We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Save Saved
You added Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heiton
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend a night here in July for our anniversary, and are already planning another night here this month. We've stayed in a lot of great hotels and eaten in a lot of fabulous restaurants, and this very much held its own. I was talked down from booking the Duchess Suite and we went for a deluxe room instead, which turned out to be absolutely beautiful. Everything is immaculate; clean, beautifully designed and with impeccable taste. The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in, and it made a night away from the baby an even bigger treat than it already was! We also treated ourselves to massages in the afternoon, which were great, and hubby ordered champagne to be delivered to the room in the afternoon, so it couldn't have been nicer. Though the dining room was perhaps a little lacking in atmosphere, and at once dominated by the party of hunters at the centre table, whilst also being the kind of place where you feel you must whisper, the food was excellent, with just the right portion sizes to feel replete without feeling bloated! We retired to the beautiful lounge for coffee and after-dinner drinks, and enjoyed the feeling of being expertly looked after in a very beautiful home. The only thing I would say is to take advantage of the guests' free entry to Floors Castle: it's extremely fabulous on the outside and what's on offer inside is really interesting and beautifully presented, but there's just not enough of it to justify the entrance fee. All in all though, a fabulously relaxing and special place, and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I was very tempted by the Duchess Suite but went with a deluxe room instead, overlooking the drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your very positive review of The Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, the service and the housekeeping (often an unsung hero within hospitality but vitally important). The hotel as you are no doubt aware recently benefited from a refurbishment at the beginning of the year when all of the ground floor public rooms were redecorated, refitted and upgraded.

It was a pleasure to read that you found the style of the hotel to your liking. We are working incredibly hard to ensure that the service and qualities of the hotel are appreciated by all of our guests. We do hope that you will return to The Roxburghe in the not too distant future and if there is anything I can do to help please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    45
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
36
115
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights as we got married at Kelso Registry Office during our stay.
All of our party (including 2 teenage boys and the In-Laws) were wonderfully looked after.
The bridegroom, his sons and the father-in-law, managed to fit in a round of golf too - which they said was excellent.
Myself and my mother-in-law used the Hotel Beauty Salon, which was very good.
Lovely food and beautiful surroundings.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of the Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course.

It was a pleasure to read that you chose to stay at the Roxburghe and celebrate your family wedding with us and that your family managed to enjoy the majority of the facilities and services at the hotel.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to post your review and provide other guests with information they can use if they are considering visiting the hotel and the Scottish Borders.

If there is any more I can do to help in the future and you wish to return to the hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Once again our sincere gratitude for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review of the The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We loved this wonderful old hotel on an Enlgish estate. The library bar was our favorite place to be. Full of books and wonderful old furniture. The main house has several sitting rooms, all beautifully decorated like an old English manor house. Fires burned in the fireplace giving the main hiuse a wonderful cozy feeling. The only downside was the poor Internet connection. The formal dinners are pricey, so we ate in the bar, where they had amore than adequate menu.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay at The Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course.

We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. The choice of menu in either the Library Bar or the Restaurant was intended to satisfy guests who wanted to eat light or less formally and it appears that you enjoyed this service on this occasion.

We do appreciate your comments regarding the internet service, we are doing everything we can to ensure the coverage throughout the Hotel is positive although please accept that due to our rural location the service is somewhat limited and again this is something we are pursuing with BT.

If there is any more I can do to help in the future and you wish to return to the hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Once again our sincere gratitude for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review of The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Clean, friendly, peaceful, well maintained fantastic breakfast what more could you want. We live 70 miles from this hotel so it's ideal for an overnight get away we will be back this year. The room with the four poster bed that we had was beautiful and comfortable with ample tea and coffee facilities and a great bathroom, can't wait for our next visit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your Trip Advisor review of The Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course. Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post your comments.

We really do appreciate the time our guests take to provide their personal feedback and thoughts about the service, hospitality and facilities at The Roxburghe.

If there is any more I can do to help in the future and you wish to return to the hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Once again our sincere gratitude for taking the time to post your review.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a gem! Lovely old manor house set in beautiful grounds and a river running through. Very comfortable with lovely old fashioned furniture. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast delicious.
The golf course was very pretty and challenging. A buggy was a good idea as there was quite a walk between some holes. Club house welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a golf package which included a nice standard room. Superior rooms were georgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We really appreciate you posting such a positive review.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed both the golf and the hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us as a hotel so that we may learn from your experiences; for users of Trip Advisor it provides a balanced perspective on the service and hospitality at The Roxburghe.

If there is any more I can do to help in the future and you wish to return to the hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Once again our sincere gratitude for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review of the The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Hotel is set in a park like setting.
We made the mistake of spending only two nights.Should have stayed longer. The staff was welcoming and friendly,service was graces and not intrusive.Food was excellent.The library bar and set sitting rooms with the fire places were as if you were in someone home.the place is very clean and well maintain. No detail over looked.this is clearly one of the better Country House Hotel I have stayed at. Well be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We really appreciate you posting such a positive review. Your feedback is invaluable to us as a hotel so that we may learn from your experiences; for users of Trip Advisor it provides a balanced perspective on the service and hospitality at The Roxburghe.

If there is any more I can do to help in the future and you wish to return to the hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Once again our sincere gratitude for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review of The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at the Roxburghe Hotel for one night on the 28th July. It was first class from the moment we arrived. The room was lovely & clean and had everything we needed. The staff were pleasant, polite & helpful. The surroundings that the hotel is set in are beautiful, just wished we had, had time to explore around the gardens. The breakfast had a good choice of cereals, fruit juice etc and the cooked breakfast was plentiful. The Roxburghe Hotel is a place that would suit all occassions whether it be quiet and intimate or for family/friends to meet at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We really appreciate you posting such a positive review. I am very grateful that you mention the team at the Hotel, it is as a result of their commitment and enthusiasm that we are rewarded with your lovely comments regarding your stay.

We are very fortunate to be located in such a beautiful part of the world, close to so many historical landmarks, not too far from Edinburgh, Newcastle or the coast and in my opinion set within some of the most gorgeous scenery within the British Isles.

I do hope you chose to return in the not too distant future but if there is any thing I can do to help please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Once again our sincere gratitude for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review of The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso > Heiton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxburghe Hotel And Golf Course
Roxburghe Hotel Kelso
Roxburghe Hotel Course

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.