We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm evening in chilly Mudgee.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arbuckle's

Arbuckle's
4/84 Church St, Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 46 Restaurants in Mudgee
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A warm evening in chilly Mudgee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The chill of a cold Mudgee evening was warmed away by the friendly welcome we received on entering Arbuckle's restaurant last Saturday. The banter and explanation of the dinner menu and specials began an enjoyable evening. We waited for our starters while sipping a glass of the local bubbles and were shortly served a delicious pot of pate accompanied with Turkish bread and lavosh type crackers and a small tray of gently steamed scallops topped with crumbled prosciutto and caviar. We chose to have 2 courses because the size of starter and main more than adequately satisfied our appetites (but the desserts sounded tempting). We both chose lamb for our mains; my husband had lamb shank and I had rack of lamb. Although the shank was beautiful and tender, the lamb rack was overcooked but the dish as a whole was quite flavoursome. I did relay this to the waitperson who disappointingly did not appear concerned. And this 'fault' in the evening prevented us from rating it as an excellent overall experience. Cost wise, the restaurant offered a very reasonable '2 course for $40 'selection from the menu. Overall a lovely evening and hopefully the restaurant will address their response to an overcooked meal; perhaps complimentary coffees would have been appropriate? Would definitely consider a return visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waverton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great meals in a quirky restaurant..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The decor of Arbuckle's has an alluring quirkiness to it which id say is personified in the owners Peter & Ruth whom run the place also. The food was excellent & served within a reasonable time frame, we made friends with a neighbouring table of locals who appear to know all the restaurants in town & vouched for Arbuckle's popularity amongst the Mudgee residents. Thoroughly recommend the place & Ill be visiting again for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cooking with love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Arbuckles was the first restaurant we saw as we drove into Mudgee for our first visit ever on the long weekend. Well placed in Church Street the warm atmosphere struck us immediately. The food is great, anything cooked with love is. Front of house service excellent. After an indelible breakfast at the place we were staying at, Arbuckles $10 breakky special complete with organic eggs, short cut bacon and GREAT coffee was a welcome relief on our 2nd day, so much so we returned again on our 3rd day to standing room only, but not for long. Homely sophistication, warmth of service, great food, Arbuckles gets our vote!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umina beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mudgee's best for food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went to Arbuckles restaurant for dinner over june long weekend and found the food to be first class along with the service. Friendly atmosphere for families and couples. Highly recommend a visit. Also went there for breakfast which was excellent as well. Obviously a popular spot as the place was busy with happy people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sensational Breakfast, Great vibe, Perfect morning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a sensational breakfast at Arbuckles over the long weekend, great range of options on the menu, sensational coffee, amazing service by Peter and Ruth and staff, and great atmosphere! The food was delicious,hot and great combinations, and the iced chocolates kept the teenagers crying for more.
Arbuckles has a great, warm and friendly atmosphere....a must for anyone visiting or living in Mudgee. We'll be back!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arbuckle's also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to Arbuckle's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbuckle's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.