We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Parador de Cuenca to your Saves list
Parador de Cuenca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This converted convent is situated across the gorge from Cuenca old town, with easy access to it across a metal bridge spanning the gorge. As to be expected from a convent, the rooms were small with small windows and felt quite spartan, but I guess fitted in with the history of the building. We had a lovely view across to Cuenca. The dining hall was quite grand. Parking was difficult, especially since we accidentally arrived during the fiesta San Mateo, as there was limited parking at the parador.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    176
    49
    17
    2
See reviews for
67
281
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this hotel which is in a beautiful location over-looking the 'casas colgadas' of Cuenca. Just a short walk across the metal bridge to the old town with plenty of bars and restaurants and interesting streets to wander. The rooms with a view are very nice and spacious but do get noisy as well as very warm. At 18 Euros, the breakfast was over priced and you could probably get better value by walking into Cuenca instead. Service was okay, but the main reason for staying here was the setting which was truly fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parcent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Parador at Cuenca is ideally situated to walk across to the old town of Cuenca. It is a beautiful old convent with loads of ambience. I do not agree with the previous comments that the service was bad and the food was of the region which my wife and I found really good although I can understand because of its nature would not have suited everyone . The cost could have been expensive except we got a 2 day deal covering half board which made it very reasonable.

Room Tip: Try and find a room overlooking Cuenca I.e South facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The unfriendliest staff I have ever come across
Guests were a nuisance to them, especially at reception, with no exception
We waited one hour to get a drink and then another 45 minutes to get our bad dinner
Guests were walking around with empty tea pots at breakfast to try and get some tea
I thought we were on candid camera as a joke

Room Tip: Facing outwards towards the garden and not above the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms just about cool enough

Dinner mixed on musical evening

Good sized room and bathroom

Peaceful spot

Lovely pool

Chaotic parking if not garaged

Staff mixed not even thanked for pointing out bill mistake benefiting them borderline rude on arrival.

Excellent breakfast

Helped with bags on way out

MOST OF ALL Dramatic location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Historic facility with minimalist decorations and the traditional Parador good service and cuisine.
But if you need to check on email or the enterprise server be prepared to use your roaming data plan. And add an extra non-planned expense to the bill.
If you have requested something like double bed, be sure to call, after leaving you booking application, to confirm the request will be fulfilled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed two nights at the end of our two week road trip in northern Spain, primarily because it was reasonably close to the Madrid airport for an early afternoon flight out. I love every parador I have ever stayed in, and this one was exceptional. The only reason i didn't give it straight 5s was because the hair dryer was worthless, which seems like a petty complaint given the magnificent setting, but is a real pain when your husband is pacing the room, waiting for you to get ready.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, there were too many choices in town, but we did end our trip drinking a snifter of 43 on the front patio overlooking the iron bridge and town across the gorge on the evening before we left. The memory helps a lot on a stressful day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Cuenca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.