We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful lodge and THE place to see grizzly bears” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
Save
You added Knight Inlet Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   8841 Driftwood Road, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2015 BOOKINGS NOW OPEN!!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful lodge and THE place to see grizzly bears”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My mom and I spent 3 nights at Knight Inlet Lodge. Many of the other reviews describe the lodge accomodations below. The rooms are basic but great for a remote lodge. The food was fresh, plentiful and very tasty.

The main reason for visiting the lodge was to see grizzlies, and we were certainly not disappointed! We saw many bears, grizzly and black. Some came right behind the lodge for a closeup view. We also saw otters, orcas, eagles, a very large pod of pacific white-sided dolphins, and many more animals and birds.

The guides and staff are all very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. We had plenty of activities to chose from and they were very accomodating.

Overall, this was a wonderful vacation and I recommend Knight Inlet Lodge highly! It was certainly a trip of a lifetime! I would love to return someday!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
117
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

The 24 hours we spent at the inlet was a real experience. The sea plane trip was amazing and the Lodge was fantastic. The scenery was breathtaking and to see some grizzly bears in, their natural habitat was exciting. The food at the Lodge was of a very high quality, all fresh & the staff were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The children even got to catch their own prawns to eat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This place will steal your breath but give you back a fresh soul in return. I had never before, truly, appreciated nature until I came here. I think that I may not have had a human spirit until I came here.

I arrived at Knight Inlet in a nervous sweat following an unenjoyable float-plane ride. I shuddered at the communal dining area with shared tables. I freaked at the sleeping cabins with shared lounge areas and unlocked bedroom doors. I rolled my eyes at the over-zealous, eco-warrior Canadian camp-leaders. I snarled at the lack of internet, phone reception and TV. I couldn't sleep on the first night as I repeatedly cursed the place. I cringe now to think of how I was.

The next day I saw my first grizzly in the wild, I saw Cathedral Spires, I felt the spray of Rainbow Falls and the unrivalled beauty of Knight Inlet, suddenly hit me. The tranquility, the calm, the smells, the sights, the sounds are all beyond words. It was the most magical experience of my life and I would lose my right arm to experience that feeling again.

Stay here if you get the chance. Stay here for as long as you can!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I'm giving this place 5 stars not for the accommodation - more on this - but because of the wonderful location and fantastic activities. You really are off the edge of the map when you come here. We had 5 nights with no TV, radio or telephone. Utter peace and utter bliss.

It isn't cheap but the price is all inclusive. For that you get a wide range of activities including all day whale watching trips on small but very fast boats, bear watching, trips up the estuary, kayaking, walking trips all just excellent. I would encourage anyone to stay for as long as possible in order to appreciate what is on offer. We never got bored over 5 days.

The days start with breakfast from 6.30am and first activity at 7.30am. Depending on your own timetable you finished between 5.30pm and 6.30pm. The bar opens at 6.00pm with appetisers from 6.30 and dinner at 7.00pm. There is a post dinner talk at 8.00pm by one of the guides (different each night and variable in quality!) before collapsing exhausted into bed! Very busy days.

All kit such as waterproofs, life jackets and wellingtons are provided.

There are a lot of European guests with a majority being British.

The food is buffet style and of surprisingly good quality. It isn't fine dining but there is plenty of it and a good range. Decent wine is provided.

The rooms are fairly basic. The beds are queen size and sheets are changed after 3 nights. Housekeeping consists of changing towels only. The furnishings are rustic and fairly basic. The bathroom has a shower with fantastically hot water, a basin and WC. The water is filtered but brownish and isn't recommended for drinking. There are lots of water fountains around to fill jugs with drinking water.

The staff and guides all muck in and were very friendly - it feels like a very happy place. Great dogs and a family of otters on the pontoons too!

If I was basing this review on the rooms alone I would give it 3 stars but you spend so ittle time in them this doesn't matter. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

This was always planned to be the highlight of the trip and it certainly didn’t disappoint, living up to or exceeding all our expectations. The accommodation at the Lodge itself was quite basic and this is only to be expected given its unique location, having said that, it was perfectly clean and comfortable. The rooms are very spacious. It didn’t really matter as the programme of activities meant you were only in there to sleep anyway! We also spent most of the time we did have in the room looking out of the window at the fantastic view and the family of sea otters playing on the decks - what more could you want?

The day started with a 06:30 breakfast and you could take part in activities through to 18:00 in the evening just in time for dinner starting at 18:30. The activities were flexible and not necessarily strictly according to the itinerary, i.e. it was possible to chop and change what you wanted to do. The one thing we would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to do this, subject to budget, is to take at least the three night package which gives you one night in Campbell River and two nights at the Lodge. The reason we say this is that after one night there, you just won’t feel like you are ready to leave!

The food at the Lodge was excellent with all dietary requirements catered for and all the staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable – we couldn’t praise the place highly enough. The days are well organised but flow in a really relaxed and informal manner. There's all the equipment and clothing you need. We saw grizzly bears, bald eagles, deer, otters, seals and of course, thousands of salmon. Highlights included the inlet cruise with the fantastic Bob Scriba and kayaking up the estuary to see more bears and eagles with Jasmine and again with Dean. It was a joy to be at the Lodge and to spend time with such dedicated and friendly people.

We did unfortunately hear one couple on our float plane complaining that the two night package was sold as a three day trip when in effect there is little to do in Campbell River on the first and third day. We think part of this is perhaps that the planes coming into Campbell River arrive in the morning leaving the rest of that day in the town where some people said that there is apparently not that much to do. Our view on this is that we were fully aware of this when we booked the package and it didn't affect our enjoyment of the trip at all - including Campbell River which was just fine. We felt it was a privilege to be staying somewhere so remote and as such, there have to be some parameters about the travel arrangements. We honestly couldn't recommend this place enough. If you are able to afford it, just go, the memories will stay with you forever.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston-super-mare england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

float plane to the floating hotel.1st class food.thoroughly organised for tours out to see bears, orcas etc. helpful,professional and fabulous guides. night skies to die for.stars galore.brilliant experience.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was our 2nd stay , the first was for 1 night 3 years ago, we always knew we would return. This time we were at the lodge for 2 nights and 1 night at Heron's landing as before. Heron's landing was a large suite with full kitchen - more than we needed for 1 night and very comfortable.
Knight's Inlet was superb from the fabulous floatplane flight (one of us had the co-pilot seat) , comfortable but sparse rooms (you don't spend much time in the room due to the pace of the activities), wonderful food by the resident chefs includes all meals and permanently availbale snacks.
The real reason for visiting is the wildlife and scenery, we saw a total of 25 bears both Grizzly and Black. The grizzlies were very animated as they fished for salmon and a mother with cubs fought off another female who got too close. Another huge bear performed the classic back rubbbing behaviour on a scratching tree , you wouldl normally have to watch a David Attenborough documentary to see the bears like this.We also had a single black bear wander along the rocky shoreline next to the lodge.
Other sights were the otters, eagles and walks through the rainforest.
The guides are enthusiastic, Kevin was a great entertainer and we had the privilege of meeting Robert (Bob) Scriber author of 'Season of the Grizzly' whose knowledge of th grizzlies is immense, bizarrely his book was not for sale in the lodge shop (open 30 minues a day) but was available at the floatplane booking office.
On of the best 2 days we have spent in our lives.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Address: 8841 Driftwood Road, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive
Knight Inlet Lodge Canada/British Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knight Inlet Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.