We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than the horatio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winning Post Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Winning Post Motor Inn to your Saves list
Winning Post Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 Church St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“much better than the horatio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Luckily, I did not read the reviews before I booked in. My main concern was internet access and it worked perfectly. I had a great night's sleep and the room was clean. There was a bath which the horatio did not have and it was in a good location. My only gripe (which is minor) is that the drinks in the bar were quite expensive. I should have gone down the road to the pub.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
21
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Where to begin?? One of the bathroom towels was disgusting! Were they long brown streaks of makeup ... or blood ... or .... ohhhh don't even go there. YUK!!! Replaced in a perfunctory manner ... if it had happened to a visitor at my house I would have been mortified and apologised profusely.
Parking is not "allocated" so after going out for a meal we had a fair walk in the rain from the nearest available space to our room.
One of the two in-house channels wasn't working (and it happended to be a movie we wanted to watch). Rang reception to find out if the problem was our room or their player. Twenty minutes later still no channel and reception hadn't rung back. When I rang again I was told to "play with the wires at the back of the TV".
And so to bed ... just don't look too closely at those dodgy looking wires on the electric blanket control. And all goes well till 5am when the alarm goes off ... and NO we didn't set it.
Asked to see someone in management when checking out the moring but no one available. Handed over a summation of the problems and asked for a follow-up phone call ... it is now a week later and, surprise, no word.
This motel is way overpriced with a poor attitude to its customers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
In response to this guests review, I would like to clarify a few things. After discussing the night in question with our receptionist that was on duty, we beleive some of the details mentioned were over exagerated. The towels were replaced promptly. Due to our motel being two levels, we do not have allocated parking and we are not able to control the weather.
It is unfortunate that the tv recpeption was not of our usual standard. As it was an extremely busy night, there was some delay in responding to the guests request. There was a simple misunderstanding with the reference to the cable as it was meant to check if the coax cable was firmly pushed into its corresponding point at the back of the TV. The electric blanket was replaced the next day, after it had been brought to the attention of staff. We do profoundly apologise for the alarm going off so early, but I was unaware of this until I read the guests review on this site. We (the management) were unavailable at the time , but as soon as this was brought to our attention and we had fully investigated all circumstances, we sent off a personal response to the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

I have stayed at this motel on more than one occassion as I left my booking to the last minute. Even though the staff are very nice, this place is extremely shabby and the rooms really do need a major overhaul. The first time we stayed the room looked like it had last been refurbished in the 70's and it just didn't feel very clean. The room also had an odd smell, the shower leaked which was extremely annoying and it was just unpleasant being in the room.
The breakfast however is very nice with a variety of food being available. However for the money they charge on long weekends you are better off staying at another location and enjoying the breakfast at one of the many cafes or bakeries in Mudgee.

  • Liked — The nice breakfast
  • Disliked — The shabby dated rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

A group of us stayed at this motel for a weekend away. The best I can say about it is in a good location and was reasonably quiet. The rooms are extremely dated and shabby at best. At $150-$160 a night it is extremely overpriced. Their are much better options in Mudgee that are in the same price bracket and although they may be a little out of town- worth the taxi fare!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dated rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

The motels in Mudgee were mostly built in the 70’s and are showing a little wear and tear. This hotel is no exception, the rooms are a good size but the bathrooms are quite small, with cheap fittings (house grade rather than heavy duty hotel grade). The furniture is rather cheap and dated. We paid $A158 a night including breakfast. This is not the most expensive hotel in Mudgee, but in the top range.

The pool looked OK but it was too cold for us to use it, the tennis court was very rundown and had a rather tattered net. There was a very old basketball ring, which was still usable. Ask for a room upstairs as the rooms downstairs would be noisier with cars coming and going. It is not worth paying for a bigger room (one of our friends did) as it is the same size, but with a bath added.

But having said that, the staff are friendly, the room was clean, although there was no handtowel, and the pillowslips were not changed. The breakfast was really delicious, with very fresh eggs and bacon, nice fruit juice and a range of cereals and yoghurts.

There is wine tasing in the bar, and the hotel has a resaurant.

The hotel is within walking distance of the town, restaurants, local club and café’s. If you go to Mudgee we recommend the local bakery, which makes terrific pies, cakes and pizzas. The noodle take away was good, but the soldier’s club bistro was a bit disappointing. The local hotel has a great cook your own steak, and the steak in Mudgee is really country, melt in your mouth. Fantastic. Next time we go we are going to bring some beef back to Sydney with us.

In Mudgee the wineries are friendly, helpful and have a variety of wines. This is one area where there are no tasting fees. We found some great wine at $A10 – and bought some other wine at $A35, the range to try and buy is extensive. Steer clear of any wine that has a very alcoholic or chemical taste, as there are better out there. Logan winery, the first one you come to if driving from Sydney, has a great view and good wines and coffee. The cheese shop is also worth a visit, and has a nice café. Petersons has very knowledgeable staff, and always has great wines. One winery out of town, but really worth a visit as they basket press is Thistle Hill winery, great shiraz!

Friends of ours payed a similar price per night to us, and hired a 2 bedroom cottage with a great view, deck and BBQ. That is what we will do next time, I can handle making the bed and staying a bit out of town if the trade off is a wonderful view, great night sky and a few wombats and kangaroos around. No matter where you stay in Mudgee you need a car to get around to the wineries anyway.

So my advice is that if you just need one night, the Winning Post will be OK, but longer than that there are better options in Mudgee.

  • Liked — location and great breakfast
  • Disliked — shabby, low quality furniture and fittings, maid service could have been better
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winning Post Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winning Post Motor Inn

Address: 101 Church St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winning Post Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To experience warm country hospitality, a wide range of quality accommodation, bed and breakfast options, and all the facilities required by discerning guests; let the Winning Post Motor Inn be your host for your stay in Mudgee. Ideally located in Mudgee, you're just a short drive from Mudgee's many wineries, or a leisurely stroll to its cafes, shops & restaurants. Relax by the pool or enjoy true country hospitality in our fully licensed restaurant. Whether you're having a romantic weekend away or conducting business in the area, the Winning Post Motor Inn will take care of everything so you can enjoy all the region has to offer. From single businessmen and reps, to couples and families; short stays or long term accommodation; let us share the friendliness and service that is the Winning Post Motor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Winning Post Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winning Post Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winning Post Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.