We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple pub food, great steaks that you can cook yourself.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Heifer

Red Heifer
Lawson Park Hotel | 1 Church St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
(02) 6372 2183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Mudgee
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple pub food, great steaks that you can cook yourself.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent value on a Monday night with two for one steaks- plus kids menu. Really warm cosy and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    59
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The reviews on this bar and grill were very good, however we found the food to be very poor.

My wife and I both ordered rump steak.

Mine was almost raw and my wife's was over cooked.

They have a cook your own option, so I'd suggest you take that up rather than pay the extra to have it cooked for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Busy place - mostly pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Friday, a winters night in Mudgee and a group from mixed origins (Cobar, Dubbo and Sydney), we decided to try the Red Heifer. Good decision.
The drinks were reasonably priced, there was a big crowd there and the eating area out the back was chock a block full. We managed to secure a table and a mixture of food was ordered.
We did turn the gas heater on the wall off, otherwise we would have slow roasted one side of our faces, but it was warm, just a bit too toasty for us sitting beside it.
The food was very good, especially the salmon. It was cooked beautifuylly, the crispy skin was delicious (not sure how they did it ?) and the sauce was great. There was one of us had the burger - very good and one had a steak, which was a little dry.
A great evening as the place has a great vibe, drinks reasonably priced and food was very good

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“FOOD GOOD BUT QUITE NOISY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our group of 12 liked the large choice of meals and the friendly staff. The only issue was that there was a lot of noise in the bistro area that our group found excessive. The outdoor covered area gets quite cool so the indoor area was quite crowded - even on a Sunday night.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“DaNZing with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We all wanted a few drinks before going back to our hotels after dining out as this restaurant was fully booked out. It being a chilly evening, we ran inside to a beautiful fire going - the biggest fireplace I've ever seen. The staff were friendly, and they had great music - one man band. He was fantastic and played anything - you only needed to ask. People were well behaved, if anything, I would say we were the nosiest!!! Don't tell my children that over 45's can be noisey lol. Heard everyone say their meals were lovely, that they thought the place was warm and welcoming. One of the best hotels I've been to in a long time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Heifer also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to Red Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Heifer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.