We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Great Experience'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Camping Sahara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Auberge Camping Sahara to your Saves list
Auberge Camping Sahara
Errachidia, Hassilabied 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Nerja, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“'Great Experience'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a long ride we arrived in the dark at the 'Auberge Sahara' friendly welcomed with tea and
good food. Than a good sleep in the very nice suite. The next morning view, just a few steps
away from our breakfast table- a see of golden dunes. Erg Chebbi. Later in the morning a visit
to the hartwarming 'Groupe des Bambaras' who played their very special traditional 'Gnaoua'
music. Back to the Auberge where we left later in the afternoon with our guide and camels for our 1 hour ride to the camp.The ride and staying the night over feels like if you are in a movie.
'Auberge Sahara' a great experience.
Thank you.
Louis and Paulina
Spain

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this friendly and comfortable hotel. We were traveling with our 2 year old daughter and the staff was so friendly to her and accomodating to us. (The night she threw a royal tempertantrum, they saved dinner for us and acted as if we weren't a bother at all.) The pool is big and clean (a bit cold thought). The rooms are traditional and comfy. Mohammad and Hassan were very informative about the history and culture of the region. And the best part of the hotel is that you can go walk in the dessert directly from your room, as the dunes begin in the backyard. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great stuff speaking English, French, German, great meals (breakfast and one meal - dinner or lunch - is included), a quiet place, basic but nice rooms with quality mattresses, swimming pool, wi-fi connection for free... And best is that dunes are next to the hotel so you can have a beatiful walk there, you can have a room with Sahara view, you can have meal with Sahara view. I can definitely recommend this place. One of the best places where we stayed during our three weeks Morocco trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The perfect place to stay to enjoy the desert around!
basic but very nice rooms, lovely terrace, just in front of the desert.
Breakfast is ok, nothing special, as well as dinner, but the half board is definitely a great deal.
Small swimming pool to relax during the hottest hours, maybe the water could have been a bit warmer, but definitely a good idea!
Easy to find any kind of desert excursions you might like, staff is very easy, charming and friendly.
Surely not a luxury place, but definitely the best cheap option around.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After a very, very, very long drive from Fez, this place was just what I needed! There is a great flow to the layout of the property, with all hallways leading to the patio in the back, right on the edge of Erg Chebbi. To just sit and stare at any hour of the day.... bliss...
The pool was beautiful and well maintained; the rooms minimal and cozy; the staff - wonderful; the food - excellent. Even some decent art on the walls. And they have laundry services!!!

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the pool. There was a group of Germans that used the pool early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I spent 2wks in Morocco and the absolute highlight of my trip was my time at Auberge Camping Sahara. Hassan and Omar were fantastic, really helpful without being pushy (we had our share of pushy hosts elsewhere!!). No language barrier problems here! The rooms were lovely, the aircon was a real blessing as I arrived sick and couldn't enjoy the pool. The pool area had enough privacy to not feel exposed or perved on. The food was great. My friend and I did the sunset camel ride and loved it so much we did the overnight camel trip the following night! At first I was a bit uncomfortable riding into the desert as 2 females with a male guide, but he was brilliant, respectful - set up camp and made the best meal I had the whole trip (and you know how good Moroccan food is!) and left us to it - felt like we had the whole desert to ourselves! I can't rave enough about how good this place is, how great the staff are, and what an amazing part of the world this is! The desert is awesome, the stars are phenomenal - ever wondered why it is called the "Milky" Way?!!! Thank you Omar and Hassan and all the staff for making our time in the desert so fantastic! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

While Morocco is a magical place to travel, Erg Chebbi, Merzouga was the jewel. We took a cab from Fez to Auberge Camping Sahara and while it should have been an exhausting journey, we just got all our energy back by just being in such a beautiful place. The rooms was fantastic, there was a swimming pool, the food was excellent and very very reasonable. But the best part was undoubtedly the service. On day 1, we ended up having a 2+ hour intellectual conversation about the berber tribes, arabs and even saddam which was followed by the guys playing musical instruments and forcing us to follow suit, it was great!

I'd recommend this place over any in the area beacuse of the price, the people and most importantly the LOCATION. A friend mapped the entire area and this place was the closest to the sand dunes (right at the foot of the dunes)!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Camping Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Camping Sahara

Address: Errachidia, Hassilabied 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Hassilabied
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Camping Sahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Camping Sahara Hotel Hassilabied
Auberge Camping Sahara Merzouga
Auberge Camping Sahara Morocco/Hassilabied

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Camping Sahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.