We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Posada de San Jose to your Saves list
Posada de San Jose
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   C/ Julian Romero, 4 | 50 metres up from the Cathedral, 16001 Cuenca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€135 (EUR)
Ranked #2 of 27 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

my boyfriend and i got a private room with a view, which was AAAAAMAZING, but the room itself would have been great without it. really the winning factor is it being a remodeled old building, originally a home made for boys in the cathedral's choir. it definitely had a cathedral aspect to it. it was cute, however i wouldn't call it excellent. the beds, balcony and bathroom were pretty, but the beds could have been comfier. my boyfriend also clocked his head on the short doorways a few times. "star" docked for lost neurons

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    73
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
114
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Sitting in a back street off the main street up from the town, this absolutely quaint hotel was marvelous. Realize, you cannot get to it by car but can park in nearby garage and wheel luggage down hill to it. We loved the breakfast area w/ an entire window overlooking the gorge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This was my second visit to Cuenca.It oozes historay and we decided to live the experience by booking into this ancient Posada, also chosen because it allowed me to take my dog. They offered a room with access to the garden but we decided on one a little higher as it had lovely views of the gorge. This room still bore the vestiges of the ancient past: red stone floors (highly polished), rough white plastered walls, beamed ceiling and we even had the remains of a fresco on one of the walls. The rooms were very clean. The breakfast was very generous and worth every cent of the extra €9 that we paid. Both the breakfast and the dinner are served in a room which has one of the overhanging balconies. For dinner you have to book in advance if you want to sit on the overhanging balcony with the fabulous gorge view. The evening meal was excellent and worth what we paid for it. It really is hard to drive up to the doorway of the hotel and I had to close one of the rear-view mirrors for my VW Golf in order to get up the small street. So if you drive up, use a small car. There IS a garage in the next road (charges are reasonable). The lady who we thought was a waitress, turned out to be one of the owners and is from the South of England - so how is that for home away from home. She and her husband own the hotel. We loved the stay and I would certainly go again

Room Tip: Do not take a wide car as you would have to walk up a steep, long street to get to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I really recommend a visit to Cuenca; not only the city will not disappoint you, but its landscape, an asset more and more important, is really beautiful and incredible. The offer of accommodation is good, for that reason, I feel it my duty to recommend "Posada de San José", an ancient monastery, duly restored to make the stay comfortable but keeping its divine essence and it goes without saying that placed right in the center of the city.

Please note that this review has been made by a Spaniard that knows very well the ins and outs of Spain, so you can take my advice, I'm not going to fool you.

Enjoy it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Posada de San Jose is located in an historic Spanish town known for its Casas colgadas (hanging houses), homes that defy gravity with balconies and porches that overhang a steep ravine. Posada rooms are larger than average and attractive with exposed beams, a red tile floor, lace curtains and an iron bedstead. Baths are modern. There is no air conditioning, but a fan was provided, and it was all we needed. Staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet (extra charge), included coffee, cheese, sausage, croissants, bread, ham, yogurt, juice, fruit and an absolutely breathtaking view of the gorge for which Cuenca is famous. For us, Posada de San Jose was, at 83 euros, a bit of a splurge, but we didn't regret it. Even with its 15 euro parking charge, this historic inn is an excellent value.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have baths. If a private bath is important to you, make sure you ask for one. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We did have a slight problem with our booking when we arrived I think that was more to do with our booking agent than with the hotel. It meant we stayed in a room without a view which was a shame but It was a real experience staying in somewhere so old and as a musician I enjoyed the story of it's original function-that it was built for the local choirboys so that they could get up and get to the cathedral on time for the morning service.

We were a little concerned about sharing bathroom facilities but actually because there was a sink in the bedroom it wasn't an issue. The view from the restaurant downstairs was stunning and that made up for the bedroom. Most importantly we Had a quiet night's sleep.

My partner was disappointed on the first morning when the coffee (an essential part of the Spanish breakfast experience!) was apparently not very nice but after pointing this out the problem was quickly rectified.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and thoroughly enjoyed the food.

We loved the stunning situation of the area. We also enjoyed a trip to the 'Cuidad Encantada' a wonderful geographical park about 20 minutes drive away

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed three nights here beginning October 4th as part of a Roade Scholar trip. It was a perfect stop in between visiting Madrid and Barcelona. The rooms at the Inn are varied; some have lovely terraces. Mine did not, but it was still a nice room . There are lots of stairs at the Posado and no parking. (There are one or two rooms on the main floor, but you would still need rto use stairs to get to the dining room.) Pack light or if you are taking the train from Madrid take a taxi to the inn. Food at the posado was very good: home made.

We had a twalking tour with Pablo who runs a local shop and I would advise trying to arrange a waling tour through the old town. Also, if you like abstract art, be sure to go to the Museo de Arte Abstacto in one of the hanging houses. I had dinner one night with four others at the Restarante San Nicholas and we all enjoyed it. A bit pricey, but good food. The cod was excellent. A very relaxing stay at a unique inn and lovely old town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#3 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de San Jose

Address: C/ Julian Romero, 4 | 50 metres up from the Cathedral, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada de San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel located in a XVII Century building in the heart of the old quarter of Cuenca, a declared World Heritage City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Posada de San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De San Jose Hotel Cuenca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.