We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour and go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipeclay pumphouse

Pipeclay pumphouse
Robert Stein Winery | Pipeclay Lane, Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 6373 3998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Mudgee
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour and go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Missed out on Saturday lunch here as they were booked out, but had breakfast on Sunday. It was one of those days that anyone in hospitality dreads. Staff shortage, coffee machine on the blink and a poor waiter that spent his whole time apologising. But heck it was Sunday and we weren't in a rush. When the food and extra staff arrived it was well worth the wait. The gnocchi was a highlight. Delish. Coffee machine was restored and complimentary ones offered but I was too full of the tea I had had instead. Returned around 2 to taste the wines at cellar door and took a punt on a table. We were in luck and so glad we could tuck in to some more great food. Rabbit tortellini and pork loin. Yum. Dessert was so hard to pick from even though there was only 4 choices. Would have loved a tasting plate but the 2 we chose, chocolate delice and strawberry tarte tatin hit the sweet tooth spot. Great food and service a credit to Mudgee.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Amazing food. We had a three course meal, but would go back for the digustation as each dish was excellent. The service was also great, our waiter was very friendly, attentive and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best foodie option for Mudgee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Only had breakfast here which was very good but have heard great reviews from friends who stopped for lunch and dinner also. Out of the 3 dishes - the scrambled eggs and wild mushrooms was the winner. Coffee was good - could be a little stronger for my taste but am sure they could accommodate. Staff were very friendly. Nice outlook over the dam and sculptures. Great fireplace makes it cosier and warmer for winter. Tried to book dinner but it was just too popular, so recommend booking in advance. Despite Mudgee being a foodie destination there are very few really good dining options - lets hope this is the start of a new trend....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Luckily we booked here for lunch- there was a party of over 20 people and we saw some unfortunate souls turned away as they didn't have a booking. The lunch menu is tapas style share plates. The food was beautifully presented and delicious and the device was lovely and attentive.
Some of the food like the ceviche seemed a little small for sharing. However between the six of us, we ordered about 7 dishes, a glass of wine each and desserts (we ordered all four desserts and shared them) we spent about $40 each and were all full.
The food was flavourful but you definitely pay for it. Approximately $18 a dish, the scallops came in threes working out to be $6 a scallop. I definitely recommend the beef fillet. As a group of girls we found most of the portion sizes adequate, though it might be different a story for guys. Would definitely come back to enjoy another meal here due to the high quality of the food. I think the dinner menu looks like it's better value - would love to come back and try it! This place is worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seriously Good Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had attempted to book for Saturday night but they had phone problems so we decided to go to the winery to try to book.

We went to the wine tasting area and the very helpful, classy matriarch recommended we hurry down to book before they closed for the afternoon.

We just made it but they were fully booked for Saturday They offered us a table for that evening (Friday). We accepted.

We took a cab from Parklands Resort (around $30 each way) which was just as well as they are very generous with their wine servings.

The food and service is very good. Artistically displayed and great combinations of flavour and texture. We started with a tomato consume with fresh herbs. Next course trout ceviche and rabbit tortellini. Mains were seared beef fillet and pork loin.

I asked if I could have the sorbet for desert as the main menu only had choices containing lactose. The waitress came back and said the chef said no as he was providing sorbet as a palate cleanser but he offered to prepare me a lactose free desert.

What appeared was a work of art. Caramelised strawberries and marsh mellows with rhubarb, home made sherbet with, from memory, a strawberry coulis. My partner had deconstructed orange and meringue pie. It was a lovely end to the meal.

Wines were perfectly matched.

My one suggestion for improvement is the table settings included a bread and butter plate but bread was not offered with the meal. I asked the waitress if they were just for decoration or could we order bread. She said she would see what she could do. She returned some time later with two slices of what appeared to be brioche. It had a very stale (I suspect thawed in oven) surface texture and the sweetness did not go with the meal. Please offer a fresh bread roll in future.

It was interesting the restaurant we went to the following night also did not have a fresh bread option.

The meal with wine cost us around $200 plus $60 taxi. Not for everyday, but a really great experience and I expect this venue will feature in the good food guide regional awards in the near future.

We went back to the vineyard the following day to pick up some more of the wine we tasted over dinner.

This restaurant will stimulate your senses at every level. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipeclay pumphouse also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to Pipeclay pumphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipeclay pumphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.