We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome respite from the desert” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou to your Saves list
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erg Chebbi Desert, Hassilabied, Merzouga 250, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Welcome respite from the desert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were on a 2 week trip all over Morocco, so my comparative ratings are based on Moroccan experiences. This was, indeed, a welcome respite after 2 nights camping in the desert, but it wasn't luxury. Same ownership/management as Kasbah Xaluca in Erfound, so the rooms were similar but smaller. Hard platform bed, skimpy towels. Low light levels. Wi-fi worked near restaurant/office but not in room. Buffet breakfast/dinner had plenty of choices. Two-story buildings.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you don't like stairs. Ask for room near restaurant/office if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    74
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
53
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is well-situated to explore the Sahara. The rooms were small, the shower was not great, but when you are in this remote location, your expectations should be adjusted. We had a great camel ride at dawn, and the sunrise was worth the trip. The restaurant was fine, and the bar was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were three - myself, spouse, daughter - and the only others there were huge tour groups in buses. We were there the end of May and our room - in spite of the air conditioning going full blast - was too warm to sleep comfortably. The linens were pretty shabby.

The food was all buffet style and the worst we had during our 8 days in Morocco.

I wouldn't recommend it - but am told (by our private tour guide and driver) that it is the usual for Merzouga.

Room Tip: I am not sure there are any "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived by jeep in the afternoon. Unfortunately we had to leave some of our luggage behind and weren't told there was a pool so we had no bathing suits. The pool looked beautiful. We had drinks around the pool and then went to the roof top terrace to watch the sunset. Dinner was edible but very so, so. We got up at 5:30 to go on our sunrise camel ride which was amazing!! I considered our sunrise camel ride to be one of my highlights of Morocco. After the camel ride we came back for breakfast which again was edible but so, so. If you go there go for the views and camel ride, not for the food or service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We'd booked a 4 day trip at Morocco Hikes and stayed 1 night in this great hotel. Located at the edge of the dunes. Everything was perfect. Like said the location, but also the spacious room with walkin bathroom. The dinner buffet and the breakfast also amazing. Nice swimmingpool. The next time we would like to stay longer. The best hotel we stayed during our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here one night with family of 4 in August 2012.
Location next to the sand dunes.
The rooms are nicely decorated. Very clean. Pool is great.
Service was excellent. We slept in a Berber tent the following night but they allowed us to leave our lugage in a room and use that room to take a shower when we got back from our tent trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel room in which we stayed was very tired with cracked tiles and our own cockroach, albeit on its back and unable to move.

The food was OK as was the beakfast laid out for us early in the morning, but choice was limited. The staff were helpful. when they were around. Corridors were dark with rugs on the tiled floor which were a hazzard when coming in from the bright sunlight. However, the swimming pool and surrounding was fabulous, but overall the place needed updating.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 which was very tired, (as was the cockroach!) perhaps rooms on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hassilabied
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#4 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Camping Sahara
Auberge Camping Sahara
#1 of 5 in Hassilabied
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#12 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#18 of 21 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kasbah Le Touareg
Kasbah Le Touareg
#14 of 21 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou

Address: Erg Chebbi Desert, Hassilabied, Merzouga 250, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga > Hassilabied
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tombouctou Hotel Merzouga
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou Morocco/Hassilabied

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.