We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Save Saved
You added Parador de Cuenca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cuenca
Parcent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Would go back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Parador at Cuenca is ideally situated to walk across to the old town of Cuenca. It is a beautiful old convent with loads of ambience. I do not agree with the previous comments that the service was bad and the food was of the region which my wife and I found really good although I can understand because of its nature would not have suited everyone . The cost could have been expensive except we got a 2 day deal covering half board which made it very reasonable.

Room Tip: Try and find a room overlooking Cuenca I.e South facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    164
    46
    15
    2
See reviews for
64
264
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The unfriendliest staff I have ever come across
Guests were a nuisance to them, especially at reception, with no exception
We waited one hour to get a drink and then another 45 minutes to get our bad dinner
Guests were walking around with empty tea pots at breakfast to try and get some tea
I thought we were on candid camera as a joke

Room Tip: Facing outwards towards the garden and not above the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms just about cool enough

Dinner mixed on musical evening

Good sized room and bathroom

Peaceful spot

Lovely pool

Chaotic parking if not garaged

Staff mixed not even thanked for pointing out bill mistake benefiting them borderline rude on arrival.

Excellent breakfast

Helped with bags on way out

MOST OF ALL Dramatic location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Historic facility with minimalist decorations and the traditional Parador good service and cuisine.
But if you need to check on email or the enterprise server be prepared to use your roaming data plan. And add an extra non-planned expense to the bill.
If you have requested something like double bed, be sure to call, after leaving you booking application, to confirm the request will be fulfilled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed two nights at the end of our two week road trip in northern Spain, primarily because it was reasonably close to the Madrid airport for an early afternoon flight out. I love every parador I have ever stayed in, and this one was exceptional. The only reason i didn't give it straight 5s was because the hair dryer was worthless, which seems like a petty complaint given the magnificent setting, but is a real pain when your husband is pacing the room, waiting for you to get ready.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, there were too many choices in town, but we did end our trip drinking a snifter of 43 on the front patio overlooking the iron bridge and town across the gorge on the evening before we left. The memory helps a lot on a stressful day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Hotel itself is really nice and some rooms have excellent views of Cuenca. The rooms are are of a good size but not cheap, We could accept the room price if the evening food service was better but in fact it was a disaster. The food was dreadful, and the service even worse.
WE would certainly stay again at the Hotel but never eat and evening meal there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the historic city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this Parador in Aug 2013, Contrary to previous reviews we found the reception staff very jolly and helpful !

The room we had , enjoyed a view of the bridge and the hanging houses. The room was clean but a bit careworn, but nonetheless had a certain charm as did the whole Hotel.. which was very atmospheric at night with the ecclesiastical music playing in the background.

we used the pool facilities which seems fine to us, very pleasant in fact on the very very hot day we stayed..

At night we booked a table in the Hotel, we endured a ten minute wait to be seated at our allotted time ( I was ready to just cancel and walk into town for a meal, but my better half made me wait !! ) another interminable wait then for a menu and drinks.. The food we had was mediocre to downright bad.. the steak I was served was really tough and in fact should have gone back to the kitchens but hunger took over.. There was a live jazz band playing which was very good, this is the only thing I can be positive about concerning the dining at the Hotel

The setting in cloister was fantastic and it is a crying shame the dining experience is let down by the dismal service in the restaurant and the food..

The location of the Hotel is second to none, and the very short walk into the Historic centre nearly made up for the poor food we endured..

So to sum up Great location , Good parking (albeit at a price ), acceptable room...but eat out !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Cuenca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.