We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a hotel ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Sol
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Militar 244, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in El Arenal
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Just a hotel ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

5 minutes from the beach. The price isn't high. The room was old and very tiny, especially the bathroom. But clean and ok for 1 night staying. Only one guy from the staff spoke English, he was pleasant. I think it's not a surprise that it is very noisy at nights, because it's El Arenal!!! ))))

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
1
12
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lliria, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel was easy to find and staff were quite helpful.There was an aweful smell of smoke in the room.I was told,'smoking is not allowed' but I got a headache from the smell.The room was clean and there was a change of towel.
I requested a room with a view. Judge for yourself from the picture.The location was great with a bus stop across the road.
Breakfast was fine with a fair selection,coffee and a selection of teas,fruit and cereals.
The lift sounds like it would stop at any moment.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room that did not have a smoker in, before you also get a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although not perfect the rooms are more than acceptable ,breakfast continental plentiful and filling and the location is ideal close to the seafront and bus stops .
If you are on a budget give it a good

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

the thing i find most frustrating about many trip advisor reviews is this. people look on websites like lastminute or onthebeach and pick out a cheap holiday in the sun then moan on about how the hotel wasnt 5 star or the furniture was slightly worn and so on. my biggest gripe is this oft repeated phrase that staff were rude.
if you go to spain or egypt or indeed anywhere where you dont speak the local language then don't assume that because the staff aren't fluent in english (or german/dutch/swedish/whatever) that they are being rude to you.
here is what i read about this hotel recently .
1.'' The welcome we received from the man on reception was less than friendly''. ALL staff at this hotel are perfectly friendly HOWEVER they dont all go round with fake smiles plastered over their faces and when off-shift they don't all go and study YOUR language. the staff run a bar downstairs as well as the hotel and it is a very popular one too. they retain popularity by being genuinely polite honest and friendly.....
2. ''. Our room, although reasonably clean, absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke;'' hmm the rooms have balconies and ashtrays on the balconies for use by smokers. the hotel and bar both have a no smoking policy so this reviewer must have been seriously unlucky to have got a smelly room, certainly all the rooms i saw looked and smelled clean.
3. '' the furniture was well worn'' did this ruin your holiday dear reviewer? well my advice is next time PAY MORE. these hotels at the lower end of the market have tight budgets to run.
let me be perfectly clear to you all here. Playa Sol does NOT have the best location in s'arenal, the staff do NOT constantly wear a plastic smile and are NOT fluent in your language (unless your language is spanish of course), the furnishings are NOT brand new, sometimes the bar is a little noisy, the breakfast is limited but simple and tasty, the beach is only 150 metres walk away. one of the best seafood restaurants in Majorca is only 200 metres along the same road as the hotel (Casa Do Polpo, see reviews on trip advisor). i will finish this review with two gripes (as seems traditional on these reviews) a) the photo of the hotel is VERY flattering and perhaps over-inflates potential guests expectations of the location and b) if you look from the balcony of room 106 directly across the road you will see the air conditioning unit on one of the apartments opposite is not EXACTLY horizontal............ that nearly ruined my whole holiday i can tell you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December with friends, occupying two rooms.
The welcome we received from the man on reception was less than friendly.
Our room, although reasonably clean, absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke; the bathroom had mould on the ceiling and the furniture was well worn. Our friends' room was in a similar condition, although did not smell of smoke.
Although we did not use bar in the evening, our friends did, and they said that the same man who had checked us in earlier had served them a drink and, again, he was rude and sarcastic.
During the night, the noise from other customers continued into the early hours unchecked by any member of staff.
On the plus side, the breakfast included in the price of the room was really quite good, and the member of staff dealing with this was extremely pleasant.
However, to cap it all, the lady who checked us out did not even have the courtesy to look at us, never mind speak!
The room was very cheap but would definitely not recommend this hotel again.
I suggest that some of the staff members attend a customer care course a s a matter of urgency!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

It was oke for 1 or 2 persons, younger age w low budget. No free wifi, a pity since most of the time it couldn't get on. Breakfast oke, short times. Cleaning was good, but be careful cleaning ladies open the balcony door and don't lock it behind them. I had a Hugh wrapped around balcony. Friendly personnel, except the lady on my last day she told me the 2nd gat had no breakfast included while I paid

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this hotel as a promo deal and were quite apprehensive after reading the reviews on here. When we arrived we were given a room in the Nubia hotel which is about a 5 minute walk from the main complex. Although we had discovered from on here that the Nubia was not on the main complex this wasn't made clear when we booked or on the hotel website. This was a bit of a pain as we were with our 2 year old daughter so just made life a bit awkward. The hotel offered to move us but we had to wait til the day after arriving and they wanted to charge us 10euro/person/day. We decided not to move as they could only offer us a room really close to the entertainment area.

The room was cleaned daily but was quite small we had 3 single beds all pushed together which left enough room to walk round the room, the bathroom was tiny, no bath and no hairdryer as advertised. The air con did not cool the room which meant we had to either cook all night or leave the balcony windows open. With the windows open we couldn't sleep due to the noise from a cafe across the road which was open til 4am with people outside, and then the bin men came regularly and woke us again. So not much sleep over our stay for me as I am a light sleeper but my husband and daughter were ok.

The food was OK most nights. Breakfast again was OK we usually found something to eat but not much in the way of variety and the quality wasn't amazing but what do you expect for the price? The main problem was the hotel doesn't seem to have the facilities to cater for all the guests the restaurant was always full and tables were too close together so you were constantly knocked by people trying to get passed you. Drinks were ok but it was quite annoying having to queue for 2 small glasses especially when one of us had to stay with our daughter. As we were in the Nubia and had to take our daughter to bed at a reasonable hour we had no access to drinks there and couldn't carry lots of tiny plastic cups and her back each night so therefore had to buy drinks because of the rooms location.

Only one bar open in the evening and again not enough tables so ended up stood around the side of the stage or miles away. Plenty of swimming pools around and park was ok for kids. No kids club or soft play area as advertised but my daughter loved the mini disco each night and the entertainers were good with her.

All in all OK for a cheap trip away, clean and not as bad as I thought it would be based on other reviews but probably wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main complex or expect a small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Address: Militar 244, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Playa Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Hotel Playa Sol El Arenal, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.