We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful heritage getaway a perfect couples escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forgandenny House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mudgee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forgandenny House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Forgandenny House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
17 Short Street | PO Box 962, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Mudgee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful heritage getaway a perfect couples escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for the weekend mid December. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Greeted with a welcoming friendly smile and hospitality that made it feel inviting and homely. Only worried for a second as we are a young couple and this was our first stay in a bed and breakfast. Our nerves and privacy issues were suddenly eased when walking through this gorgeous old heritage cottage with interact detailed high ceilings and vast space that you just don't see in the houses and homes of today.Our room was detailed and decorated from the option of summer or winter robes and slippers to the antique jewerly boxes and collection of un-aged novels. Our favourite moment would have to be breakfast. We sat down eagerly to the freshest professionally cut and presented selection of fruit only to be further impressed with the bacon ,poach eges, gorgeously cooked mushrooms ,asparagus and peeled seasoned and roasted tomato. That all just melted in our mouths a feast my own mother couldnt capture or create. Forgandenny ticks every box with excellent service, gorgeous garden views and comfort. Along with the laughs and stories we shared with the infectiously friendly Robbie and Errol I would highly recommend this to anyone and will defentially go out of my way to return and catch up with our new friends and affordable luxourious holiday haven.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
55
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Ronnie and Errol make you feel like a local in seconds!
Nothing is a problem for them
Quiet with only 3 rooms, and while you devour your delicious fresh fruit and country fare, swap tales with the house guests and Robbie!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here on the first weekend of November. The garden was heady with the perfume of roses, delightful garden. Excellent home cooked breakfast. Attention to details like delicious afternoon cakes & cookies a plus. The owners are knowledgeable and kind. After our recommendation some friends have already booked to stay. Great for romance and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Forgandenny every year since 2000 and have enjoyed every moment. Robbie and Errol always make us feel very welcome, it's almost like visiting relatives. We usually choose the Blue Room but sometimes get to stay in the Queen suite. The house and gardens are well maintained, and there is also a tennis court (not that I've ever felt the need to use it). Mudgee is a delightfully unspoilt country town (no traffic lights, but we did get held up at a roundabout for about 30 seconds!), and the CBD is within easy walking distance. There are numerous places to eat and drink, and many shop windows display produce from the local wineries. Errol recommended Walter Wines last year and we bought an excellent 2009 Shiraz, but it was unfortunately "temporarily" closed this year. Our favourite winery currently is Robert Stein.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A team of us stay with Robbie and Errol each year in fact I would say we move into Forgandenny each year for a long weekend. Robbie puts out the welcome mat and we feel completely at home and Robbie is family. A delighful house with character and a great sense of history. Always a great weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lovely Federation house in well manicured garden offered us a delightful 2 day break from Sydney for two nights in September 2012. Our hosts, Errol and Robbie were very warm and welcoming and gave us plenty of information about the area and restaurants. The rooms are beautifully decorated in the stylel of the house. There is a private lounge with a log fire in the evenings. The best feature though were the full English breakfasts, great presentation, piping hot and simply delicious - almost didn't need to eat for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stay at this wonderful B&B once or twice a year. Our stays with Robbie have always been of the highest standard and a lot fun. The rooms are comfortable and quiet - perfect!

Location is great and Mudgee is a wonderful destination.

Room Tip: We prefer the "Blue Room" at the back of the house - a little quieter and there is a secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.4 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
1.1 mi away
The Lodge - Mudgee
The Lodge - Mudgee
#3 of 10 in Mudgee
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
5.0 mi away
Rosby Guesthouse
Rosby Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Mudgee
5.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forgandenny House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forgandenny House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Short Street | PO Box 962, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forgandenny House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.