We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dancing Goat Cafe

Dancing Goat Cafe
104 Church Street, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 53 Restaurants in Mudgee
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My favourite thing about the Dancing Goat Cafe is the breakfast menu. The array of pancakes that are available to order is incredible; from banana and pecan to caramel with snickers, and they're all excellent!

The downfall of the cafe comes in their lack of homemade sweets, I'm a sucker for a fresh cake or slice, and although the cakes available look exquisite, they are clearly not homemade.
Also you'd want to cross your fingers while choosing your table, and hope to get one of the nicer waitresses. While some of the staff are gorgeous, there is one in particular that has been very rude to me as a customer. A blunt 'what do you want?' is not a great way to be served!

Overall I'd rate it about a 7.5/10, mostly because of their breakfast menu and the interest in the cafe name.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Coffee in Mudgee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Dancing Goat's coffee is 10/10. Best coffee in Mudgee and we tried the lot! The staff are delightful and most helpful about local attractions.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laidley, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stopped in here for breakfast and were very pleased with the menu. With our dietary requirements, the staff were most helpful and accommodating and produced beautiful and tasty food. I would recommend this cafe for its ambience, exceptional service and great food. Well priced menu too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, Great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stopped into this cafe on our road trip and had a fantastic experience with all aspects - service, food, coffee & cakes. Would definitely recommend this cafe to others!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diamond of the greater west!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My colleague and I were on a road trip further west, and decided to stop in Mudgee for some lunch.
We noticed a sign saying 'Dancing Goat Cafe' on the road into the middle of town, and it caught our eye so we decided to stop. It would have been around lunch time and the tables outside were being cleared up from what looked to be a busy period. Inside was nice and airconditioned, the decor was obviously freshly done and looked nice and modern.

We ordered a club sandwich and a toasted turkey/cranberry sandwich, and a latte. The coffee came first and was the best coffee I've had outside Sydney CBD. Beautiful crema and latte art, and delicious coffee below. The barista obviously knew what she was doing! Goat milk isn't my preference, but I liked that there was the option of having goat milk in your coffee too.

Our food came out not too long after. It was just us, some ladies with their children, and an older gentleman in the cafe when we were there.
The club sandwich was HUGE and came with chips. It was the most impressive sandwich I've seen. The bacon was nice and thick, plentiful salad and the bread was super-thick cut...gorgeous. My turkey sandwich was so much more than I expected it to be. Stuffed with fresh lettuce and tomato, a good ratio of cranberry sauce:turkey, and gooey brie. The bread itself was toasted, rather than the whole thing being squished flat in a toaster press (which is what I thought it would be). It was fresh, filling, and so tasty.

The service was top class, not just with us but we noticed the ladies working there was so attentive and kind to all the other patrons too.

I would recommend this cafe to anybody who is travelling to, or through, Mudgee. I know next time I'm out on that side of the Divide I will be making a beeline!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dancing Goat Cafe also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to Dancing Goat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dancing Goat Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.