We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views from the roof terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou to your Saves list
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erg Chebbi Desert, Hassilabied, Merzouga 250, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from the roof terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived by jeep in the afternoon. Unfortunately we had to leave some of our luggage behind and weren't told there was a pool so we had no bathing suits. The pool looked beautiful. We had drinks around the pool and then went to the roof top terrace to watch the sunset. Dinner was edible but very so, so. We got up at 5:30 to go on our sunrise camel ride which was amazing!! I considered our sunrise camel ride to be one of my highlights of Morocco. After the camel ride we came back for breakfast which again was edible but so, so. If you go there go for the views and camel ride, not for the food or service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    69
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We'd booked a 4 day trip at Morocco Hikes and stayed 1 night in this great hotel. Located at the edge of the dunes. Everything was perfect. Like said the location, but also the spacious room with walkin bathroom. The dinner buffet and the breakfast also amazing. Nice swimmingpool. The next time we would like to stay longer. The best hotel we stayed during our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here one night with family of 4 in August 2012.
Location next to the sand dunes.
The rooms are nicely decorated. Very clean. Pool is great.
Service was excellent. We slept in a Berber tent the following night but they allowed us to leave our lugage in a room and use that room to take a shower when we got back from our tent trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel room in which we stayed was very tired with cracked tiles and our own cockroach, albeit on its back and unable to move.

The food was OK as was the beakfast laid out for us early in the morning, but choice was limited. The staff were helpful. when they were around. Corridors were dark with rugs on the tiled floor which were a hazzard when coming in from the bright sunlight. However, the swimming pool and surrounding was fabulous, but overall the place needed updating.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 which was very tired, (as was the cockroach!) perhaps rooms on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

The suite is a duplex and looks out across the camels directly onto the dunes.

The food is all buffet style and is really not good enough.

The hotel let itself down by trying to substantially overcharge.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were given 2 rooms, blue and beige and the blue one is the best, really2 lovely decor for me. Swimming pool is a must especially when it was so hot. Best spa for my Morocco trip, the lady really know what she is doing, very thorough and she touched all the right places that make you so so relax.
They also arrange 1 night in the desert, which we enjoy, except the camel ride, it's long and painful for us. It is best that you bring some food here, especially if you always eat your breakfast, bringing instant noodles is a must. We were the only there and they really spoilt and tried to make our stay as very memorable experience.
It's quiet and perfect for people who just want to chill and enjoy themselves.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We didn't stay here but arrived by car, took the camel ride into the desert, stayed overnight in the "bivouac", returned by camel where piping hot shower and an excellent buffet breakfast awaited.

Arriving by car gave us a pretty rough ride over the 200m or so over the unmade drive but once we were there our driver handed us over to the staff and we were soon embarked on our camels for a 2 1/4 hour ride over the rolling dunes. This feels like proper desert not some of the stony fields that other trips take you to. On arrival we were just in time for a stunning sunset and a cup of mint tea. After getting settled in our tent - we were the only ones on a site that holds 60 - we watched the moon rise - a full moon that slightly wiped the desert canopy of stars - but hey you can't have everything. The 2 men running the site prepared a perfectly acceptable, piping hot tajine dinner, lit a wood fire and entertained us with their drums. There were as many blankets as we could possibly want for a freezing cold night. We got up at 6:30am for a sunrise but were dissappointed by thick cloud - not their fault!. The lads made us hot tea before the 2+hr camel ride bck to base. On arrival the facility for showering was excellent - I could even manage a proper shave. A first class buffet breakfast followed. This experience exceeded our expectations but we didn't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou

Address: Erg Chebbi Desert, Hassilabied, Merzouga 250, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga > Hassilabied
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hassilabied
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tombouctou Hotel Merzouga
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou Morocco/Hassilabied

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.