We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leonor de Aquitania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leonor de Aquitania to your Saves list
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Pedro, 60, 16001 Cuenca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived at what must have been the afternoon rush, but the clerk at the front desk was efficient and quickly accomodated everyone in line. The view from the 3rd floor was truly amazing. Parking is just on the other side of the street from the hotel. Originally, we had hoped to stay at the Parador, but thankfully it was booked, and we were able to discover this wonderful gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor, room 302. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    68
    45
    13
    2
See reviews for
29
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed one night in a room with a beautiful view, overlooking the gorge below. The room was comfortable and reception staff most helpful and friendly. The reason I didn't rate this hotel higher was the clumsy access to a very slow internet service. We had to wait for the night man to arrive to figure out a way for us to have access, a process which took too much of our time. They either need to change their provider or have written instructions for guests so it doesn't have to be reinvented every time a guest arrives with an iPhone or Mac.

Room Tip: Worth the extra charge to have an exquisite view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed at Leonor de Aquitania for one night. The view from the window was excellent and the location ideal. The check in went smoothly and the room was ready on time. The bed was comfortable and the refrigerator was more than welcome. Parking was across the street. I would book a room here again.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra for the view. The street is very quiet so that is should not be a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is a charming old building refitted with modern conveniences. Our room was simple but stylish in a traditional way, and clean and comfortable with a stunning view of the gorge (we always request a room with a view). We had a three-night deal at a very good rate, but decided to leave after one night because the weather had turned cold and snowy! The staff were very understanding when we checked out, and cancelled the two remaining nights at no charge and gave us the cheap rate anyway for the one night we stayed. We did not try the restaurant or breakfast that was offered. The double bed is really two beds close together, which we actually prefer, but others might be disappointed that it's not a north american style queen bed..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed at the Leonor de Aquitania for just the one night. The location is excellent only topped by the views (definatley worth paying the little extra) in the morning.

Formalities with reception were straight forward.

Room was more than satisfactory for a short weekend away. Only disappointment wsa that it was two single beds pushed together.

There is no need to pay to park opposite the hotel (if you don't have a lot of luggage), as there is ample free car parking if you continue up the hill for about 200m.

Didn't make it to breakfast, but it looked good and would cost about €10 extra.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We had been bumped in advance from sister hotel Cuevas del Fraile (which we had explicitly chosen for its rural location) so we arrived ready to be further irritated. We received a warm, friendly, helpful welcome and were persuaded that there was a genuine and reasonable cause for the closure of the other hotel (probably not just scarcity of guests in this season). Our room in Leonor de Aquitania was simple but fine, and the price agreed for the other hotel was honoured with no quibble. After reading reviews of this hotel restaurant we chose to eat there with some trepidation. But the waiter was extremely welcoming, the menu choice was very interesting and the items we chose proved to be excellent. The pickled quails can be specially recommended and you may not find them in your home country! The local red wine included in the price was also excellent and suited our various dishes well. We were also worried about parking - it is so hard to visualise any strange town, and Cuenca really is an original. But there seemed to be no officialdom hampering short term parking in the small square opposite (long enough to unload and load again anyway) and the free parking up the street above the city gate, although competitive, was feasible and not really far away, certainly closer and easier than from some of the competing hotels. Buses seemed to be incredibly frequent for if you won't/can't walk that far. The late check-out time of 12 noon was a massive plus point - we did our "old town walking tour" on our own terms by 1130 a.m. with no problem (including a pleasant walk around the courtyard of the polite and welcoming parador across the gorge); the wooden deck of the footbridge was icy in the brilliant November morning, but that was obvious, so not really dangerous. The whole visit was totally satisfactory despite our irritations over the booking, and we would recommend the hotel, its staff and its food wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Obviously our room at the back must have been quieter than above the street; and we did not experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at the Leonor de Aquitania for 2 nights during the December bridging day and following week-end, so we paid around 100€ per night for a double room with breakfast, which is a bit expensive for a 3 stars hotel.
The people working at the reception were very friendly and helpful, definitely a plus, the hotel is just a couple of hundred meters awaw from the Plaza Mayor, and at the same distance you will find the ancient city door, outside of which you can find free parking, we found this very practical.
The hotel and rooms are cosy, our double room was big and clean, nothing to complain about, except the shower in our room which probably needed some fix as the water was coming out in random directions, but it's a minor problem. Ah, and the old-fashioned style beds which might crack when you move in them unless they're properly pushed against the wall (at least that's how we solved the problem).
We decided to have breakfast there as we were offered it for 6€ per day/person, moreover there aren't many bars close by, and the buffet breakfast there was nice, so I'd recommend you book it. There's a nice breakfast room which was never crowded although the hotel was almost fully booked, no waiting times to use the toaster or whatever, nice variety of breads, ham, sausage, cheese, jams etc, plus they had platters of fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, croissants and a few warm things as sausages and tortilla. The only minus point there was the waiter, when I asked him whether they had soy milk on Day 1, he looked at me weirdly and said "no, only NORMAL milk here!"...oooook...sorry if I'm lactose intolerant! A "no, sorry" would have been fine, but well, many people are just not used to options for dietary allergies/intolerances, especially in small towns.
I would definitely recommend the hotel, and I guess the rather high price for Spain was due to the date, you will probably be able to save a lot if you go on a normal week-end.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leonor de Aquitania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leonor de Aquitania

Address: San Pedro, 60, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leonor de Aquitania 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel from the XVII century just two minutes walk from the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Leonor de Aquitania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonor De Aquitania Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leonor de Aquitania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.