We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leonor de Aquitania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leonor de Aquitania to your Saves list
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Pedro, 60, 16001 Cuenca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Really friendly staff, excellent location near the top of the old town. Old building, full of character. Vending machine in the lobby was handy! Ample parking nearby.

Cons: the internet access advertised on their website is only wi-fi - if you haven't brought your own computer, you're out of luck.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    72
    53
    14
    3
See reviews for
31
106
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Despite its attractions and appeal, Cuenca's hotels often fall short of the mark. The scenery may be fantastic but the food, at least in the old town, tends to be a disappointment - more expensive than it ought to be and not nearly as good. For someone like me, who likes to eat well on holiday, I often feel let down.

The Leonor de Aquitania is a far better bet than most. Rooms are interesting and comfortable, staff are efficient and very welcoming, the location is excellent, and the food in the vaulted dining-room is creditable, whatever the meal. I will certainly return and recommend it as a solid and good-value choice for art-buffs coming to see collections of work by some of Spain's most interesting twentieth-century artists - Cuenca's USP.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We arrived without booking and, although quite expensive, this was cheaper than some of the hotels in the old town. The staff at reception were very helpful and our small room overlooked the gorge and the parador. We didn`t realise that we had chosen a Saint`s day and most restaurants were closed that evening so, reluctantly, we ate in the hotel. We chose from the set menu but the main course had run out so we were offered an alternative - a type of pork stew which was dire. My husband will eat anything but this fatty mess was beyond him.We ordered a replacement which was edible but quite forgettable.After this, we could not face breakfast which was extra anyway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Following Tripadvisor recommendations, among others, we staid at Leonor de Aquitania for a night while visiting Cuenca. Booking directly, we ensured we had a room with a view, which is one of the main reasons to stay at this place. Being outside of main season, we got a reasonable rate.

The room itself was nothing special, but the view from the small balcony was wonderful. Due to its location in the historical centre, exploration of the sights was easy. The restaurant was closed and we decided to take breakfast on Plaza Mayor, so I cannot comment on these facilities. Service at the reception was very friendly.

Should you come by car, your two options are a close-by parking for an added fee or, for the less lazy than us, a free parking area a few 100 m uphill of the hotel, outside the city gates.

All in all, we enjoyed the stay and could well imagine to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

A pleasant hotel situated within a quiet part of this lovely old town. The staff were excellent and there is free car parking a few minutes walk away. The room was superb with stunning views from the balcony of the old town and neigbouring hills. It would be very difficult to find a better located hotel in Cuenca. The breakfast was average but not expensive.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague / Den Haag
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the old town. Excellent views on the surrounding area of Cuenca. This on the positive side. On the negative side: our room was very small and not very well maintained. The hotel is also very noisy. When some of our neighbours dared to flush his toilet at night it was like we had an waterfall in our own rooms. There was no airconditioning either.
For a price of 106 euro a night (breakfast NOT included) and even higher prices during the high season you would expect much more from a hotel. The lack of compition in the old city centre is probably the cause.
The next time we would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for our one night in Cuenca. The hotel was well located near the centre of the historic town, near the top of the hill. Hence the views were very good. We had a small balcony from our room which looked out onto the gorge and the Parador opposite. Sitting in bed in the morning sunshine enjoying the view was definitely the highlight of our stay.

The room itself was of average quality with a comfortable bed, although the room was a little small and tired. It was also quite noisy at night from other guests.

In the evening, we ate at the restaurant, which was a disappointment. The menu was extensive and the portions generous, but the quality of the food was very average and the bread rolls stale. We didn't risk the desserts.

In the morning we tried the breakfast buffet and were equally unimpressed with both the selection and the quality. Although there was a waiter in the breakfast room, the coffee was self-service from an urn, not freshly brewed.

We visited the Ciudad Encantada ("Enchanted City") about an hour's drive north of Cuenca, where there are lots of strange shapes formed in the rocks. There is a nice walk among the rocks and trees, and being a Sunday afternoon in November it was not very busy.

If we return to Cuenca, we would choose a hotel in the same area of the town and with the excellent views, but hopefully with better food and accommodation.

  • Liked — Amazing views over the gorge
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leonor de Aquitania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leonor de Aquitania

Address: San Pedro, 60, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leonor de Aquitania 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel from the XVII century just two minutes walk from the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Leonor de Aquitania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonor De Aquitania Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leonor de Aquitania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.