We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Azul & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Azul & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Bartolome 24, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Torre Azul SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in El Arenal
Stockport Cheshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in October for four nights. The staff were lovely, and friendly.
Our room and the whole hotel were lovely and clean, We had a 10th floor room overlooking the pool. The food was ok, I think if we had been all inclusive it may have been disappointed, but for the price we paid, the half board was good.

We did not use the pool, but I would think, at the height of the season if may be small for the number of guests.

It was a 10 min walk to the sea front. We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay again

Room Tip: a room overlooking the pool, otherwise you overlook other properties
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    10
    5
    15
See reviews for
5
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I booked this hotel on a cheap travel zoo deal and was a bit apprehensive as I'd read some not so good reviews. The hotel was absolutely fine. I think calling it 4 star is stretching the imagination some what, but we had a wonderful time. Our room was on the 9th floor and had a balcony overlooking the pool. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. The room was beautifully clean and linen was changed every couple of days. The one thing that I felt let the hotel down was the food. Whilst not inedible, it wasn't a gastronomic experience either!! We were half board but ate out a couple of evenings on the last two days of our stay.
However, to make up for this was the spa. It was lovely. Probably the best steam room I have ever been in. It was plush and well fitted out and not busy at all.
The hotel was well situated just a few minutes walk from the sea front and the beach which in October was lovely and quiet.
I really enjoyed my stay but really think a lot of that has to do with the time of the year I went. The hotel was quite quiet as was the resort. I can imagine the resort itself being busy in the height of the season as the sea front was very built up with lots of high rise blocks and shops selling rude t shirts printed in German!! We had weather in the early 30's which wasn't expected at all. All in all a lovely location and a lovely holiday.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

After dealing with a Spanish version of Basil Fawlty at the front desk, you collect your key and enter your room to find it's around around 27 degrees centigrade/80 degrees fahrenheit and
airless. You try to switch on the air conditioner but it won't power up. You call the front desk to make them aware of the problem and they tell you that "air conditioning in your room at Hotel Torre Azul & Spa "is at management discretion" and they are not prepared to activate it. You open the balcony door for air but there is a barking dog on the tenth floor of the opposite building. It's well after 2am, unable to sleep you try to put the television on to mask the noise of the barking dog but there's no remote. You call reception and they tell you to bring 40 euros (approx $50 usd) to reception and they will let you borrow one. I booked this through a British travel agent and the package was to include one free Spa treatment per person however the hotel would not honour this.
The dog barked all night every night and we felt we needed a holiday after a stay at this place.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Have just returned from a short break (5days) at this Hotel. Everything was perfect, the cleanliness, comfort and amenities were excellent. the location was ideal for relaxing walks near the harbour and beautiful beach. The bus stop to Palma was 2mins walk from the Hotel, costing just 3 euros return. Most of all I must comment on the friendliness and helpfullness of ALL the staff. Will certainly return there !!

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor with a sea view, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Booked this 4 night break to Arenal for some Autumn sun. So pleased we didn't have to stay any longer.
Hotel is definitely NOT 4 star, more like 2. Quite well decorated and furnished in the lobby areas and bar. Though the furnishings are a bit of a miss match. Hotel was generally very clean. Room was very basic. Absolutely no 4 star quality or luxuries. Beds were hard, pillows cheap and uncomfortable. No facilities for making a drink and if you were seen taking a coffee to your room the restaurant manager was after you for a swift telling off!
Food reminded me of a works canteen. All served up in stainless steel trays with no finesse. Very bland indeed. Acceptable salad bar and good breakfast selection. However, every meal seemed to be spoilt by the 2 staff flying around at full pelt clearing away plates etc. An additional member of staff would have helped.
Pool area was nice but completely ruined by the constant playing of 'trance' music. It was obvious from the average age of the clientele that this was completely inappropriate. It was also a surprise to witness the number of residents who smoked. We found that because of the, so called, music and constant smell of smoke that we were unable to enjoy a drink outside!
Additionally Arenal reminded us of a poor seaside resort. Plenty of shops selling tat, tattoo parlours and scruffy bars. We will not be returning!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool or poor sea view at the side. Don't stay on street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Well where do I start about hotel torre azul & spa. Firstly the fact the hotel has no actual website was a put off..... But we booked a cheap deal in back in February the reviews were ok... My words of advice is DO NOT BOTHER TO STAY. THIS IS A 1 STAR MAYBE 2 STAT AT THE BEST!!!!!!!! The hotel is catered for German's!!!! Even the instructions to the safe are in Spainish and German, no English. The entrance to the hotel is run down and in serious need of repair and renewing. The lobby is ok and has Wifi. The lovely lady (no name as no one where's name badges) who checked us on Sunday 19th evening is an asset to the hotel and sadly only one of a few things that might push this hotel from being a 1 star to a struggling 2 star. The rooms are big and spacious but smell of stale smoke and people are allowed to smoke on the balconies.... No tea and coffee making facilities and this is meant to be a four star hotel???? Out of 70 tv channels only one English Channel BBC world news.. We were lucky and had a sea view but many were not. The pool is not that big as does not have the sun on it for a lot of the day...
The food!!!!!!! It's is terrible!!!!! The breakfast is ok passable really. But dinner.. Chips every night, lukewarm food, strange combinations.. Monday we had a muscles, ham/cheese crispy pancake, spring rolls, aubergine slices, frozen mixed veg, pork chop, chips, pasta tubes and a cheese sauce to choose from.. Tuesday - celery in white sauce, a rubbery looking fish, battered fish, pork in gravy, pea with bacon, pizza, mixed pasta to choose from. And I go on and no telling you what you do if you if are half board and no one taking drinks orders so we drink the free drinks only to be told extremely rudely by a short man that this was wrong and he was going to charge us.... The food is rubbish as it is and the drink is worse so no way we were going pay for something so bad and something we have not been told about. In other hotels you are met by a meeter greeter and told what to expect but not in this hotel and having watched other people they were not, nor were they asked what they would like to drink?? Asking our transfer time as told 48 hours before our departure to see if the time had been faxed through the man on reception was extremely rude and lazy when we asked if he could please ring to see if he could find out the time for our pick up he told us that we should be calling when we said that the lady on the reception desk the previous day said she would he picked up the phone and I am not even sure he rang the number before saying "see they aren't picking up" the reception was not busy....
The area is not the best area to stay although a short walk down the hill to the sea and bus the best bus route into Central Palma although best route back is 23 if you can find the stop to get out of Palma!!! I wish we stayed somewhere else... But you do make the most of what you have and we have had a nice time and the sun and weather was lovely. But please do not be fooled by the price and stay at this hotel.......

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Just came back from our 2nd trip to Torre Azul. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Food was hot and good choice. Bedrooms were clean but bed very was hard. Wifi was hit and miss so avoid bedrooms in the higher floors. Pool area small but was not a problem as hotel was fairly quite. Would not however want to stay here peak season. Note - 80% of guests are German.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torre Azul & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Azul & Spa

Address: San Bartolome 24, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Torre Azul SPA)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Azul & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Torre Azul & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Azul Hotel El Arenal
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa El Arenal, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Azul & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.