We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service and ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Secreto

El Secreto
Calle de Alfonso VIII, 81 | 16001, Cuenca, Spain
678 611 301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 114 Restaurants in Cuenca
Price range: $15 - $43
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: El restaurante «El Secreto»es un sitio con encanto donde se puede degustar en un ambiente relajado, la gastronomía típica conquense, además de ensaladas, tapas, carnes y pescado de la gastronomía actual española. Disponemos de dos salones, con capacidad para 30 personas cada uno de ellos, uno está situado en planta a pie de calle y el otro está en una planta baja.Hacemos menús del día para grupos, comidas especiales para vegetarianos, celiacos…Comidas y Cenas del presupuesto que dispongan, nos adaptamos a sus necesidades. «El Secreto» está situado en la calle Alfonso VIII, 81 una de las calles más coloristas y transitadas por el turista, en pleno casco antiguo frente a los Túneles de Alfonso VIII y a escasos 100m de la catedral. Único lugar donde poder ver “desde dentro” los RASCACIELOS DE SAN MARTÍN y donde además podrás disfrutar de la auténtica gastronomía conquense. «El Secreto» está emplazado en un edificio que forma parte de una arquitectura conquense muy particular denominada «Rascacielos de San Martín», caracterizada por ser parte de las viviendas civiles más altas de Europa hasta el desarrollo de la arquitectura del hormigón, siendo levantadas con piedra, madera, argamasa y yeso. La altura media ronda las diez plantas (unos 35 metros sobre el nivel de la calle) y para alcanzarla, cada casa se apoya, además de en la risca trasera, en las viviendas laterales, dando lugar a edificios de dos niveles: tres o cuatro plantas para la calle Alfonso VIII y de ocho a doce hacia el Barrio de San Martín.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, service and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

When in cuenca, best to avoid the tourist traps and big squares if you're looking for good and friendly service. This place is easy to get to, we had a lovely three course meal - you must get the venison burger, chocolate croquettes, cheesecake...and wash it all down at the end with a good cup of coffee.

Both of the waitresses there were very friendly and helpful and also spoke some English.

The views are of the stunning cliff faces that cuenca are known for.

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    99
    40
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Cuenca's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

A very insignificant door will lead you into this small but perfectly formed narrow eatery and as you head towards the back the full length window with views to die for awaits you.
The place only has a few tables but the food is amazing! The staff are very obliging and friendly and in the 4 weeks we were in Spain, this place stands out as the best!
The lamb and the venison I can personally recommend and the salads are huge!
Go early unless you book for lunch or dinner!
Well worth the money, take it from this very fussy foodie!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

we travelled as a party of 4 and decided to eat in el secreto.
the Food served was regional specialaties including venison.
service was extremely efficiant and our waiter gave us explanations on the food served. it was all presented to a very high standard and the food itself was amazing. Whilst not the cheapest food around it was well worth it for a special treat.
4 starters 4 mains and 3 desserts with a bottle of quality wine for 116 euros. we'd definatly eat here again if we went back

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This time the term 'little gem' is appropriate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

You go to a new place and take your life in your hands when it comes to selecting a half decent restaurant; even with Trip A, it's a bit of a lottery unless you manage to find a place with a good 4.5 average ( even then, it can be a risk!). But not if you choose El Secreto - nice name by the way!

The term 'little gem' is bandied about on TA quite a bit, not always wisely, but this place certainly is. It's charming, has a great traditional feel about it, the staff are friendly and attentive, it has wonderful views (through a single window but still worth it) and the food is delicious, with specials of deer which was very very tasty.

The cost, for two including a decent bottle of wine, around €90; a bit pricey but well worth it.

Definite recommendation!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Secret in Cuenca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were in Cuenca for one rainy night, staying in the local Parador. We walked into town to see about dinner at this place. We stayed only for a drink and olives at the bar. Unfortunately, the menus, both online and at the door of the restaurant, were not current. Additionally, because of the rainy night, the restaurant was empty.

My guess is that this is a lovely place. However, I think we caught it on an "off" night, and got disoriented by the menu changes.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Secreto also viewed

Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
 
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
 

Been to El Secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Secreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.