We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course to your Saves list
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiton
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Sayed here on first night of our honeymoon. Staff very knowledgeable and attentive. Couldnt fault evening meal or breakfast. Room very sumptuous. Downstairs lounge very comfortable with open fire. Grounds beautiful in the snow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us at The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and found many facets of the hotel and service to your liking.

I hope that you will choose to return to the Roxburghe for your anniversary, if not before, if there is anything I can do to assist please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    47
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
127
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed in one of the courtyard rooms, with the downstairs lounge. the room was excellent with a four poster bed.
The staff were excellent and very attentive, without being overbaring.
The restaurant, whilst being small, never felt cramped even though they were full. Food was excellent and service was again attentive.
Overall, this is a lovely hotel, with very nice staff. I would reccomend it to anyone who wants a little luxury at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course on Trip Advisor. It is very kind and thoughtful and we are pleased that you appreciated the efforts of the team here.

I do hope that you will chose to return to The Roxburghe in the near future and hopefully will have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back, if there is anything I can do to assist in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night to have a peaceful break and wasn't disappointed in the slightest. Stunning location in beautiful grounds (even though I was strictly told not to bring the golf clubs!!).

We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who showed us up to our room. Even though just a standard double the room was lovely and it had one of the most comfy beds I have ever slept in. The reception rooms downstairs were so comfortable with roaring fires, in just about every room.

On to the food..

Great use of good scottish ingredients with a modern twist. I had the pigeon to start with followed by a beautiful venison dish served with herb pancakes.. The service in the restaurant was very efficient and friendly, which added to the overall experience. Breakfast was also good too.

To sum up this hotel is well worth a visit and in my opinion delivers a real 5 * experience that some more pricier establishments don't deliver. I will be recommending the Roxburghe to all my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a positive review of your recent visit to The Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt we offered good value for money, especially for the levels of service we strive to provide.

We sincerely hope that you will choose to return in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the natural beauty of The Scottish Borders.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Its hard to know where to begin with this hotel. It's everything you would expect and want (and more) from a classic Scottish country-house hotel. That's not to say it's dated....it isn't. The entire property is decorated in traditional style but it's all of excellent quality and not 'faded' or dated in any way. Sofas and armchairs abound and it's always easy to find a comfortable quiet spot in any of the public rooms (drawing room, library, lobby) all of which have open log fires burning throughout the day and evenings.

Service is of the highest standard, with unfailingly helpful and cheerful staff, and very high quality management.

Rooms in the main house are individually decorated, again in very traditional and comfortable styles. The courtyard rooms are a little more contemporary in style but equally in-keeping with the Borders location.

As if all that wasn't enough, the food is of the highest standard and without doubt beats that of most restaurants. Top-quality produce supplied locally from specialists where possible results in beautifully-presented and flavoursome food. There is an extensive, high-quality (if pricey) wine list to accompany the eating experience.

The hotel grounds are extensive and there is a top-quality golf course on site.

If this hotel had a small pool or even hot-tub/Jacuzzi/steam room or similar, it would be totally idyllic but....it's not far away from that already.

Room Tip: If you like traditional country house décor and views of the estate grounds, stay in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your extensive review of the facilities and service at The Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt we offered good value for money, especially for the levels of service we strive to provide.

It is always satisfying to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay at the hotel, we will continue to strive to deliver consistently high standards of cuisine and service with welcoming hospitality, to ensure that on your next visit your stay will be equally as good but hopefully better.

We sincerely hope that you will choose to return to the Scottish Borders and I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Roxburghe personally.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful hotel surrounded by large grounds (includng a golf course) in a country location near Kelso. The room was well equipped with easy chair and space to read or relax . There was a clean and spacious bathroom. The food was good and service was excellent and efficient with all staff being polite and helpful.

Room Tip: I can thoroughly recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for posting such a thoughtful review following your visit to The Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt we offered good value for money, especially for the levels of service we strive to provide.

We sincerely hope that you will choose to return to The Roxburghe in the near future.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is set in a very beautiful part of southern Scotland. The setting is peaceful. The rooms are good sized and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. The golf course in no way detracted from our visit despite none of our party being golfers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a positive review of your recent visit to The Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course. We were delighted that you found the staff friendly and the food of good quality.

We hope that you will choose to return to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife went to the Roxburghe for dinner last night and were totally bowled over. The staff were super efficient, friendly and hospitable. The maitre d' made us feel so welcome you would have thought we eat there every night. Head chef Neville Merrin surpassed our expectations by miles ....We started with a confit of duck that was simply stunning, my wife had foie gras that was its equal and the lamb and monkfish we had for our entree was delicious.
The last time we had a meal that was as good as this was at Chez Bruce in Wandsworth Common!
I am almost embarrassed to have paid £29 per head for two courses!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
It is really very kind of you to post such a wonderfully positive review following your evening meal at The Roxburghe. The praise you offered is of course gratefully received and I am delighted you enjoyed your evening. We do strive to maintain consistent standards throughout the hotel and it is very encouraging that you felt that we met your expectations.

We sincerely hope that you will decide to return to The Roxburghe again in the near future, and I hope to personally welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso > Heiton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxburghe Hotel And Golf Course
Roxburghe Hotel Kelso
Roxburghe Hotel Course

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.