We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
97 Market Street, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% OFF DINNER
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Perfect accommodation in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Room - For 10 days we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that is VERY SPACIOUS PLUS WITH HIGH CEILING, 2 lcd TV's and a spa bath, room is elegantly decorated and furnished, it really is a boutique hotel. A big plus is free internet and wifi which is perfect to keep everyone busy and entertained indoor!!!
The Service - Room was serviced daily with all attention given to every single detail, housekeeping team would literally give service with a smile and would anticipate what you will need, they're all lovely!
The Location - it is right in town with everything at your doorstep including the visitor info center, cafes and shops, there's even a park right across the street where my 3 year old son would love to hang around every morning.
The Food - I would say the hotel's restaurant is one of the best in Mudgee, featuring local food and wines Mudgee is famous for, whether you're staying in the hotel or not, it is definitely a must try to dine here, I just wish some staff could be as friendly to visitors as they are to locals.
We definitely enjoyed our stay at Cobb and Co and would love to be back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
67
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Last weekend my husband and I stayed at the Cobb & Co Court to celebrate my birthday. We purchased a coupon off Getaway Lounge and it was a very good deal. Even if we didn't have a voucher next time I would still stay at the Cobb & Co Court.The hotel is in a great location and has a great feel when you walk into the courtyard. The staff were very friendly and professional,and the restaurant had one of the best breakfasts I have ever tasted. The room was very large with a lounge and a spa bath and a good sized modern TV and very clean. We ate at the restaurant on our second night and the food was delicious and the reds to accompany each course were excellent. It was a relaxing and pleasant stay and I would highly recommend the Cobb & Co Court. If you have read my other reviews of other hotels you will find that I provide my opinions on the good and bad aspects of each place (I would love to be a hotel/restaurant critic) - for Cobb & Co Court I have nothing to fault. It was the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

A comfortable room in a nice hotel. Someone has spent a lot of time on every detail of the decore and it shows.
Really appreciated the wireless internet, and the cooked breakfast was very generous, it may have been the best bacon and eggs I have ever had.
We stayed in room 5.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I travel to Mudgee quite a bit for work and have stayed in alot of the hotels. The Cobb & Co Court is my first choice of places to stay.

While the restaraunt provides excellent food and a great variety of beers and wines, the rooms are clean and very comfortable, the staff are always very accomodating, its the building itself that I love. Hotels come and go, but when you get one with as much character as the Cobb & Co, you cant help but flash back in time to when Mudgee was first being settled. I'm sure it was an old stable - if the walls could talk, the stories they would tell...

Room Tip: There is a 2 bedroom suite that is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I had a two night child-free getaway in June 2011. The hotel room was lovely, well appointed, and exceptionally clean. The staff were distant but friendly enough. Given we were without children we were very keen to have lots of sleep. Unfortunately that wasn't possible. We had one of the deluxe rooms on the ground floor. We were kept awake until all hours with people who were eating in the restaurant (Wineglass Bar and Grill) smoking in the courtyard outside of our room, staff were banging around garbage bins and hosing them out at 7am in the morning right next to our bedroom window, and the floor from upstairs creaked whenever the guests in the upstairs room moved (which seemed to be alot!). So, not great if you are after a peaceful and sleepy getaway.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms upstairs NOT DOWNSTAIRS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
1,494 helpful votes 1,494 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This country boutique hotel with the long name is run like a motel with check-in done at the bistro counter & the staff juggling the hotel duties with dinner orders but don’t let these management decisions put you off on staying here. The refurbished colonial building offers guests an alternative to a motel room & KFC dinner.This hotel is definitely tourist-centered & caters to the city slickers from Sydney with its themed rooms to its modern dinning.

Room 4 is a Small Queen Room which has 1000 TC sheets, thick carpet, mounted LCD TV with Foxtel, high ceilings with stencils, reverse cycle aircon, free Wireless however nylon robes are never great. The bathroom was very well fitted with fun but flimsy looking knobs & pulleys from the old world but space restrictions mean there is the dreaded bath shower, but there was a rain shower head. There are good complimentary bathroom products. The Small Queen room is definitely a tight fit, i felt almost cheated paying so much for such a small room. Our stay had complimentary continental breakfast in the Wineglass Bar & Grill downstairs.

No staff available after 9pm when the restaurant closes. All rooms are located on the top floor overlooking the courtyard. This courtyard is lit up at night to decrease the creepy ghost factor in this old colonial building but the orange street light glow is not cute. The Cobb & Co is much more expensive than any of the other motels in town but is more unique with its colonial theme & restaurant. The Cobb & Co is located off the main city centre & is within walking distance to most of the towns shopping & points of interest. There is street parking next to the entrance & was free.

Is paying $200 for a small room in a country town worth it? I was expecting an overwhelming hotel experience but got city comfort instead which is an OK compromise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Cobb and Co for two weeks while in Mudgee on a work placement. This was the third time I have been a guest here and it is with much delight that I write of the consistently high level of quality and service offered at the Cobb and Co.

The rooms are very tastefully furnished with high-quality polished wooden beds, unique antique chairs with fine upholstery, and simple artworks; very fitting considering the hotel is in a 19th century heritage building. No outrageous colours - instead, whites/creams create a sophisticated and elegant retreat to retire to every evening. Without exaggeration, their's is the comfiest bed I have ever slept on!! Despite being an older building; the rooms are spotlessly clean and very well maintained (the walls in my room had recently received a fresh coat of paint; the fittings re-polished; and the televisions had been upgraded to flat Plasma screens in every room).

There are of course many fine restaurants and eateries to choose from in close proximity; but in my humble opinion, you will not find a finer and tastier meal in Mudgee than at The Wineglass (signature restaurant of the Cobb and Co) – with a range of flavoursome entrees, mains and desserts to choose from. A hearty cooked breakfast is included with the room tariff; with eggs cooked in your preferred style to perfection (along with other grilled goodies!). Coffee here is excellent too!

A special mention to hotel owner and restaurant proprietor Scott Tracey, along with his wonderful team, in particular Ben – who epitomise the essence of country-town hospitality with their warm welcomes and greetings every morning.

In brief, as far as I'm concerned, this beautiful boutique hotel is THE place to stay in if you're in Mudgee. You will feel right at home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel

Address: 97 Market Street, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel is your stylish home in the country.Situated in the heart of the Mudgee township you are a short stroll from Mudgee’s shops and cafes and just a short drive to the over 40 cellar doors dotted throughout the valley.With 16 rooms, including two self contained apartments, the Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.