We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - and not so good - in Cuenca” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Cuenca to your Saves list
Parador de Cuenca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good - and not so good - in Cuenca”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at this Parador with friends and it was a curate's egg of a visit. The location is fine, directly across the gorge from the historic town centre and connected via an adjacent iron bridge that crosses the gorge, so it is perfect for a visit to Cuenca. This is a Parador where there is an old original part of the property that was a nunnery, added to with a modern extension. Our rooms were slightly more expensive, on the 3rd floor and overlooking the gorge/bridge/hanging houses in the town. Our room was OK in standard Parador furnishing and the air con worked, albeit a bit warm in the summer heat as the room thermostat didn't have any effect when adjusted. Bathroom fine with twin hand basins.

So far, so good, but dinner was poor on a number of levels: the dining room only had a maximum of 6 diners apart from our group during the evening, but service seemed lacking in welcome and enthusiasm. We arrived at the opening of dinner service at 20:30 and it was meant to be open until 23:00. By 21:50, (still early for Spanish dinner) the staff were clearing all the dining tables noisily and we were under no illusions that our continued presence was not desired as the minimal staff on duty set up the breakfast displays prior to heading home. Our main courses were poor, being produced by a chef who believes that an unbelievably heavy hand with salt is a brilliant idea. Every dish (including vegetables) was hideously over-salted. We eschewed desserts and gave up after just about passable coffee. Parador dinner menus promise much on paper but deliver far less. Our breakfast was OK but our friends (breakfasting later than us) suffered disjointed service and frustration. They had already asked to see the GM (who was personable, courteous and sympathetic) regarding the dinner fiasco and he adjusted our dinner bill, for which we thank him.

Recently, we reviewed another Parador which also suffers comments about poor customer service and in our review we mused that this is not just in Paradors. The Parador organisation seems to have problems in common with Spain itself and, as these hotels are not cheap, such difficulties could prove ever more difficult for the government-owned chain: perhaps it is the ownership plus central direction of Parador customer-facing staff that is the issue here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    190
    58
    18
    4
See reviews for
78
312
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Parador chain whilst state owned ARE very good quality, this one is an old Nunnery set just outside of the town . Rooms are big well equipped there is a delightful court yard where you can enjoy a very reasonably priced drink.
Downside is the breakfast the hot food wasn't even warm if you stick to the continental that's fine, but a full English in Spain is maybe too much o ask.
Staff great all those in key positions spoke good English , we dined in my wife's meal was lovely I tried the steak which was a mistake , still to have a good steak in Spain so should have known better really. Overall well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I use a rolling walker and often request a disabled access room. However, this hotel was full due to a wedding and we were offered a standard room, probably our fault as we failed to request the special room when booking. There is a lift from reception to the ground floor and of course elevators to upper levels of the hotel. The bar and restaurant were accessible and the ambience of the main level was grand and a lovely combination of the old and new as the walls were decorated with an exhibit of fabulous modern art. Sitting on one of the lovely sofas, sipping wine, enjoying the artwork and the architecture....not bad. It is easy here to have imaginings of life in the upper rooms and dark corridors. The standard room was on an inner courtyard and while it was dark, the room was spacious and comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, Cuenca offers views of hanging houses and the bridge across the gorge is fun and makes for a great photo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As with most paradors this is a stunning ancient building, remodelled most sympathetically with many interesting features remaining. Its spectacular position across the gorge from the old town means that many outer rooms have a great view of the hanging houses and the long very high footbridge across the gorge to access the town, however being an ex-convent means that the windows are rather small. If you don't like heights be aware that there is a path down one side of the gorge and up the other side which doesn't take long if you're fit enough.
We parked immediately outside the Parador at no cost and had a lovely spacious room and huge bathroom both with the view - well worth the little extra payment.
The food at dinner was good if not exceptional but they did offer various combinations (2 courses, 3 courses, starter/dessert) at set prices which were good value. The ambience in the dining room was spoiled slightly however by a large section being incompletely screened off apparently for a company meeting the next day. Similarly at breakfast there was much activity taking place at that end of the room however the breakfast buffet was very good.
The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the view of the hanging houses across the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cuenca is probably one of the places where honeymooners or couples trying to get away from the city should stay during the weekends. A fantastic breakfast buffet spread and everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have stayed at many Paradors all over Spain, and this one may well be my favorite ( so far). Cuenca is very picturesque and deserters one day to visit. The Parador is situated across a gorge from the town, and can be accessed via a very long foot bridge that has to been seen to be believed. Do not take too many drinks before attempting to cross the bridge, as it is a very long drop to the bottom of the gorge. Yikes...crossing can take courage. Many of the historic rooms in various Paradores can be dark and uncomfortable, but not this one. The room was a good size, the bathroom large with double sinks, plenty of light, and the view from room 302 across to the town was amazing! The common rooms and areas were very bright and comfortable also, due to the convent's cloisters with large windows, comfortable sofas, great modern art work, and good Enya music playing. While you will not find the ornate statues and carvings on the building as it is in Santiago or Leon's Paradores, this property had a nicer, airy feel with lots of room. Excellent buffet breakfast, with many wonderful dishes - more than the standard fair of some Paradors. A great stay at a nice property.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms facing the town are best. Recommend room 302 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Booked hotel as a stop over on journey back to UK in the car. Weather was very cold and wet, so it was great to be able to go back to the warmth & comfort of the hotel. Stunning former convent. Underground, secure carpark available at e15 per night if required.

Had read some reviews that food was poor/ expensive, however I thought it was very good value and of a much better quality than the food we had in the town. The menu gave an option of a starter, pudding, bread and glass of wine at a reasonable price. We opted for this as we had been driving all day and didn't feel like having a huge meal. The portions were large and very tasty and I am glad we chose this option.

Good seletion of food for breakfast which was self service, apart from tea/coffee and egg dishes could be ordered from kitchen if wanted.

Staff very friendly and efficient. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were offered a room with views over the gorge for a little extra. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Cuenca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.