We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building, easy walk into town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perry Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Perry Street Hotel to your Saves list
Perry Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Perry & Gladstone Streets, Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly de Russie Suites Mudgee)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building, easy walk into town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights in a studio room as that was all that was available when we booked a few months before. Our room 101 was next to reception and unfortunately no sleep in for us as reception opens at 7am and guests understandably need to check out early. So, we could hear all the conversations as well as hearing what was going on in room 102. There is a door (locked) which connects the rooms.
The room has 3 windows, one of which opens to the street and you can hear the noise from the pub across the road. No screens on the window but flyspray was under the sink. For privacy you need to draw the blinds.
The breakfast was nicely presented in a cardboard box. Museli, 2 jams, 4 pats of butter and 4 slices of supermarket bread. We came prepared and bought our own soughdough bread, after reading other reviews. Would be just as easy to walk into town and have breakfast/brunch at one of the many cafes.
The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable. I was expecting better quality linen but it was clean. The price of the room was very reasonable. Staff very friendly and professional. Car parking on site but absolutely no cover.

Room Tip: Book a room on the first floor. Room 101 very close to reception, so noisy in the morning as people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
37
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a Mudgee local, I have driven past the hotel many times. What a wonderful treat to have a little stay-cation in such a refined hotel. Perfect renovation of a classic old building. Comfortable, yet stylish and elegant. A little quirky, and lots of attention to detail.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A boutique hotel close to the main street but enough distance away to be quiet. The room was fantastic with a wonderfully comfortable bed. Slippers & a kimono were provided for your comfort while you relaxed on the lounge. Complimentary snacks (yes there were some that were complimentary) were provided as well as a wonderful light breakfast. We only stayed one night & were sad that we hadn't booked in for longer. We will definitely visit Mudgee again & our overnight accommodation will be at this Hotel.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be great. We had one on the first floor & I did wonder if the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

When you walk into a beautifully restored historic building in a great country town, receive a lovely smile and warm welcome, enter your gorgeous room with every inclusion you could hope for and have a blissful nights sleep in an amazingly comfortable king bed you're a happy tourist!
Perry Street Hotel is generous in its hospitality, it's incredibly well designed rooms, the array of complimentary goodies and the owner's attention to the little details that make your stay perfect. Congratulations Perry Street and all the best for your newly acquired hotel, can't wait to see it too.

Room Tip: Our room was cnr top right, very quiet and nice town view with easy access to street front balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

First time visitors to Mudgee and Central NSW, we were thrilled with the Perry St Hotel. It became our base for exploring the delights of Mudgee town and our haven at the end of our days of exploring the region. We spent 3 nights at Perry St, which is a beautiful restoration of the old Mudgee Mechanics Institute. The magnificent facade has been maintained and the interiors are subtle and welcoming, with the old timber beams, staircase and high raked roof and the comfortably elegant rooms - with lots of added extras including snacks and breakfast box. If you don't like Muesli suggest you bring your own cereal and it would be good if the Brekkie Box also included a piece of fruit. I spent a lovely, warm afternoon enjoying a cup of T2 tea and a magazine on the wide front balcone, with its magnificent views to the hills surrounding the town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the staff are warm and helpful and it is great to be able to wander into town in the evening to enjoy the wine bars and restaurants - check out Elton's and Roth's Wine Bar. Great atmosphere and food.

Room Tip: 2nd floor at the back is away from the street and accessible by lift or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The Perry Street Hotel has found the perfect balance between its elegant history and a sophisticated modern hotel. They have retained the look of the old facade, the high magnificent ceiling and old timber floors, inviting the imagination to embrace generations of activity.

Beautifully fitted out rooms have been styled for comfort and include the little extra's that are not even found in the best five star hotels. The rooms are not large but are comfortable for two people and well priced.

I thoroughly enjoyed the character filled old staircase, ceiling and sitting on the grand front balcony over-looking Perry Street, with a cup of tea and friends. The Perry Street Hotel has graced the past and now the present with elegance and sophistication. I will definitely be returning to Mudgee and staying in the Perry Street Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room toward the front and Sunday night was garbage collection night, so we did hear the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booker Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We spent 3 nights last week at this recently renovated B&B and would give it top marks for everything you would expect from this style of accommodation.
Close to all the cafes and attractions in town and the big list of winerys close by.
We have read that the hotel opposite could get a bit noisy at night but we did not notice it at all. ( but we did stay mid week)
Breakfast is supplied each day, but if you do not museli, you should take your own cereral
Being regular visitors to Mudgee, we have discovered our new preferred accommodation place.
Graham

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Perry Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perry Street Hotel

Address: Cnr Perry & Gladstone Streets, Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly de Russie Suites Mudgee)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Perry Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 block from Mudgee CBD. Perry Street Hotel( A Fox and Co Hotel ) offers 13 suites, incorporating standard,studio, 1 bedroom Junior & Junior Spa, 2 bedroom interconnecting family suites and the Perry Suite (penthouse suite). Built within the historic 1865 "Mechanics Institute:, the property is a self contained, totally non-smoking apartment suite hotel decorated in a modern style with a German/Berlin influence. The suites all have luxurious king bed, flat screen TV, Austar, complimentary minibar snacks, kitchen, some suites have a balcony, bath or spa, shower, luxury amenities. A complimentary continental breakfast is included to start your day.**The property is totally non-smoking** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Perry Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perry Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.