We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
3 Coorumbene Court | P.O. Box 606, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Mudgee B&B and Inns
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“5 Star excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here in March for 2 nights (sorry for the delay in reviewing!) and are a group of 7 workmates celebrating a "big" birthday of one of the girls. We absolutely loved the Mudgee Homestead, everything about our stay was fantastic. We were greeted by Sean who showed us around then prepared a divine afternoon tea for us of home made spice cake, freshly whipped cream, tea and coffee served on the verandah overlooking the property. Each room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and had an ensuite bathroom. All rooms had french doors that opened out onto the verandah. Breakfast each morning was cooked and served by Karen and was superb. We were made to feel very special here, and I think all 7 of us would easily have move in forever! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDWB, Owner at The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for posting the pictures. We are thrilled to hear that your group enjoyed your Mudgee getaway at our guesthouse. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the Mudgee Homestead experience. We look forward to possibly welcoming your group back in the not too distant future! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Every glowing review is true! If you have the opportunity to stay at the Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, just do it. Go! Hosts, Karen and Sean, are consummate professionals whose warmth, hospitality and attention to detail will provide you with a superior getaway. We went with two other couples for a long weekend and relished the whole experience. Imagine this:- sitting on the wide verandah at sunset, overlooking an expansive view which includes the tranquil Cudgegong River valley, vineyards, the occasional kangaroo and low slung mountain range beyond; spotlessly clean, generously proportioned bedrooms with walk-in wardrobes and ensuite bathrooms; five star quality breakfasts served in an elegant dining room; delicious home-baked afternoon teas; a barbecue eaten on the patio area under the stars; fun playing billiards, darts and more in the large downstairs games room.

Breakfast really deserves a special mention because of the outstanding quality. To begin, we chose from a broad selection of dishes beautifully presented on the long polished sideboard. These included divine homemade Bircher muesli, scrumptious apple chunks cooked with juicy plump sultanas, stewed rhubarb, fresh fruit salad and various cereals plus breads for toasting. We were then served cooked breakfasts that would equal the standards of leading hotels and cafes. Fresh eggs - be they fried, poached or scrambled - come courtesy of Karen and Sean's chooks that run freely within an enclosed nearby vineyard. One morning our egg, drizzled with a mustard vinaigrette, topped a layered presentation of potato rosti, smoked salmon and spinach. It was accompanied by grilled tomato.The following day our scrambled eggs on local sourdough toast were served with crispy mustard-glazed bacon and mushrooms. Throughout these breakfasts, Sean served us with freshly made, piping hot tea and coffee.

We loved our stay at the Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse and really look forward to our return.

Room Tip: All rooms, except a considerably larger internal room, open onto the verandah via double doors. Corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDWB, Owner at The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
What a wonderful review! We certainly appreciate the efforts of all of our guests who take the time to post a review -- thank you very much! We are thrilled to hear that your group enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to create memorable experiences for all of our guests and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mudgee Homestead on your next trip to the Mudgee Region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Easter long weekend was our second time at the Mudgee Guesthouse and it was even better than last time! Sean and Karen are amazing hosts and the afternoon tea on the porch is just amazing. Get in early because this place fills up quickly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDWB, Owner at The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit. Thank you for also providing us with first-hand accounts of some new experiences in the region -- bunny races, dune buggies, etc. It sounds like you had a wonderful time in the Mudgee Region! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mudgee Homestead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It seems that everyone has been to Mudgee and knows the best place to stay but, with the aid of Tripadvisor, we have found it.

The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse is less than ten minutes from the town centre on a graded side lane off the main Ulan/Cassiis road (one access point is opposite the Petersons winery entrance and the other opposite Huntington Estate - what better options could you want ?).

Operated by Karen and Sean, Mudgee Homestead is well-appointed, comfortable and professionally run, providing a superior accommodation experience at a fair price, with warm personal touches and small details that make guests feel welcome.

The property is purpose-built with seven spacious double ensuite rooms opening onto a wraparound verandah and, being sited on a hillside, has sweeping 180 degree views over a western panorama of low mountains and greenery in the Cudgegong River valley. Rooms are
inidividually and tastefully decorated and include walk-in wardrobe spaces.

There is a billiards/games area in the large undercroft, a plush dining room and large, comfortable drawing room well stocked library and TV (if you must). Kangaroos appear in the garden each morning and afternoon to size up the guests.

Breakfast offerings are comprehensive and cooked choices, fresh and delicious, change daily.
Individual requests are also catered for. Afternoon tea is available daily, yum. There is an outdoor pizza oven used on Friday nights. Dinner may also be provided on Saturdays when the house is full.

The Homestead is located within very close range of most of the leading Mudgee cellar doors and Karen can provide much useful information, recommendations and contacts. The estate also produces its own line of negroamaro-based wine for sale to guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDWB, Owner at The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved the position of the Guesthouse overlooking the valley. Hosts were very attentive, room was of a good standard and breakfast delicious, Mudgee is a gem of a town and we will definitely be back. Would probably recommend this guesthouse at non-peak times as I think it may get a bit rowdy during Easter and grape harvest time..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDWB, Owner at The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your midweek stay with us. You will have to come and stay on a weekend next time -- we can assure you it will be just as peaceful! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have visited the Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse for the most recent and previous two Easters and can only describe it as "great, great, great".

On arrival you are greeted by hosts Karen and Sean to a lovely guesthouse located on the side of a small mountain in the Mudgee region. It is surrounded by fields and provides great views over Mudgee. The guesthouse has seven rooms so the atmosphere is personal and friendly with nicely appointed rooms.

After arrival a great afternoon tea is provided by Karen with the best home cooked cake you could wish for. Breakfast each morning is a very well presented sideboard of cereals, fruit salad, etc., followed by a delightful dish cooked by Karen and which was different each of the three mornings we were there.

Dinner is provided in house on one night by Janelle, a local chief who cooked a very enjoyable three course for the 13 guests staying over the Easter weekend.

Put simply, love this place. It is extremely well presented, the hosts are great and amenities, meals and everything is more than just great. Enjoyed the place so much we booked for next Easter as we were leaving on Easter Monday after our last stay and am looking forward to going back again..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDWB, Owner at The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review. It gives us such pleasure to look after our guests and we are always thrilled to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for being such a loyal supporter of the Mudgee Homestead! We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Best place in Mudgee! Service was absolutely wonderful, the owners are sooo friendly, kind and helpful, food was F-A-B-U-L-O-S, everything was fresh, home made, and the afternoon cakes were 'to die for'. Really!
Rooms were comfortable and clean, with a veranda entrance that gave us magnificent views, and where we could observe the kangaroos, have our afternoon tea or a glass of sherry. Nights are so quiet and dark, it took us by surprise, good surprise. It was just wonderful. That's living!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDWB, Owner at The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings from Mudgee and thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to making your next stay at the Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse just as memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse

Address: 3 Coorumbene Court | P.O. Box 606, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-TIME WINNER & HALL OF FAME INDUCTEE -- INLAND NSW TOURISM AWARDS -- BEST HOSTED ACCOMMODATION -- Nestled on the flanks of Mt. Buckaroo, our purpose-built guesthouse is ideally situated on 40 tranquil acres only 5 minutes from town. The guesthouse boasts seven delightful en-suited bedrooms, with most featuring French doors which open onto our spacious verandah, offering the area’s most spectacular panoramic views of the Mudgee Valley and surrounding vineyards. The guesthouse also features a formal dining room, fireside lounge, billiard lounge and a lovely BBQ area overlooking our small vineyard. Feast upon indulgent breakfasts, leisurely afternoon teas on the verandah and elegant chef-prepared weekend dinners. Enjoy our intimate boutique-style accommodation -- the perfect venue for weekend getaways with friends, special celebrations, romantic escapes, family reunions and small corporate functions."...A terribly easy, and sumptuous place to come 'home' to, with quality service at every turn." Australian Gourmet Traveller Wine“…the ideal place to unwind…" The Sunday Telegraph"This would have to be one of Mudgee’s best addresses" The Sun-Herald ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.