.
'Auberge Sahara' a great experience.
Thank you.
Louis and Paulina
Spain

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this friendly and comfortable hotel. We were traveling with our 2 year old daughter and the staff was so friendly to her and accomodating to us. (The night she threw a royal tempertantrum, they saved dinner for us and acted as if we weren't a bother at all.) The pool is big and clean (a bit cold thought). The rooms are traditional and comfy. Mohammad and Hassan were very informative about the history and culture of the region. And the best part of the hotel is that you can go walk in the dessert directly from your room, as the dunes begin in the backyard. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great stuff speaking English, French, German, great meals (breakfast and one meal - dinner or lunch - is included), a quiet place, basic but nice rooms with quality mattresses, swimming pool, wi-fi connection for free... And best is that dunes are next to the hotel so you can have a beatiful walk there, you can have a room with Sahara view, you can have meal with Sahara view. I can definitely recommend this place. One of the best places where we stayed during our three weeks Morocco trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The perfect place to stay to enjoy the desert around!
basic but very nice rooms, lovely terrace, just in front of the desert.
Breakfast is ok, nothing special, as well as dinner, but the half board is definitely a great deal.
Small swimming pool to relax during the hottest hours, maybe the water could have been a bit warmer, but definitely a good idea!
Easy to find any kind of desert excursions you might like, staff is very easy, charming and friendly.
Surely not a luxury place, but definitely the best cheap option around.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After a very, very, very long drive from Fez, this place was just what I needed! There is a great flow to the layout of the property, with all hallways leading to the patio in the back, right on the edge of Erg Chebbi. To just sit and stare at any hour of the day.... bliss...
The pool was beautiful and well maintained; the rooms minimal and cozy; the staff - wonderful; the food - excellent. Even some decent art on the walls. And they have laundry services!!!

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the pool. There was a group of Germans that used the pool early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hassilabied
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#4 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#12 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
236.6 mi away
Dar Marhaba
Dar Marhaba
#2 of 5 in Hassilabied
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#18 of 21 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
4.1 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
#4 of 5 in Hassilabied
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Camping Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Camping Sahara

Address: Errachidia, Hassilabied, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga > Hassilabied
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge Camping Sahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Camping Sahara Hotel Hassilabied
Auberge Camping Sahara Merzouga
Auberge Camping Sahara Morocco/Hassilabied

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Camping Sahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.