We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haven La Chance Desert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Haven La Chance Desert Hotel to your Saves list
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 17 | Merzouga, Hassilabied 22202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Rome, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family visit for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at La Chance in December. The staff was very attentive, and did their best to make us comfortable. The desert behind the property is beautiful and we enjoyed our morning camel ride. The pool area is beautiful and the breakfast we had there in the garden was delightful. Our dinner was good as well. On the other hand our room was not comfortable. We had one bed we could not even sleep in because it was so soft..so the four of us crammed into the two other beds which were OK. We were the only guests in the hotel, and with the dim lighting, it was a bit eery. While the staff was helpful, they didn't seem to know how to make us comfortable. The owner was away from the property, so that may have also left us with a different experience. If the owner had been there and we had a more comfortable bed, then I think our stay would have been much better. If you stay at this hotel during the busier season, I'm sure the experience would be quite different. Finally, if you arrive at night it is not easy to find as the dirt road is not well marked all the way to the hotel!

Room Tip: Check the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue_Men, Owner at Haven La Chance Desert Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Sorry that your beds were too soft for you and that the staff did not change you to another room. Wheras most rooms have hard beds. you got one that had soft beds. Right now, we are working on finishing up the other 7 rooms you saw that are unfinished and will replace the soft beds next year. Thanks for your feedback and happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Good staff, nice nature. We were celebrating ny 2012, and it's was wonderful - an bonfire, a fried lamp etc.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had stayed on night at tent in the desert. The meal was delicious and more than we could eat. The sunrise and the sunset in the desert were wonderful. Andrei from Romania.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We've visited Haven la Chance in 15-17 November, this year...We went into the desert ontop of the camels. Mine I named it Lawrence of Morroco :))) Very helpful staff good english. The traditional meal into the desert - a feast. Everything was more than fine: was berber style. If you're looking for some authentique experience in Morroco you should try the camel bivouac and sleeping into tents in the desert.
Mihai Romania

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue_Men, Owner at Haven La Chance Desert Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you . Glad you had a good experience in the desert and we welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We visited this hotel on October 2011 and it was great. The hotel staff did everything for us, including a candle light dinner. We spent a night in the desert and it was very well organised by the staff. The swimming pool was very nice and the rooms clean.

Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue_Men, Owner at Haven La Chance Desert Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
We appreciate your feed back. ThanksCome back again. Sorry I missed you Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I just came back from a wonderful trip to Morocco and cannot say enough good thigs about Blue Men of Morocco, Elena (the owner), Zaid, and all the other people we met during our stay in Morocco.
We visited Casablanca,Fes, Marrakech, Merzouga, Ouarzazate, and while in Merzouga, we slept one night in the Sahara.
Everything was perfect! I am happy we decided to book the trip with Blue Men. Elena took care of all our requests, suggesting the itinerary, and even meeting us is Fes. Our driver Zaid was so great! He is a wealth of knowledge, and a very pleasant companion to travel around. He taught us so much about his country!
Haven La Chance is a unique place. Although we did not stay there overnight, we met our camel man at that place to go on our adventure in the desert. L'Hassan is great and it was great to talk a lot with him, and walk around the Sahara under a full moon! When back in Morocco, I will plan a night or so at Haven La Chance, as I really liked it!

We will go back, and when that happens, we know who to contact!

Thanks Elena, Zaid, Ahmed, L'Hassan, and all the other people that made our trip so special!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The guides and hotel staff at this hotel were wonderfully attentive. Elena, the owner, took every effort to iron out the details of our trip. We only had a limited time to spend and thus needed a customized trip. While Elena wasn't there the staff fortunately spoke enough english and we spoke enough broken french/spanish to get along fine. Our guide was english speaking so that wasn't a problem. Anyway, both elena and the staff responded quickly to problems. my wife and i are newlywed and this is our first post-honeymoon trip and our first trip to africa. we had low expectations for africa but this was truly a gem that surprised us. the hotel has a leisurely pace to it and the programs there are structured in a communal way which was great because it felt more like a bed and breakfast than anything else.

we were surprised to realize that this hotel is where many of the US embassy staffers in rabat stay when they visit the desert. we ran into one family there from the embassy that had their children down there on vacation. the staff was also very child-friendly so that would be a plus i think for people with families.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haven La Chance Desert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven La Chance Desert Hotel

Address: B.P. 17 | Merzouga, Hassilabied 22202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Hassilabied
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven La Chance Desert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DESERT Hotel near Merzouga -among olive and palm trees- NOW HAS A NEW SWIMMING POOL with views of the nearby sand dunes and palm trees. Our Hotel has 14 modern rooms with toilets and showers with hot water. A/C and heating in most of the rooms. Our local Berber traditional food is served by our friendly staff- either inside or by the swimming pool. Several Nomad tents right by the hotel provide the option of traditional sleeping. Public showers and toilets inside and outside. Besides the typical BERBER Restaurant, another one has Mosque style arches. Our overnight CAMEL BIVOUAC treks under the stars with campfire dinner and breakfast inside the dunes is a unique adventure. Special N'Gnawi Black music and MECHUI - roast lamb in Adobe oven-is a local event available on request. Quads, Trekking, 4 x 4 rides - are options we provide. Also have 2 large camping areas for Caravans and RV's in front of the hotel or close to the dunes- with a separate wash room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Haven La Chance Desert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel Morocco/Hassilabied

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven La Chance Desert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.