We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in the dessert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nasser Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hassilabied
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nasser Palace
Hassilabied, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Hassilabied
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time in the dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My sister and I took a 3 week trip to Morocco. A camel trek into the desert was one of my requirements. We did a lot of research beforehand. The owners of the hotel were very responsive beforehand. When we got to the hotel we had a great time. The host Brahim was very gracious and offered us food and shower and great advice. We arrived just in time to have a late lunch and then get ready for the camel trek into the desert. The trek was about 2 hours and we were able to see the sunset. We climbed the dunes (you need to be in good shape for this). We had a little assistance from our guide up to the top. We then got to our camp and had dinner and a music performance. Afterwards we just hung out in the camp and watched the stars. This was the highlight. I was tired and cold but then quickly warmed up under the covers. In the morning we were up bright and early and saw the sunrise on the dunes. Then we headed back afterwards. Back at the hotel, we got a shower and breakfast. Brahim gave some additional tips on what to see in Morocco. Great place we'll be back with kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    22
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have a hard time believing all the positive reviews of this place. We stayed here one night as part of a tour. Our group was the one in the hotel- no other guests. When we checked in, the heaters were not working, we were told to wait half an hour. Some of the others were able to get their heat working, but in the meantime the power went out in the entire hotel for close to an hour. once the power came back on, one of the guys had to go through 4 remotes to find one that would work on my heating unit. That said it never got very warm. I had to resort to putting the blankets from the wardrobe on the bed, even though they were nasty with visible crud on them. Dinner was okay. But when I went to take a shower before bed, there was no water at all in the shower or sink. The guy told me 5 minutes then it was another 15, the water sort of came back on, but was cold. The shower is a small square mat on the floor in front of the toilet. The entire floor gets wet. Overall it was very unpleasant experience. I was really grateful that we only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were recommended this place by another hotel owner in Todra Gorge, who arranged us a booking with Nasser. Nasser told us on the phone that the price for the overnight trips to dessert is 500 DH per person and is fixed. When arriving in Merzouga, we took a local hitchhiker who told us this price was a rip-off and we shouldn't pay more than 300 per person. After arrival in the hotel we managed to get the price really to 300 pp (camel ride, sleep in the tent, great dinner, not that nice breakfast), but some other guests paid much more.

The trip itself was great, the guides were chatty and nice and prepared us amazing tajine in the bedouine tent. I would recommend you to give a tip to the guides, as I think they are under-paid although the trip prices are quite high, but all the revenue goes to the owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I m travel agancy morocco branch manager c ycle company inc.tokyo .alwyse my customers intersting to stay at nasser palace hotel because is wonderfull place to see a big mountain of sand .sunsite or sunrize .customers had a great dinner full by moroccan delicious foods,sataf with a nice smile.berber music around swiming pool every night.
come to see a diffrent adventure at the best desert place over the world.


Hurry To Morocco thank the manager of NASSER PALACE HOTEL Mr IBRAHIM

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been in Nasser Palace in a Morroco trip and to visit the dert we chose Nasser Palace. Mohamed as shown us how is the living style in the desert. We made camel trecking and we pass a nigth in the desert. We also made a 4x4 tour to meet the Gnaoa population and it was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have been greatly welcome in the Nasser Palace. The location is amazing, right in front of the dunes. The staff is very nice and food more than correct. Clean rooms, typically decorated with A/C. Refreshing and clean swimming pool (which wasn't the case everywhere in Morocco).
Do not miss to have a talk with Moha and Hassan, they are nice guy and they will give you good advices.
One last thing but not the less, the bikes were safely parked.

Niko

Room Tip: Best view on the first floor in front of the Erg Chebbi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casablanca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I and my family have benn in hotel nasser palace and our experience was very bad.
We booked this hotel because we had read many good reviews about it but since when we got there we felt it is a huge hotel with a lot of noise.There wetre many spanish tourist
The food was the worst we had in morocco because we all felt sick.
They played very very very loud music during all the night. Avoid staying in this hotel, there are many other better hotels that are very close to the dunes.

Room Tip: Merzouga is a lovely small village to stay at least 2 nights ,no more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nasser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nasser Palace

Address: Hassilabied, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Hassilabied
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Hassilabied
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Nasser Palace Merzouga
Nasser Palace Morocco/Hassilabied

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nasser Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nasser Palace to your Saves list