We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice bitten.... Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parklands Resort & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Parklands Resort & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   121 Ulan Road, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Twice bitten.... Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Chose this hotel for a recent visit to Mudgee. We looked online and were impressed by the pics. We booked a suite and thought what was advertised was what we would get. How wrong we were. The suite was spacious I give it that, but the furniture inside was dated and so were the bathroom facilities. It looked NOTHING like the pics. On the site. We decided not to let that cloud our judgement as we were made aware of the fact that it was under new management and that the rooms were being renovated. However, I would have appreciated if I had been told this when I booked. I certainly would not have paid what I did had I known and would have thanked them for their honesty and gone else where. Morning soon arrived and we all went to have showers etc. In one bathroom the shower head was broken and sprayed more water into your face,( as in directly into your eyes as it was shooting out sideways), than onto your body.
The second shower the shower head would not even stay in it's proper position and kept flopping back down so you had to end up holding it up while you washed yourself. Further more when it came time to brush our teeth we had the unfortunate instance of dealing with the basin tap from hell. You see it had a peculiar gift of dowsing you with water because there was no gentle stream. It was either off or a torrent of water came at you resulting in a drenching. The food we had for the breakfast was not the worst I've had but nothing to write home about.
The only thing that we really appreciated were the staff as we were very well received and they were always courteous and helpful.
Although we were far from impressed we later laughed about it and decided that it must have been a one off thing and that there must have been some sort of mix up for them to rent out a room in such a state for such a high rate and left it at that.
Well....
We found ourselves in Mudgee yet again over this long weekend and thought we'd give them the benefit of the doubt and booked a room. The room was clean and the fit out acceptable.
We slept very well until I woke up in the morning to strange sounds coming from the pipes. So I decided to get up and take a shower.
I walked into the bathroom bleary eyed and turned on the hot water tap and waited for the hot water. Unfortunately that's exactly what I kept doing for the almost 10 minutes until I came to sickening realization that there was not hot water and not likely to be any for quite some time as in not that all. At this point I woke up my partner to come check, just incase I had some how taken leave of my senses and had overlooked anything. He also tried first the cold water...fine. Then the hot water...hmmm...still ice cold, funny that. He let it run with this expectant look of hope on his face, which eventually turned into a look of disbelief when he realized that there was in fact no hot water.
When I rang reception, I let her know what room number we were in then she preceded to let us know that there would be someone there to fix it. What irked me is that she could have looked up on the pc and realize that we were going to be checking out that morning. So having someone come to correct the problem later that day was really of no help to us. To add insult to injury we were still charged the full rate.
In short I gave them two chances and they failed miserably both times. Great staff but they are undeserving of their 4 star accreditation in my opinion.

Room Tip: Don't necessarily trust photos published on the net. Verbally check with staff if you are gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaHotels, Owner at Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
We did have a problem with a boiler failing on the long weekend for which we obviously apologise. We repaired the problem as quickly as possible (we had to call in staff from home to fix this particular problem) and allowed the guest to extend their checkout so that they could shower. The bathrooms in question are scheduled for renovation in the next few weeks. We would say that all the room furniture has been replaced in the last two years and that the photos on the site are accurate. We are sorry for the inconvenience and are working hard with our upgrades to eliminate any such issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    42
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
39
36
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

We had our ceremony & reception here and it was perfect.

Our compliments go to Parklands Resort Chef Simon Quick for the sumptuous food and & to his staff for the flawless service provided to our guests on the day.

Many of guests stayed overnight and had no complaints. They enjoyed a generous breakfast in the newly refurbished & tastefully decorated dining room.
 
Our sincere thanks goes to Leianne Murphy, Functions Manager at Parklands for her tireless attention to detail, accomodating all our requests and for making the process seamless from the start of our wedding planning right through to the end.

If you are planning to hold any kind of function we wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend Leianne & Parklands Resort. 
 
Stephen & Caterina Witherow

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed the long weekend with the family. Rooms are huge and the grounds were well kept and inviting. Staff were welcoming and dinner was very good. As some have said air con was noisy. There was a concert on the Saturday but it did not cause any disturbance. It is a good location to explore Mudgee but being out of town much more relaxing and plenty of room for the kids to run. We stayed here a couple of years back and a lot of work has been done since. Quite expensive but it was LW. Would come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Great place near town and the wineries and amazing grounds. A lot of work happening but did not disturb us at all. Huge rooms and modern bathroom which had just been finished. AC noisy. Friendly service and pretty good value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Great place to stay with kids. Huge rooms. Was great to be able to relax after a busy day touring around mudgee. To be able to have drinks and nibbles on the verandah while watching the kids run around on the large grassed area and play tennis was fantastic. The bathrooms are a bit dated but the staff informed us that they are in the process of renovating them.
We found all staff to be warm and friendly. Beautiful gardens and just so much space, you really feel you have "got away"! Looking forward to staying again in September for the Mudgee wine festival!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Definetely not a 4 star resort. Desperate need of an upgrade. Have stayed here twice before but it has detioriated. Bathrooms old, air cond noisy, noise from adjoining rooms loud. Outside areas dirty. Pool good but not enough chairs and no tables to leave your towels and belongings. Sauna broken. Breakfast very basic. Arrive early and there might be little muffins and raison toast left, because they do not replenish once they run out. Reception staff cold and rude. Didn't try the restaurant as the menu looked dated and after breakfast didn't inspire us to give it a try. Our neighbours had room service and the scraps were scattered over the verandah by animals scavenging till noon the next day from the night before. Reception staff and cleaners stepping over them, ignoring them. New management are supposed to be fixing place up but we would never go back. Too many other great places to stay with better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Room was huge, quiet leafy outlook at back opening onto a veranda, however it's just one long public area rather than a private one. Stayed two days, room never made up, bathroom cheap and shabby, spa bath dosn't work. Noisy aircon. When mentioning room wasnt made up when checking out staff didn't apologise. Breakfast closes at 9. Not at all what you would expect for $250 a night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaHotels, Owner at Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Parklands is recently under new ownership and currently undergoing a major renovation to address areas of guest concern, including bathroom upgrades and air conditioning. We aim to provide a high quality guest experience and are obviously disappointed that in this case we were not successful. However, our regular guests are very happy with the improvements we are making and we will continue to improve on all areas of facilities and service. For example, pool, sauna and breakfast have all been addressed since this guest visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parklands Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Resort & Conference Centre

Address: 121 Ulan Road, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklands Resort & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Parklands Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.