We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Amazing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   8841 Driftwood Road, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Glendale Cove
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What an Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This was such a well organised trip. We arrived by seaplane and within one hour we had been given a tour of the lodge, shown to our room and then straight on to our first bear viewing. All the trips were amazing. The staff very friendly and knowledgeable. All food was included which was excellent. Knight Inlet was the highlight of our holiday.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
83
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at Knight Inlet Lodge and were disappointed with the overall experience.

The good points were:
great guides, great waterproofs and great bear watching (if you got some allocated)

The bad points were:
very poor food (I do not understand how people rate it as 5star, it is as if we went to a
different place, maybe there were problems in the kitchen we were not told about)

the meals ranged from fair to poor to inedible (bison ribs)(even the staff left these)

the coffee machines are the only acceptable part of the catering experience

we did not receive an info pack that should have told us to expect just one trip to a bear
stand each day,
we were therefore disappointed to find that with more guests than bear stand slots we had
three non-bear stand trips per day - at more than 4000 pounds for 3 nights I find this
completely unacceptable.

the guiding staff are superb but understaffed

there is no manager to iron out problems, this is left to the senior guide when she gets
back from guiding the Disney film crew !

the new rooms are poorly insulated for sound, I was awake one night listening to one
neighbour snoring, others talking in their bathroom and others flushing their toilet


We certainly enjoyed our bear watching but, like most people we spoke to, we had to complain several times about the unfair allocation of it.

The food was pitiful and will prevent a return trip, repeat business is obviously not an issue with
so much demand but it is still sad that we will not go back
.
If you have the money and will put up with bad food then try it because the bears are amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilopsman, General Manager at Knight Inlet Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food during your stay. However judging by the many positive comments from other guests at the lodge while you were there it most definitely is only your opinion. As you state other guests rate our food as 5 star so we are confident that our skilled and dedicated Chef's are serving not just good but great meals.

Your review also contains factually incorrect statements regarding documentation, lack of Lodge Manager and more guests than viewing stand slots. These statements are simply not true.

All of the staff at Knight Inlet Lodge, including Lodge Manger Brian and Head Chef Paul, are very proud of the lodge and the program we offer guests. The many glowing reviews and comments from returning guests, some of them on their forth visit to the lodge, tell us we are doing a good job. While we acknowledge your right to have an opinion on the lodge and are sorry that you did not appreciate your visit we respectfully disagree with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cnlev
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Amazing experience...experience of a lifetime! Staff was amazing, going out of their way to make our time wonderful. staff was a wealyj of knowledge and shared that knowledge freely. Accommodations were very nice, food was excellent. We would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited the lodge last september and we got a near perfect stay. The bears, the eagles, the entire environment of Knight Inlet is just astounding. You feel as being in a complete natural world, alone with the wilderness.
The lodge was staffed with competent and very motivated guides. The food was excellent, fresh and tasteful, unbelievable if you imagine the remoteness of the lodge.
If you want to see Western Canada at its wildest and in the best of circumstances, this is the place to go.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds. UK.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in August 2011 and had been told by Bob Scriba guide extraordinaire to come back this September as the salmon would be plentiful and ensure lots of bears ...thank you Bob you were absolutely right ! Two nights were not enough last time so we saved up and did four ...and we were so glad we did as we still didn't want to leave! This place is so beautiful and peaceful and the new Lodge is thankfully up and running again .The family atmosphere we so enjoyed last time is maintained despite being full and the guides are as hard-working as ever and really keen everyone should have a great time and see as much as possible . Special thanks to Brian and Moira who run the place so well and the chefs for the amazing food...Murphy for all his hard work and constant smiles and in fact everyone who works there...it is a matter of luck who you are with for the tours so unfair to single anyone out as they are all equally good ... but we were particularly happy with Kris and Jess and Eddy ..who found us a cougar !! Yay ! And special thanks to AJ who we had for most of our trips ...incredibly knowledgeable about not just bears but whales and dolphins on our incredible marine day and a really funny guy who is sadly leaving at the end of the season .As many other guests also said the Lodge will really miss him . Reading the recent reviews made me want to address a few things ...I sort of agree about Heron's Landing but I think it is partly to give them some flexibility with the float plane if weather is bad . I do not agree about wanting WIfI ! Why go to one of the remotest most beautiful places on earth and want Wifi?? Unbelievable what some people can't live without ...stay in Vancouver ! People with rooms at the back saw bears right behind them which you don't get at the front .And our room certainly wasn't noisy .This is a floating lodge not a luxury hotel and that is the point ! I think they thought long and hard about things like whether to have keys etc ...the old Lodge didn't and I suppose they can't please everyone ..but they certainly tried ...we were pressed to say what we thought would improve things and they really want everyone to have an amazing experience .Yes it is dear but what price can you put on watching a mother grizzly teaching her cubs to fish ...or dolphins leaping out of the water around you ...or kayaking in a totally silent dawn where the only sound is the paddles ...or the night sky full of stars you never see at home. Worth every penny !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

What can one say - it does what it says on the tin you WILL see bears, and much more besides. Rooms, staff, food all excellent. Don't worry good quality equipment available to keep you warm dry and safe. The only comment I have is, as a guest on a one night stay @ the lodge I feel our time would have been better spent searching for more bears than taking a very speedy two hour trip up the knight inlet to view waterfalls and hear part stories of lost explorers. I say part as our guide was on more than one occasion cut short in his narrative by engine noise as the driver took off to the next location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Whilst we saw bears on the two days that we were there, there are things that can be done by the resort to make the stay much more pleasant and enjoyable.
1. Do away with the need to stay the night before you fly out to Knight Inlet in Campbell River. The hotel that is included as part of the package deal, "Herons Landing" is nowhere near up to standard for the price you pay to visit Knight Inlet. I do not understand why the resort does not have afternoon flights and fly people in in the afternoon to do away with this pit stop.
2. As fog is an issue and effects the time spent at Knight Inlet perhaps they should do away with morning flights into and out of Knight Inlet. On both occasions we were left waiting for over two hours without nothing to do but count the time until the fog lifted. Again I do not understand why they don't offer afternoon flights . We ended up missing our connecting flight to Vancouver because of it.
3. Don't offer some guests views of the water and others views of the generators!!!! Why not turn the sleeping quarters side on so everyone gets a view of the water!!!! The noise from the generators was that loud we could not open our window at night. For the price you pay this is unacceptable.
4. Have wifi for guests. This is the 21st century.
5. Have all drinks included in the price of the package.
6. The rooms need better insulation as we could hear both neighbours snore on and off through the night. It was as if there was a bear in your room!
7. Fix the gaps in between the floating portions of the resort. Someone is going to fall into them and get seriously hurt.
This review is not meant to be malicious in any way. We hope some action is taken. We have been to a number of resorts around Canada and have seen how it can be done better. We would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for no demand a water view otherwise you will be stuck with a view of the generators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilopsman, General Manager at Knight Inlet Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Everyone at Knight Inlet Lodge is sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience to the fullest. We always encourage guests to talk to our staff about any questions or comments they may have. Our floating lodge and bear viewing program are unique so why we do something may not be readily apparent to a guest. I can assure you that while a lot of thought has gone into how we operate we do value guest feedback on their experience since we are always looking for ways to improve.
It is our belief, based on the17 years we have been in operation, that a night in Campbell River prior to the morning departure by floatplane is the best overall option. Afternoon flights simply would not work as well for our program; we are limited as to when we can go to the viewing stands, or the majority of our guests. Despite your experience with fog it is a relatively rare occurrence and only impacts a handful of flights during our 5 month season.
Like any resort or hotel Knight Inlet Lodge cannot provide all guests with the same view from their room. I can assure you that the lodge was only anchored after careful planning on the best way to position it for our guests. The side that you stayed in may not have had a view of Glendale Cove but it does have a view of the shoreline behind the lodge where bears are often seen.
Knight Inlet Lodge is WiFi free by design. The goal of our lodge is to allow guests to experience nature with as little distraction from the outside world as is possible. We believe that the majority of our guests welcome the chance to reconnect with nature while disconnecting from the internet.
The only drinks not included in our package are drinks in our lounge in the evening. Since only a portion of our guests use the lounge the fairest option for everyone is to not include lounge drinks in the package price.
Your comments about better insulation and gaps between the floats are not ones we have heard before. We will look into both issues and correct where possible. Thank you for taking the time to post about us and we do hope you will return one day for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Cove
Brown's Bay Resort 5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
View all 1 hotels in Glendale Cove, ranked by popularity

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Address: 8841 Driftwood Road, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Glendale Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive
Knight Inlet Lodge Canada/British Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knight Inlet Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Knight Inlet Lodge to your Saves list