We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Cuenca to your Saves list
Parador de Cuenca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“History, views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I use a rolling walker and often request a disabled access room. However, this hotel was full due to a wedding and we were offered a standard room, probably our fault as we failed to request the special room when booking. There is a lift from reception to the ground floor and of course elevators to upper levels of the hotel. The bar and restaurant were accessible and the ambience of the main level was grand and a lovely combination of the old and new as the walls were decorated with an exhibit of fabulous modern art. Sitting on one of the lovely sofas, sipping wine, enjoying the artwork and the architecture....not bad. It is easy here to have imaginings of life in the upper rooms and dark corridors. The standard room was on an inner courtyard and while it was dark, the room was spacious and comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, Cuenca offers views of hanging houses and the bridge across the gorge is fun and makes for a great photo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As with most paradors this is a stunning ancient building, remodelled most sympathetically with many interesting features remaining. Its spectacular position across the gorge from the old town means that many outer rooms have a great view of the hanging houses and the long very high footbridge across the gorge to access the town, however being an ex-convent means that the windows are rather small. If you don't like heights be aware that there is a path down one side of the gorge and up the other side which doesn't take long if you're fit enough.
We parked immediately outside the Parador at no cost and had a lovely spacious room and huge bathroom both with the view - well worth the little extra payment.
The food at dinner was good if not exceptional but they did offer various combinations (2 courses, 3 courses, starter/dessert) at set prices which were good value. The ambience in the dining room was spoiled slightly however by a large section being incompletely screened off apparently for a company meeting the next day. Similarly at breakfast there was much activity taking place at that end of the room however the breakfast buffet was very good.
The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the view of the hanging houses across the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montylado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cuenca is probably one of the places where honeymooners or couples trying to get away from the city should stay during the weekends. A fantastic breakfast buffet spread and everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have stayed at many Paradors all over Spain, and this one may well be my favorite ( so far). Cuenca is very picturesque and deserters one day to visit. The Parador is situated across a gorge from the town, and can be accessed via a very long foot bridge that has to been seen to be believed. Do not take too many drinks before attempting to cross the bridge, as it is a very long drop to the bottom of the gorge. Yikes...crossing can take courage. Many of the historic rooms in various Paradores can be dark and uncomfortable, but not this one. The room was a good size, the bathroom large with double sinks, plenty of light, and the view from room 302 across to the town was amazing! The common rooms and areas were very bright and comfortable also, due to the convent's cloisters with large windows, comfortable sofas, great modern art work, and good Enya music playing. While you will not find the ornate statues and carvings on the building as it is in Santiago or Leon's Paradores, this property had a nicer, airy feel with lots of room. Excellent buffet breakfast, with many wonderful dishes - more than the standard fair of some Paradors. A great stay at a nice property.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms facing the town are best. Recommend room 302 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Booked hotel as a stop over on journey back to UK in the car. Weather was very cold and wet, so it was great to be able to go back to the warmth & comfort of the hotel. Stunning former convent. Underground, secure carpark available at e15 per night if required.

Had read some reviews that food was poor/ expensive, however I thought it was very good value and of a much better quality than the food we had in the town. The menu gave an option of a starter, pudding, bread and glass of wine at a reasonable price. We opted for this as we had been driving all day and didn't feel like having a huge meal. The portions were large and very tasty and I am glad we chose this option.

Good seletion of food for breakfast which was self service, apart from tea/coffee and egg dishes could be ordered from kitchen if wanted.

Staff very friendly and efficient. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were offered a room with views over the gorge for a little extra. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolElaineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. The room is nice, bed is comfortable and the view from the window is lovely. Its walking distance to the old city of Cuenca where you can see the hanging houses. At night we spend time having a drink at the central garden atrium. It's calm and we love this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieNSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Once a convent, this hotel oozez with atmosphere! Room was large and lovely with a view over hanging houses. Quality bedding, nice decor. It was lovely to stay there, absolutely magnificent building and great breakfast. Some staff was not over friendly, but Jose-Manuel went out of his way to help us with information. Only negative is that the aircon did not work.

Cuenca is a lovely place to visit. I will advise anyone to stay in this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#3 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing