We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building, shame about the staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Cuenca to your Saves list
Parador de Cuenca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely building, shame about the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night, hardly any other guests there which we thought was unusual for July until you sample the poor general attitude that this hotel takes towards its guests and then you know why!!!! We received a lukewarm greeting by the receptionist on arrival and we were not offered any help with our bags to our third floor room. The room was nice enough but was small and not worth the 150 Euros per night that we paid for it. We found a dirty glass in the bathroom so housekeeping is obviously a bit shoddy. We had dinner in the hotel and wished we hadn't. In the very large restaurant there were only three tables occupied. We were the last table to leave and it was obvious that the staff wanted us out of the restaurant as they were very nosily clearing away the dinner table settings and setting up for breakfast. The restaurant is supposed to be open until 2300 but we saw a guest being turned away at 2200. The food was ok but was very salty and at 15 Euros a bottle, the wine was very over priced. The breakfast was ok but I had to ask for a fresh fried egg as the ones on the hot plate had obviously been there for some time and the waitress had to be reminded about my request for decaffeinated coffee as she had obviously forgotten this the first time I asked for it and it wasn't busy at all in the restaurant at breakfast. We asked to speak to the manager who was a charming young man who apologised profusely for our experience at his hotel. A tip for anyone reading this is not to eat at the Parador but to take the short walk across the bridge and go in to the town where you will find several good restaurants close by. The staff all appear to be old and have probably worked in this government owned hotel chain for years, their jobs are obviously so secure within the archaic Spanish employment laws that they feel little need to make any effort to help or make the hotel guests feel welcome. Having said all of this the Cuenca Parador is indeed a beautiful old building but as I said at the start of this review, shame about the staff, cost and poor service

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a room with a view of the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    221
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
94
370
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at this Parador with friends and it was a curate's egg of a visit. The location is fine, directly across the gorge from the historic town centre and connected via an adjacent iron bridge that crosses the gorge, so it is perfect for a visit to Cuenca. This is a Parador where there is an old original part of the property that was a nunnery, added to with a modern extension. Our rooms were slightly more expensive, on the 3rd floor and overlooking the gorge/bridge/hanging houses in the town. Our room was OK in standard Parador furnishing and the air con worked, albeit a bit warm in the summer heat as the room thermostat didn't have any effect when adjusted. Bathroom fine with twin hand basins.

So far, so good, but dinner was poor on a number of levels: the dining room only had a maximum of 6 diners apart from our group during the evening, but service seemed lacking in welcome and enthusiasm. We arrived at the opening of dinner service at 20:30 and it was meant to be open until 23:00. By 21:50, (still early for Spanish dinner) the staff were clearing all the dining tables noisily and we were under no illusions that our continued presence was not desired as the minimal staff on duty set up the breakfast displays prior to heading home. Our main courses were poor, being produced by a chef who believes that an unbelievably heavy hand with salt is a brilliant idea. Every dish (including vegetables) was hideously over-salted. We eschewed desserts and gave up after just about passable coffee. Parador dinner menus promise much on paper but deliver far less. Our breakfast was OK but our friends (breakfasting later than us) suffered disjointed service and frustration. They had already asked to see the GM (who was personable, courteous and sympathetic) regarding the dinner fiasco and he adjusted our dinner bill, for which we thank him.

Recently, we reviewed another Parador which also suffers comments about poor customer service and in our review we mused that this is not just in Paradors. The Parador organisation seems to have problems in common with Spain itself and, as these hotels are not cheap, such difficulties could prove ever more difficult for the government-owned chain: perhaps it is the ownership plus central direction of Parador customer-facing staff that is the issue here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Parador chain whilst state owned ARE very good quality, this one is an old Nunnery set just outside of the town . Rooms are big well equipped there is a delightful court yard where you can enjoy a very reasonably priced drink.
Downside is the breakfast the hot food wasn't even warm if you stick to the continental that's fine, but a full English in Spain is maybe too much o ask.
Staff great all those in key positions spoke good English , we dined in my wife's meal was lovely I tried the steak which was a mistake , still to have a good steak in Spain so should have known better really. Overall well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I use a rolling walker and often request a disabled access room. However, this hotel was full due to a wedding and we were offered a standard room, probably our fault as we failed to request the special room when booking. There is a lift from reception to the ground floor and of course elevators to upper levels of the hotel. The bar and restaurant were accessible and the ambience of the main level was grand and a lovely combination of the old and new as the walls were decorated with an exhibit of fabulous modern art. Sitting on one of the lovely sofas, sipping wine, enjoying the artwork and the architecture....not bad. It is easy here to have imaginings of life in the upper rooms and dark corridors. The standard room was on an inner courtyard and while it was dark, the room was spacious and comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, Cuenca offers views of hanging houses and the bridge across the gorge is fun and makes for a great photo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As with most paradors this is a stunning ancient building, remodelled most sympathetically with many interesting features remaining. Its spectacular position across the gorge from the old town means that many outer rooms have a great view of the hanging houses and the long very high footbridge across the gorge to access the town, however being an ex-convent means that the windows are rather small. If you don't like heights be aware that there is a path down one side of the gorge and up the other side which doesn't take long if you're fit enough.
We parked immediately outside the Parador at no cost and had a lovely spacious room and huge bathroom both with the view - well worth the little extra payment.
The food at dinner was good if not exceptional but they did offer various combinations (2 courses, 3 courses, starter/dessert) at set prices which were good value. The ambience in the dining room was spoiled slightly however by a large section being incompletely screened off apparently for a company meeting the next day. Similarly at breakfast there was much activity taking place at that end of the room however the breakfast buffet was very good.
The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the view of the hanging houses across the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cuenca is probably one of the places where honeymooners or couples trying to get away from the city should stay during the weekends. A fantastic breakfast buffet spread and everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have stayed at many Paradors all over Spain, and this one may well be my favorite ( so far). Cuenca is very picturesque and deserters one day to visit. The Parador is situated across a gorge from the town, and can be accessed via a very long foot bridge that has to been seen to be believed. Do not take too many drinks before attempting to cross the bridge, as it is a very long drop to the bottom of the gorge. Yikes...crossing can take courage. Many of the historic rooms in various Paradores can be dark and uncomfortable, but not this one. The room was a good size, the bathroom large with double sinks, plenty of light, and the view from room 302 across to the town was amazing! The common rooms and areas were very bright and comfortable also, due to the convent's cloisters with large windows, comfortable sofas, great modern art work, and good Enya music playing. While you will not find the ornate statues and carvings on the building as it is in Santiago or Leon's Paradores, this property had a nicer, airy feel with lots of room. Excellent buffet breakfast, with many wonderful dishes - more than the standard fair of some Paradors. A great stay at a nice property.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms facing the town are best. Recommend room 302 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#3 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Cuenca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.