We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Mudgee Brewing Company

The Mudgee Brewing Company
4 Church Street, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
263726726
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Mudgee
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Music was fantastic however the food, service and cleanliness of the restaurant was extremely disappointing. I would return for the music only. The management need to train staff in what is good customer service and how to deliver it as they have a good product, great beer and wine list but everything else lets them down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    91
    26
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
263 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“This is where to go when in Mudgee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have returned to this restaurant four times now. We have had the fresh scones twice!!! Do not miss them and we've had lunch twice. The fish and chips are delicious as is the vegetable stack. All my companions enjoyed their meals. The tasting plate of brewed beers is great value. Service can be hit and miss, friendly but not sure how they would cope with a full restaurant. You can sit outside as well. Great fire in winter and they don't scrimp on wood. They get some good bands both local and visitors which would be good too. Wendy Matthews coming soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best night I have had in a Brewpub. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lucky us -- we hit town on a Sunday night....

Me? I'm an alternative indie-rock or electronica kinda guy, and I like Country Rock like, erm, I just dont...

However.... take one small town brewery, fill all the tables with punters all facing the stage, add in some craft on tap and you are onto A Winner. Wonderful night with the aforementioned Country Rock singer in the corner, and harmonic player adding in every now and then. Surreal atmosphere.

Food was from a limited menu, and I ordered the stuffed chicken breast @ $24 and was expecting to be let down...not so!!!! Haute Cuisine no less. Superb. Best meal of our trip.

Onto the beer.... a limited range on tap, Middies $4.40, schooners $5.50, 4 beers samplers $7. Pale, Hef, IPA, RIS. All beers good, if not outstanding. The Porter however, was something else and a real winner. One small quip.... there are no guest taps or guest bottles. As a regular, or for repeat visits, this might be a sticking point. Staff are more than friendly, if not beer geeks.

Quite simply put - the best night I have had in a Brewpub. Period.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great coffee, food and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We liked dinner so much we came back for coffee and to buy some of the breweries beers to take back home

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific food, very welcoming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Among many great restaurants in Mudgee, the Brewing Company stands out because of the relaxed atmosphere, really good food and friendly staff. We will go back to enjoy the food, the live music on weekends & the log fire on cold days.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mudgee Brewing Company also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to The Mudgee Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mudgee Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.